Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 2376 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2376reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1520
  • 4 Stars
    457
  • 3 Stars
    195
  • 2 Stars
    111
  • 1 Stars
    93

Nice Property!

By

23 January 2022

platinumelite

My 7 year old's review is 2 thumbs up! The staff is very friendly and the location is great for walking around downtown Chicago.

Read More
Read Less

Hotel Standards at its lowest

By

07 January 2022

club

I had the worst experience I've had in hotels this class. One will expect quality, service and cleanness in any hotel of this class, sadly, InterContinental Chicago lacks all of the above.
There are absolutely no services in the hotel, no concierge, no food or beverage to be offered, no housekeeping, no amenities and no maintenance.
Excused under the Covid situation, the hotel has exceded its basics, which shuld be to make guests feel as safe and comfortable as possible.
The hotel price has not reduced, thugh the value couldn's go lower.
It is a shame, for I really expected a whole lot more from IHG and particularly Intercontinental.

Read More
Read Less

Great Property

By

06 January 2022

This is a great hotel that's location is perfect when visiting Michigan Ave.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel for our visit to Chicago

By

31 December 2021

We changed hotels in the middle of our visit to the Intercontinental and so glad we did. From Check in to check out we had a great experience. On check in Ariel did a great job welcoming us. When we got to our room we realized it was not what we booked online. We went back to the front desk and Angelica (who shared with us that she was relatively new to the position) did an amazing job rectifying the situation and getting us in the room we were looking for. The Intercontinental is lucky to have both these employees - they were exemplary!!!
You can't beat the location - walk out the door and you are right on the Magnificent Mile with the river close by as well as a 20 minute walk to the Navy Pier!!!
Food in the hotel was fantastic - we dined at Micheal Jordan's Steakhouse and had breakfast. Both meals were great!!!
Our room was clean; spacious and very comfortable.
We will definitely stay here again!!!

Read More
Read Less

Great location but disappointing rooms

By

27 December 2021

Since I couldn't be with family over Christmas, I decided to drive 200 miles for a luxury weekend in Chicago. This hotel has a spectacular location, and beautiful lobby. Using my Platinum Ambassador status I requested an upgrade, which is probably where things went off the rails.

I had reserved a king room in the Executive Tower with city views and walk in shower. I was given an "upgrade" to a junior suite in the Grand tower with tiny, ancient bathroom and no views - and a small shower/tub combo with a clogged drain. Lesson learned, the two towers are very different! The bed was comfortable, great TV but stark furnishings. Dinner at Michael Jordons steakhouse in the hotel was nice, but not exceptional and very overpriced. The brunch at the hotel restaurant was good but cramped and very noisy. Unfortunately, they have a very nice wine bar that I have visited before but it was closed. Overall, staff was professional and well trained but certainly not friendly.

All-in-all, I enjoy the Intercontinental brand but this location, or perhaps this tower, was not up to the IC standards.

Read More
Read Less

Iconic hotel with fantastic service

By

23 December 2021

This hotel is brilliantly located in downtown Chicago, providing easy access to tourist locations. The customer service provided is also fantastic

Read More
Read Less

Nice

By

20 December 2021

Good location, friendly staff. Room was rather small but fine. Pool is cool.

Read More
Read Less

A Metropolitan Holiday

By

18 December 2021

Checked into the property after a long and rainy day of both plane and train travel. There was a LONG line when I arrived around 4:45pm so being an Ambassador member I walked over to the Ambassador Check in lane which was unstaffed. After 2 sets of guests had checked in using the regular que I asked the person at the desk if I could check in at the Ambassador lane, they did call someone out to the front desk after a few more minutes of waiting, but at peak times this seems like an area that should be staffed.

While waiting in line I as well as everyone else in the lobby was offered a glass of champagne which was a nice touch.

Upon check in I was informed that I was upgraded to a king suite, which was the class of room that I had initially booked anyway, so no real upgrade, it was perhaps upgraded to the top floor of the hotel which I did appreciate as the views were wonderful.

The room was definitely dated and could use a refresh from top to bottom. The paint in the closets was a very retro, faded and scuffed lime green that should have died off in the 70's. The living area had a nice sofa but lacked an arm chair and and seperate end table, and it definitely could have had it with the void of space that was left.

The desk shared a space with the living room TV which made for an odd shared space combo as I could not work at the desk if my wife was in the sitting area watching TV.

The bedroom did not have doors that separated it from the living space which would have been nice especially for some of the early morning and late night calls that I had to tend to. The king sized bed was well sheeted and had very comfortable pillows and an extra pillow and blanket were in the closet.

The bathroom is where the most wear and tear showed... The wallpaper under the vanity was old, dated, peeling and bubbled up. The lighting was dim, and a mix of both old and new bulbs in different temperatures. There was not ventilation fan in the bathroom so it would get very steamy while showering and all towel storage was on a bent and sagging rack that was in the tub / shower combo. The bathroom had Aveeda amenities which is sad as I always look forward to the Agraria bath amenities that have been provided at InterCon in the past.

The Keurig coffee machine was poorly placed in the bathroom and took up a large portion of the almost non existent vanity space that was present. Also the Keurig being the choice for this hotel versus other properties with Nespresso makers was odd. The newer Nespresso machines make far superior coffee and have a smaller footprint.

Ice machine was located on floor 7 and the public area surrounding it was very dated, and showing wear, same as the bathroom with peeling paint and wallpaper, dirty glass on the vestibule and garbage placed on the floor frequently by guests since no garbage can was present.

Despite all the shortcomings the location of the property and the wonderful staff at every turn make this a property to return to. The proximity of the hotel to the Chicago River, walkability to large parks, metro, and other attractions as well as a diverse dining scene mean that I will for sure be back but hope that the rooms get a refresh in the meantime.

Read More
Read Less

Rooms are Not Quite Intercontinental Standards

By

16 December 2021

Once getting past the lobby and off the elevators, it no longer seemed like being in an Intercontinental.

Hallway from the elevator to the room was dark and had burnt out light bulbs.

Bathtub drained so slowly that after one minute showering, a puddle was already forming in the tub.

No shampoo in the bathroom.

The room had a nice, large TV in it. It was place in front of the window, and was so large it blocked looking out the window.

Only one trash can in the room, located in the bathroom.

On the plus side, and excellent location for shopping and staying in the heart of Chicago and it has a really cool swimming pool

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times over the years but don't think I will stay again on my next visit to Chicago.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

16 December 2021

club

Greeted by doorman, Will. He was awesome and provided excellent service during our entire stay. Made recommendations on restaurants and provided directions to all local attractions. Reception clerk was very nice. He offered an upgraded room then rescinded offer because we used the military room rate. I guess 30 years serving our country doesn’t qualify for an upgrade. He apologized for having to rescind offer. Hotel location is great, lots of shopping and restaurants within steps of hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Staff was awful

By

15 December 2021

Some of the dumbest staff I've ever come across. Kept being transferred from one person to another before being hung up on.

Read More
Read Less

Our daughters wedding

By

15 December 2021

club

What a wonderful hotel to host our only daughters wedding.
The staff and I mean everyone, could not have been more helpful and professional. The food was hot and delicious. Our out of town guest were so impressed with everything. The brunch the next morning was icing on the cake.
Thank you Inter-Continental hotel for a fabulous weekend.

Read More
Read Less