Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Stephen F. Austin

AUSTIN LUXURY HOTEL ON FAMED CONGRESS AVENUE
The Hotel finished a multimillion dollar renovation of all guestrooms, suites and public areas in March of 2013. Affectionately known as the ‘Stephen F,’ this Austin luxury hotel is ideally placed on Congress Avenue. The unique Art Deco façade is a famous Austin landmark and has been part of the city scene for more than 60 years. At the heart of the culture capital of Texas, this Austin luxury hotel is just blocks from art museums, the state capitol and right next door to Paramount Theatre.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Perry's Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other down...
  • Amenities & Services

    Enjoy laps in the lower level indoor swimming pool or relax and unwind in our heated jacuzzi after a full workout in the fitness centre.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Stephen F. Austin
  • 701 Congress Avenue
  • Austin , TX , 78701
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-512-4578800

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Turkish

Pet Policy

No pets allowed in this downtown Austin Hotel.
  • Local Time

    6:12 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 7 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 248 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome room with a very nice view of the grounds and great service! Arrived and checked in quickly, room was very nice with a beautiful view of the city. Wasn't too noisy and the staff provided great service for our needs. Beds were very comfortable and the amenities made the stay a great experience. Would definitely stay again. February 8, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms The room and view were very nice but the smell of smoke from the towels was almost to much to take for a completely non-smoking hotel. February 8, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Hotel is outdated and needs to be renovated After I complained, if my rooms wouldn't have been reduced drastically in price, it would've made my stay even more unpleasant. The rooms were old and outdated and overpriced. The restaurant food was poor/fair at best. It's in a great location, and has lots of potential, and some rooms have nice views of the lake, but I wouldn't stay here again unless the property was re-furbished. We moved rooms the first night after being placed right next to the noisy ice machine and fitness room and were placed in a room that was tiny, and an odd sized/shaped unit that had a bathroom the size of one in a motor home. I would've left after the first night for another hotel, but everything was full that weekend due to Raquetball Tournament at UT and other events in the City. We ended up with a "decent" room the second night with a nice view, but had the inconvenience of moving three (3) times! February 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel well located. Nice view on the river. Close to everything downtown. Very easy to access highway. Free parking very appreciated. Very good personnel service. January 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and Staff Highly recommend this hotel - the rooms are very nice and we received excellent service from the staff! January 18, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fairly comfortable, good desk staff, exceptionally bad restaurant The Holiday Inn at Austin Town Lake is a bit old, and the age shows, but the room was comfortable enough. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. For example the door handle to my room didn't work when I turned it down--and they cheerfully pointed out that yes it was broken but all I had to do was turn it up. The Priority Club welcome gift was nice. The internet was slow. On the whole I would say it's pretty good, except for the restaurant. Food was on the bland side, but the service there was comically bad. Vinaigrette? Here's a cup of vinegar. Sit anywhere you like. Oh you want silverware and drinks?... well you shouldn't have sat over there. So if you stay here, I recommend eating somewhere else. January 18, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff not very responsive I stayed here with my wife before I was heading downrange and asked to have a room with a view of the river. Upon check it, there were ants in the tub and around the toilet. My wife called the front desk to describe the problem. She was assured it would be handled. I showed up 3 hours later and found out that no one had come or called. I went down and asked if someone could take care of this. Finally about 2-3 hours later, it was fixed (granted we weren't there so it could have been longer#. Next, my rental car had been broken into on my last night there. My fellow soldier went to the front desk to get a phone number for the police while I was speaking with the rental car agency. He told the front desk what happened and was simply given a shrug of the shoulders and "Sorry". Now I know the hotel isn't responsible but how about a little concern, maybe a "Is everyone ok?" or "Can we help?". Nothing just indifference. The hotel bartender showed more concern and asked if everything was ok. If it wasn't for the location and bartender #he also gave great local tips and helped another customer find some places that had good apartments#, I would have given this place 1 star for the staff! If you are looking for a receptive group, stay elsewhere. Location-wise, this a great place to stay January 17, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Austin trip Hotel was clean and in a good location. The structure was outdated with small rooms and low ceilings. Overall, not a bad experience. January 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super nice staff, and what a beutiful view!! We had such an amazing stay at your hotel. At first we were given a room that faced the freeway (which we expected since we were getting such an amazing deal already). We called maintenance to fix the tub because we discovered it was clogged. Gladys (i believe her name was) was there in an instant trying to get the problem fixed and then called to move us to another room so that we didn't have to deal with the fixing/cleaning of the tub, which we totally didn't expect to have done. and not only that, we were SO EXCITED to find that we had even been UPGRADED to a lakeview room! We were beyond excited, and felt VERY taken care of. Gladys (I'm really hoping her name was Gladys) was so attentive and made sure to check back in with us even a few days after to make sure our stay was going well. It most certainly was! And all of our friends were quite jealous of our view! haha Oh! also the front desk attendandts were extremely helpful in helping us call taxis all weekend as well. I'm really glad I signed up to be a part of the priority club too. Getting that treat bag in the beginning was a real plus as well. Thanks so much! January 14, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gracious staff Stayed here for our daughter's wedding. Staff was very attentive and responded promptly to issues. Great location! January 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time - Nice Place! Great Time - Nice Place! STAY HERE! Great Time - Nice Place! STAY HERE! January 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great view and centrally located I always stay here when I visit Austin. I love the view of the lake and find it quite relaxing. There are running and biking trails by the lake. The hotel is centrally located and near the interstate for quick travel around the city The staff has always been helpful and polite. December 14, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hot room with extra hair My room would just never cool down. The hallway felt much better than my room. The bed as well as the shower contained multiple people's hair that was not mine. I will never stay at this hotel again. December 4, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We came for Thanksgiving holiday. Great time, the room and dining areas were very nice. The staff was great on informing us on all of our questions. I stay here everytime I come to Austin. December 4, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Riverbank We enjoyed overlooking the river from our room & walking on the riverbank. Downtown is near but even closer is Rainey Street where we found a really good Indian place, plus a nice pub with excellent German wurst and an incredible variety of beer. My guide book does not know Rainey Street yet but Thomas the receptionist would tell me, thus giving us two perfect evenings! December 3, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel I have stayed here many times. Great hotel and well located. Walking or jogging along the lake is a nice change of pace. Hotel has many offerings. Heated pool on the six floor is great. Great views of Austin. November 26, 2012
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Except for internet, a nice hotel. This is a nice hotel within walking distance of Downtown & Rainey Street. However, I recommend all business travelers, flight crew and anyone else who uses the internet to avoid this property. The free wi-fi is terribly unreliable & slow as molasses. The TV in my room only got 9 standard-definition channels, no HD at all. Hotel management: fix your internet service! November 23, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel took a decline in the past few years. This may have been the dirtiest HI I have ever stayed at. There was so much dust on the carpet under the desk, stained curtains and bedspreads. At the breakfast buffet I needed to return a water glass with lipstick on it and when I grabbed a plate the bottom of it was was filthy. I have stayed here in the past but never again November 20, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected Bathroom extremely small and cramped to move about in. The rest of the room was as expected with the exception that the heater in our room did not work. The first night was freezing as Austin had been hit by a cold front. I placed a request with the front desk for them to turn it on (they said a maintenance guy would have to come up and "flip a special switch" to enable the heating functions). This never occurred as promised and due to coming back in so late Saturday night, we had another freezing night in our room. I was extremely disappointed that the front desk failed to followup on my request. I was also upset that while making my reservation, the hotel failed to notify that my room would overlook an outdoor eating/music area and that there would be a live band performing for many hours late into the night. It was terrible music and bled through the walls into our room. You would think the hotel would alert its customers of this as I was there to relax and the noise was severely aggravating. This, combined with a lack of heating in the room, ruined our entire experience at this hotel and will probably give me pause the next time I am considering where to stay during my travels. I think I will pass staying at another Holiday Inn. November 19, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Food, Friendly, Great Prices The walk around Lady Bird lake was relaxing and refreshing. If nothing else, the view of the lake from my room was exceptional. The food at the sports bar - restaruant was great and priced right. (Loved the Nachos, Hamburger was huge, & Onion Rings were to die for...) November 10, 2012
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too Expensive for Such Awkward & Tired Rooms; but Great Staff I was in Austin recently for a convention and was disappointed to have spent so much money on such a small room that was strangely layed out in just about every fashion. I normally don't mind parting with money for a good hotel room and have noramlly like Holiday Inns - especially in the last few years - but this barely fit the bill. The surfaces all seemed either painted over a few times or simply "grimy", though I don't really have a good explanation how else to describe this. The entertainment system had its doors removed and hinges still visible with an old TV and a remote that felt like it hadn't been cleaned in months. I saw bits of plaster or something similar flaking off of surfaces in the bathroom, as well. Finally, while listed as within walking distance of the convention center, it proved to be a little more of a walk than one would think when advertised as such. I didn't want to take the time to complain since I was just there for two or three days and my time was limited. I did, however, use their shuttle service extensively - to/from the convention center and the airport. And to their credit, the bed was clean/comfortable. At every turn the staff was professional, courteous, and aiming to please. Again, the shuttle service was prompt and quick to help. I had every reason to think that if I had complained the staff would have been happy to help - however they could - just didn't know how they'd address rooms shaped like paisley and showers with low ceilings. November 9, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 22nd Bomb Group We're a WWII veteran Group that holds annual Reunion comprising our vets, wives, family members, and other interested persons. This year Austin was the spot and the Holiday Inn Lady Bird Lake was our home base. The rate was fair and inclusive of parking and breakfast. The staff was uniformly helpful. The Saturday Banquet service and food was very good and the price not exorbitant. Free shuttle service within 2 miles and also to the airport was popular with our value conscious members. If possible get a room in the tower overlooking on the lake ... really the Colorado River! November 2, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice View Love staying here - especially when I have a lake view. Thank you. October 28, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I have had better... I love the holiday in hotel chain, thats why I became a rewards member. I was pretty surprised to see the low level of pride that went in to this hotel though. Pros: 1. Over all the rooms were nice and well maintained. 2. The hotels location was good and not far from down town. 3. The hotel was able to arange a shuttle to take me and my group downtown for dinner as well. 3. Staff at the front desk was polite and friendly at check in. 4. My platinum status was noticed and I got a nice welcome gift when I got there. Cons: 1. The pool was not good. It was only 3 1/2 feet deep. It looked a lot bigger the the pictures. It did have a nice view of the river though. 2. it woud be nice if once and a while my platinum statud got me something other than a bottle of water. Maybe a room upgrade, free drink at the bar, tour tickets..really anything to justify the membership. 3. The price of the hotel nearly doubles for some reason for the weekend over their usual rates and call me old fashion but if you charge more for something you should provide a higher evel of service. Not the same level you always give. Make the extra effort for your guests since they are paying a higher rate. 4. Breakfast was complete garbage. I showed up after the rush and many of the tables were still dirty. I don't know if they let half of there staff go after the morning rush but they only had 2 guys there to seat people, refill plates and food and serve drinks. They were so over tasked that me and my party suffered. it took forever to get a cup of water, eventually I had to go and get the pitcher myself and serve me and my friends. I gave up on getting a cup of coffee completly. There were no plates and I had to reuse mine. The eggs were cold and runny. No juice. All in all breakfast was horrible and I was already not expecting very much. If you are going to rely on servers to provide drinks and such then they need to be available, other wise put everything out someplace that people can help themselves. October 26, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Your front desk staff is exceptional! Enjoy this hotel, stay there whenever in Austin due to the great service and closeness to down town activity too. October 26, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel The staff and location of this hotel was very well. It was walking distance to everything that I wanted to go. This is a very good place to stay when you are in Austin, Texas October 22, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Now just one thing to fix Finally got the resr of the channels added to the TV system. We have the Weather Channel and Headline News, two channels no hotel should lack. Picture quality still analog and wrong aspect ratios here and there, but at least we have the channels a traveler needs. Now the, if we can just get the Internet system working. Get rid of the ridiculous password system. there is barely enough signal strength in the rooms, nevermind outside the building. The password system is not needed. Period. Then when the routers reboot in the middle of the night we won't have to go through the password song and dance. And you wouldn't have to reboot the routers to bump off the bandwidth hogs if you did a little load balancing, port blocking and traffic management so some mooks downloading and streaming movies wouldn't hog all the bandwidth. The hotel staff is their most valuable asset. I spend 10-20 nights a month here, and if not for them, I wouldn't. Good value, just a few things to fix. BUT DON'T CHANGE THE STAFF! October 21, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everyone very nice and helpful...rooms very clean...would stay again! Our room was very clean and comfortable, and all the staff was very nice. We were close to everything and had a beautiful view of the rowers on Lady Bird Lake. Overall, a very pleasant hotel experience! October 19, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not going back Last time I stay at this Holiday Inn. Phone did not work in the room, ice machine on this floor was empty, not running. No complimentary breakfast. Going back to the Hampton downtown. October 16, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by TERRIBLE. I recieved a call at around 4am to move my vehicle...the representative stated it was improperly parked. I went out to move it only to find it perfectly and properly parked. I advised the representative of this fact and they apologized for the inconvenience. I went back to sleep. About another hour passed and I recvd ANOTHER call (waking me up) with the same request. I understand things happen but this is something that should've never happened. I expected some sort of adjustment on my room bill but recvd nothing but a lack of sleep and a half-hearted apology. Truly a dissappointing experience. October 5, 2012
    <<prev 5 6 7 8 9