Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Juan

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 590 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st time in PR too pricey LOL, excellent security on beach, made one more comfortable laying out in chair, beds, pillows, and sheets, the best!!! 19 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful beachfront property My husband & I enjoyed 5 great days, which turned into 7 when the Feb. blizzard closed the airports in the northeast. Our housekeeping attendant, Hilton, made the most amazing animal figures from towels each morning. We enjoyed the beach and Ciao Mediteraneo Cafe nearly every day. My only disappointment was that the hotel does not provide free wi-fi even in the public areas. 18 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Winter Escape This is my 3rd February visit to the Intercontinental San Juan. It is a lovely oceanfront property, with a beautiful pool and surrounding area, and easy access to beach. I found the staff especially attentive this trip, as there seems to be increased attention to customer service. The beachfront deck restaurant, Ciao Mediterranean, is a great place for lunch, with nice variety and pizzas that can be shared. Lunch is a little bit pricey, but the tradeoff of not leaving the beach is well worth it. The Italian restaurant has changed to a Trattoria, less formal that its predecessor Alfredo's, the food was great, especially the petite filet and lobster risotto (went back a second time).Our servers were pleasant, attentive and happy to explain the dishes. The rooms can probably use some updating but very clean. The beds are comfortable, great sheets! Nice bar area and small casino. A little bit of everything. Check out the pool area at night, very beautiful. I'll be back next year! 17 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A very high price for standard service We needed to arrange for a wheelchair for my wife. My company helped me get in touch with the hotel concierge who informed me that they did not have any of their own wheelchairs, but that they could arrange for an outside firm to rent one to us for the duration of our stay, for a rate of $30/day. On the day of our arrival, it turned out that the hotel did have several wheelchairs, but was unwilling to lend it us for the few occasions that we needed it. When the rental firm representative showed up, he brought with him a wheelchair that looked like it had come from a used car lot. I told him that it did not look safe, to which he responded that for a “new” wheelchair, the daily rent would be $40 (really?). I had to get the hotel manager involved, and after 20 minutes of intense negotiations, the “used wheelchair salesman” finally let me have the new model for the agreed-upon $30. We used it exactly 3 times during our stay for durations of less than two hours each. I believe that the hotel could certainly have allowed my wife to use one of their own wheelchairs for these in-house occasions. The other disappointment was with the room accommodations: My company helped us by requesting a room with two beds since we were bringing my stepson with us on this trip. As soon as it became clear that the two “twin-size” beds in the room would not be sufficient for three adults in our party, the hotel first reacted with disdain, claiming that we owed them an additional $40/day because he is an adult (and not the infant child they were expecting). Further inquiring about getting sufficient bed space for three adults, I was told that I could pay an additional $230/night for a room with a queen-size bed and pull-out sofa. I sought out the hotel manager, who after a lengthy discussion of just how much revenue his hotel was getting from MTG’s stay over the weekend, agreed to reduce the additional cost for sufficient accommodation down to just $70/night, but still demanded that I pay the additional $40/night for my stepson. To add insult to injury, the hotel charged us an additional $29.70 per night for resort service fees and occupancy taxes. This is outrageous! I would not recommend this hotel nor this staff to anybody. I demand some kind of renumeration for my horrible experience. 17 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We stayed 2 days before our cruise and one day after the cruise. This is a great hotel, we loved it! Everyone is so nice and our room was very nice, comfortable bed and pillows. The beach is beautiful. Alfredo's is a great restaurant. Definitely will stay there again and will recommend it. Thanks Intercontinetal for a great time! 16 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Impressed My husband and I are Platinum Priority Members. We have stayed at many IHG hotels all over the world. By far, this was our least favorite. Although, the staff was nice the food was mediocre at best. We had the breakfast buffet and paid $60 what we would consider more of a low grade continental breakfast. We also had ordered room service, and again, we have been to many Intercontiental Hotels with much more amazing food that was more worth the price. The beach the hotel is located on is very nice however the hotel is not close to much so unless you rent a car or take an expensive taxi you are subjected to stay at the hotel. Overall, we plan to return to Puerto Rico but would not stay at this hotel. 15 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not my favorite stay I stayed here for New Years and was disappointed. I stayed at the Hotel San Juan last year for New Years and the price difference wasn't much and had a much better experience. 04 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel There are a few items that I will not discuss in this forum which need to be addressed, but our stay at the hotel was pretty good. I would probably recommend the hotel to others but only after my issues have been resolved. The property is pretty and has a beautiful scenery and is very clean and worthy. The staff was mostly helpful and courteous. 31 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Check-In Issues I reserved 3 rooms for myself and our close friends. We had a total party of 6. This was our fourth stay at this facility. Arrived at the hotel at 3:40pm for our 4:00pm check-in. Only 1 room was ready for check-in, we were told we would be called when the other 2 rooms were ready. No one ever called. Went back to the front desk at 5:30 and was told the rooms were not ready yet but to check back in 30 minutes. Went back to the front desk at 6:15pm still the rooms were not ready, we will call you when they are. Received no call, went back to the front desk at 7:00pm, room was finally ready. Once in the room had to call maintenance because the toilet was clogged. At this point my wife and I are totally disappointed. Two of the rooms were reserved under the Family Fun Pack, if I didn't catch it upon Check Out, I would not have gotten the second room for 50% off. The hotel buffet comes with an outrageous price, $27 / person, come on. Maybe you should send someone to look at the buffets in Atlantic City or Las Vegas and see what they have available for $16. Still, our group loves the InterContinental San Juan and will most likely return there next year. 29 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Stay in Paradise The check in experince was awful. The rooms were suppose to be together, but by the time we got the second room the room was the next numbered room, but it was one floor down from the first room. We tried to contact the hotel several times before we arrived to find out about the new year celebration, no one from the hotel every called us back. When we checked out the bill was incorrect, we had to fight with the check out person until we finally had to discuss the bill with the hotel manager who was rude and acted too busy to care. Over all a nice property, but the worst service every. 25 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel but service could be better A spectacular property with great vintage features. However, the front desk staff were not helpful and bordering on rude. 24 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing ambassador service We have stayed at the Intercontinental in the past and loved it. This time, we joined the ambassador club and had higher expectations. The room we were upgraded to was larger, however the view was the parking lot. We were informed, that it would be a lagoon view. We had to request, fruit, water and turn down service for three days in a row, before they got everything organized. I will say that the consciege service was excellent and very professional. 22 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Third time we visited. The hotel is being renovated and the staff seems a bit inexperienced and lackadaisical. Bellmen stand around talking and only a few open the door. A signature of the hotel 5 years ago. The staff is half heartedly accommodating and the assistant front desk manager was less than gracious to a priority club platinum member for approximately 12 years. I asked for an upgrade and was held hostage for a 200 ambassador fee that he said would be necessary for a better room. We had booked our room 5 months prior and I really expected more after accumulating and using over 200000 points to book thie room. We came back from an 8 hour day and our room was not made up. The maid though trying to help spoke no English and was lost at our request. We were in a hurry and needed to shower for a dinner reservation it took them over half an hour to get someone to the room. This is my third time at this hotel and I am not sure if I would rush back. I feel as though the hotel has lost something. It no longer has the high quality hotel feel it has had in the past. I am not sure if I would recommend it to anyone or if I will return there. There are a lot of very negative reviews on trip advisor also. 21 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by service A Morning Club room attendant did not understand English ..was a bit uncooperative Evening Club Room attendant much better B] Pool towel rationing ..one per guest was annoying and unrealistic it did not convey an aura of welcome ... C] there was virtually no food or beverage service at the pool interestingly service at the Beach was great D breakfast service was spotty .... staff slow to respond to ordinary requests ..such as ketchup Ruth's Chris & Monomayna were great E] Casino Staff for most part cold and unwelcoming F] Bell service was excellent ..desk staff & concierge excellent young man who checked me in was great ..I should have remembered his name G] housekeeping good 21 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pass on this one As an active Delta Airline employee, I see my fair share of hotels. I have never been so disrespected before by a hotel staff or seen such poor customer service skills in my entire career. My wife and I showed up to the hotel an hour before check-in and were not allowed into our room. In my 25 year career, I have never been denied access to my room even arriving hours before the check-in period. We were forced to wait in the lobby after a very long flight with all our bags and winter clothing in the 80 degree weather. The staff was very short with my wife and I; even pushing rude at times. My other issue is that they offer no value to Priority Club members. I am a Platinum member and choose to stay and IHG hotels. I booked through Priority Club and booked one of the most expensive rooms. The hotel would not allow us to check-in early, refused us free internet access, and refused us free breakfast when these options were availabe to other hotel guests. I have never seen such a dispicably ran hotel in my life. I will never return to this Intercontinental, nor will I ever recommend it to anyone else. 19 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Three King Day weekend ever Beautiful, elegant, marvellous time! The staff at the restaurant by the beach was amazingly prompt, courteous and kind. The staff everywhere was great except for the check in people who rather than a smile, gave us a stone face while asking us questions and were not cordial at all. The room was not ready and when we went back when called by the desk to check in, we had to stand in line for ever! The lady who finally help us was very kind, however, when I moved ahead to ask if after filling all the papers before we still needed to stand in such long line, the young lady replied" like everybody else" which imediately made me wonder if we should have become members at all! Quality of food and service was better that the two Hiltons we also visited in the last 6 months while in the Island. The Hotel needs to have more staff for check in time and be more corteous towards those who are members and who "check in" earlier but could not access a room yet. Great location 17 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Experience at San Juan InterContinenal I took my mother to San Juan InterContinental for her birthday. I was expecting InterContinental quality but was disappointed by the level of service by staff. The front desk was better, but everybody else was indifferent. Even when you enter the hotel, nobody opens doors for you. Most upsetting was that jaccuzi was not operating throughout our stay. My mother specifically wanted jaccuzi so I called front desk before booking if we will enjoy jaccuzi. It was embarrassing for me and disappointing for my mother. I was assured that it would be fixed the next day, but it never happened. Service during the included breakfast was indifferent 3 times out of 4. A couple of times I had to look for servers. At the beach I dragged recliners for myself and my mother to the beach and they werre HEAVY. I thought you guys have people for this. I spent a lot of money but did not enjoy my stay. The weather was great, and I enjoyed downtown San Juan, but it has nothing to do with InterContinental. Every day I regret I did not choose a competitor, which was less expensive. 16 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall very nice Overall we enjoyed the experience and would come back. However there are several things that i did not like. I have not paid daily for internet at a luxury resort in a long while and considering that you charge a 40 per day hotel fee i thought that 25 per day for internet was excessive. An excellent hotel should have the New York Times or something similar and we never had it once. I was told 'sometimes it comes sometimes it doesn't!!" The gym ran out of towels twice in four days. We had one excellent waitress-- her name was Ida and she worked breakfast. Really professional. Other than her we waited for service at meals. 15 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not that impressed I reserved a room with "laguna" views and what we got was dirty fast food restaurant views. 10 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Overall Stay Great accomodations and service. A beautiful setting and view of the beach from the room. Will definitely visit again! 10 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short But Sweet The hotel is conveniently located near the airport, near plenty of restaurants and the beach. Although the hotel has been around for quite some time, it is still kept very well. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Also very knowledgable and gave great recommendations. The only downfall was the size of the casino and the limited types of table games. Otherwise, the hotel was great! 10 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service was poor. More than 2 hours to contact the reservation department at San Juan, PR hotel. The front desk operator was excellent but the reservation people was a disaster (no body answer the phone during 9:39am to 11:45am). Then, after we get to the hotel and the reservation was confirm they teld us to wait about 40 min, because the room was not clean yet. We get to the hotel at 6:00pm and the check in was at 4:00pm. 09 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect in everything All was so perfect!!! Enjoyed the whole experience. Room, food, hotel layout Especially the staff 07 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad but could be better Overall, good but they just need more staff. Long lines to check in and check out. LOng lines to get wrist band and towels. Some would only let you get 1 towel despite there being 2 in your room, requiring the other person to also be on line. Very nice pool and beach. A hard working beach attendant got you a chair quite quickly. Food at the pool was better then expected. Rooms were nice with good linens but no bath robes. We had massages adn one was good and the other not so much (started late, and massuse seem ill). Most annoying is that signing up for their Priority club rewrds which offers 4pm check out was unavailable despite the hotel appearing only half full on our day of departure. 07 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by "Reward " ed Stay We decided to use our reward points to book this beautiful property, we found the hotel management to be less than accomodating during our entire stay, making one question their loyality to this brand of hotels. 05 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay with daughter I was meeting a family member in San Juan before continuing on to my vacation home on another island. The hotel is convenient to the airport. The beach is one of the best in San Juan, the dining options at the hotel are varied and the room was very well appointed. The bathroom, while small, had all of the expected amenities and the beds and bedding were very comfortable. The only reason that I am not giving the experience a 5 star is because the rooms and the doors need sound proofing. I could hear the occupants on both sides of me speaking and also their television as well as frequent noise, until 1:00 am, in the hallway. I travel frequently and this was more noise than normal. My room was located at the end of a corridor, on a high floor, and it was a Thursday night. 03 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Possibly Worst Service Ever We had 2 rooms. When we arrived, the type of room reserved (2 Queens) for one of the roomswas not available. Only after an hour at the front desk, did we finally get the correct room type. We also had to move from a high floor to a low floor where our beach view was a tree and a roof. My son's room had a naked man in it when he and his girlfriend entered the room. After a wait, they were given a new room. Even though there were 3 people in one room, there were only 2 small bath towels. When I asked for 3 full size bath towels, I was told that there were none available and was given 4 old and ragged beach towels. It took over 20 minutes on hold before someone came to the phone to assist. This happened on numerous occasions. Very few of the service people acknowledged us and there were no pleasantries spoken even when we offered first. When we asked for some ice at the bar/restaurant by the beach, we were told "No, there is not enough ice". The omelet line at buffet breakfast was never less than a 20 minute wait. The grounds were beautiful but not kept clean or maintained. There were seversal broken chairs and tables. Even though the upgraded TVs were Hi-Def, no Hi-Def stations were available. The safe was so high up that my wife & daughter had to pull a chair over to the closet so that they could reach it. We had to get new keys over 7 times because they wouldn't work . Yes, we kept them away from everything that could interfere with the magnetic strip. This is one vacation that I will not look back fondly at and we will never recommend your property to anyone nor will we return to it. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Juan Visit This was an overall excellent experience. The time on property was only a night, but it was a memorable one. Will make efforts to return to this property in 2013. 02 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience for Royal Ambassadors The hotel offers an upgrade for Royal Ambassadors to the Club. Except there is no 'Club' in the conventional meaning for a hotel. 7 apples and a coffee machine this property thinks is a 'Club'. Stay away, it's poor service for IC best customers. 28 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not so great sorry, but disappoointed in my stay. did not get to stay on club floor. yes, did have a suite, but door would not open as latch would lock in place. had no tv guide in room. had no newspaper delivered to room although I requested it more than once. no cocktails in the lounge... no sure why I paid for club room other than breakfast. cost of internet use is downright incredulous. price for "resort fees" likewise over the top. 05 December 2012
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 next>>
San Juan
  • 5961 Isla Verde Avenue
  • San Juan , 00979
  • Puerto Rico
  • Front Desk +1-787-7916100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Dutch , Portuguese

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.
  • Local Time

    12:34 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs