Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 1382 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1382reviews

  • 5 Stars
    689
  • 4 Stars
    408
  • 3 Stars
    137
  • 2 Stars
    88
  • 1 Stars
    60

Good Service - fire alarm fault affected my stay

By

November 12, 2020

I liked how modern and spacious the rooms were, the layout was good.

Read More
Read Less

Relaxing stay

By

November 10, 2020

Lovely stay. Nice to get away and be looked after. Pool was good, breakfast was good and bar was cosy for family to enjoy hot chocolate. Felt very safe - Covid secure. Excellent value.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Colchester

By

November 09, 2020

club

As always, great staff and a nice hotel.

As always though, I am disappointed that IHG Hotels are still using Parking Eye Ltd. to manage their car parks. It is my opinion that Parking Eye Ltd. are a truly evil company who deliberately DO NOT give receipts when you enter your vehicle details on their screen at reception with the primary purpose of sending out false parking fines, and then deliberately making it virtually impossible to contact them about it. Parking Eye Ltd. is purely a money making scheme for themselves - whilst IHG Customers suffer the consequences of their immoral business model. I advise anyone having to put their details into one of Parking Eye Ltd. screens to film themselves doing it and absolutely film the part that confirms your car details have been successfully submitted - because that screen is only visible for less that 2 seconds.
Parking Eye Ltd's marketing slogan should be: Parking Eye Ltd - Making Money from IHG Customers Misery.
Shame on IHG for being in partnership with such an evil organisation.

Read More
Read Less

Good stay

By

November 08, 2020

Nice and clean rooms
Friendly staff
Bit slow service at the restaurant and bar but apart from that all good

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn - Colchester

By

November 03, 2020

I booked this hotel for wed 28th Oct. I called central reservations on the 25th to move my room to the 30th and add my husband and other son. I had the most confusing conversation with reservations, i put the phone down and decided to start again. Once again, a very confusing call. I spent over an hour trying to amend my booking. In the end i gave up. The next morning, i called the hotel front desk and spoke to a lady who said she had changed my booking and everything was good. i never received an email confirmation of this change. on arrival at the hotel, there was no amended booking for me and my family.
Reception was crazy busy with only one receptionist working. They found us a room, but it wasnt clean. This was 3pm, and we had swimming booked for 430pm. we was told to wait in the bar and someone would get us. 420pm arrives and our room was still being cleaned. we was asked to leave our bags in reception and go swimming, but we had no towels and only half hour slot in the pool.
we finally
got into our room after swimming - 3 hours after our check in.
I got the impression that there were hardly no cleaning staff, or people on the ground, no one in the bar serving, and one person behind the reception desk.

Read More
Read Less

Basic Accommodation

By

November 03, 2020

Used this hotel for a one night stay. Pool and spa was fully booked so could not use the facilities. Room was pretty basic, although spotlessly clean, TV had a few boring non interesting channels so did not watch much of that. Paid £21 for a very poor breakfast. Next time I will spend the money on a tent and pitch up in a field. At least I own the tent when the nights over.

Read More
Read Less

Great value for a short local break with kids. Can't expect more.

By

November 01, 2020

I brought my kids there for a short breakand to use the pool. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool although we wish we could spend more time at the pool without time restrictions, although we understand this is just so everyone has a chance to use the pool in a socially distanced manner.

Room was clean, and the breakfast was good as well.

Great value, and great service.

Read More
Read Less

Good stay

By

November 01, 2020

club

Good stay, clean, enjoyable, check in was awful, the lady kept saying “computer says no” please don’t listen to them, we had dinner when we wanted, we went swimming when we wanted, all whilst the receptionist said was all full

Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay and customer service

By

October 30, 2020

club

We had a little trouble at check out with bill due to new system but without Any hassle the counter staff swiftly corrected without question x

Read More
Read Less

Great little break away!

By

October 29, 2020

club

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. They were Covid safe sad we felt comfortable the whole time. Staff and great, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, perfect for Colchester zoo. Will recommend to others and will be back.

Read More
Read Less

Rude aggressive kitchen and bar staff

By

October 26, 2020

Not booking here again rude and aggressive chef and his partner

Read More
Read Less

Everything was brilliant

By

October 26, 2020

club

Iv stayed in the holiday inn’s now for over 2 years they are the best hotels in the Uk I would highly recommend to anyone! keep up good work holiday inn

Read More
Read Less