Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Sydney Airport

2-12 Sarah Street , Mascot, New South Wales 2020

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.7

based on 219 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

219reviews

  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Okay stay, with some easy improvement opportunities

By

June 27, 2022

platinumelite

I arrived a little later in the day than planned due to travel delays on my journey from interstate, and found that the hotel doors had already been closed for the night. After walking around the entirely building and not finding any buttons or intercom to alert the hotel staff, I resorted to calling on the phone, and was then let in without problems.

My room (as I believe all do) had a small kitchen and cups, plates, cutlery, etc. to allow more of a "home" experience and avoid having to always eat out; although I ended up with more of a combination of a couple of meals out and otherwise ready-to-eat food. I did use the refrigerator, though, and found that to actually be running a bit cold - my refrigerated coffee ended up being an iced coffee by the following morning.

The bathroom was also not quite as it should be, and I wonder if that was partly to do with the hotel still being new and not entirely finished (the restaurant, for example, is still under construction). For example, the bathroom floor appeared to have lots of white specks, like there had been paint drips or drops (and similarly, what appeared to be paint residue on the metal skirting boards beside the kitchenette area), which I would have expected to have been cleaned and not something one would expect to see in a newly-opened hotel. In addition, the soap holder had been snapped off the wall, but managed to be hung back on the fitting to almost look like it was right. There were thankfully face washers amongst the towels, which I have found are often lacking in my travels elsewhere.

I found the bed to be quite fine and slept without problems. However, I could not see how it was possible to be able to fully close the blinds, so there was always a beam of light into the room. Perhaps not as much a problem during winter, but with longer summer days, perhaps this would be more annoying not being able to keep the light out.

Although my trip was meant to be a holiday, I unfortunately ended up having to do some work. I was able to set up my laptop on the small desk and connect to the internet. I don't recall the internet speed to be amazing, but was able to get my work done. But I also don't recall seeing any USB outlets, which other hotels are increasingly providing (there was, however, no problem with finding power outlets).

All-in-all, an okay experience and good to see the IHG brand with another hotel a bit outside the absolute centre of the city.

Read More
Read Less

Quick stopover in Sydney

By

June 27, 2022

This is a great hotel to be in if you need to be at a close proximity to the airport

Read More
Read Less

Good Location

By

June 22, 2022

Location by airport was good. The one issue for IHG members is that the hotel bill does not get uploaded to the IHG site which is an issue for many business travelers needing a bill. Make sure you get a paper copy.

Read More
Read Less

Great, convenient airport rest stop

By

June 19, 2022

New hotel. Close to the airport. Very convenient with shuttle service for a small fee ($10 AUS). Nice beer selection. Clean, fresh, and modern. Nice, friendly staff.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent overnight stay.

By

June 08, 2022

club

This hotel is a great option, particularly if traveling domestic. Close to the airport and long stay parking if required. While the hotel offers limited evening food, the staff facilitate ‘takeaway’ meals from a number of nearby restaurants.
Rooms are very comfortable and staff very helpful.
Overall a great option.

Read More
Read Less

close to airport but problematic transport

By

June 01, 2022

While located very close to domestic terminals at SYD, this hotel does not provide free shuttle and the shuttle company they contract for airport pickup/delivery ($10 AUD) isn't all that convenient or timely. Good breakfast at hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great location and excellent sized rooms

By

May 18, 2022

Close to Domestic airport and able to walk to or shuttle if not. Great sized rooms with great free breakfast and room is great size if working and staff are very helpful and assist with any need. Will be staying again.

Read More
Read Less

Worst breakfast ever

By

December 12, 2021

platinumelite

Great location, of course, but the hotel was really disappointing. There were some little things, such as lighting where you don't want it and not where you do, especially the terrible ring light in the bathroom. Next issue was that my laptop couldn't use the internet. My laptop's old, but there's no excuse for a blank login page. It should simply work for any device.

Those little irritations were totally eclipsed by the worst breakfast I've had at any hotel worldwide. There were unlabelled boxes with a tiny juice, cereal and an apricot bar. The only way you can check what's inside is to pick them up. What if the guest then puts it back? Utterly stupid in regard to COVID-19. Even worse was the unlabelled paper bags in a pie warmer. Inside was egg and bacon on an English muffin. Those aren't great at the best of times, but that egg seemed to have been cooked for a couple of hours. It was awful. At any proper breakfast with any other options, I would have just thrown it away after one bite.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

December 10, 2021

Had a great stay and all the staff could not have been kinda and more helpful

Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

December 01, 2021

club

We had a wonderful experience at at the hotel. Service was excellent. parking was very convenient and room was very clean.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent clean friendly and safe

By

November 28, 2021

club

New, modern, very clean and safe feeling. Super helpful friendly staff. Lots of double power points 6 USB charging sockets, essential these days to charge all your electronics. Big tv with chromecast. Everything you need for a comfortable stay at an excellent price for a Sydney hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Perfect for a quick overnight

By

November 27, 2021

club

Arrived at 1130pm, reception staff was attentive and bubbly for the time of night. Room was exactly what I needed it to be, quiet, comfortable and clean.

Read More
Read Less