Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salt Lake City West Valley

3036 South Decker Lake Drive , West Valley City, Utah 84119

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 1148 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1148reviews

  • 5 Stars
    661
  • 4 Stars
    273
  • 3 Stars
    98
  • 2 Stars
    71
  • 1 Stars
    45

The best stay everrr

By

August 11, 2020

club

I wish I could live here it’s that nice
They didn’t skimp out on anything it felt like luxury
At an affordable price the main thing that sold me is
That it really felt like you cared and we mattered
At the moment I’m in a weekly and I miss the holiday inn
I love you guys

Read More
Read Less

Beware if you are only staying for the pool!

By

August 11, 2020

club

This stay was a weekend “staycation” for my daughter’s birthday. We are local residents, and have seen the “Fins

Read More
Read Less

If you want to be charged surprise fees/be treated like dirt, stay here!

By

August 10, 2020

club

This was THEEEEE WORST hotel experience Ive ever had. I am a travel agent, and when I booked the hotel, the reservation specialist assured me all fees were included in the booking, I specifically asked her this question, she put me on hold to verify, they said all fees were included. We chose this hotel ONLY for the slide they have in the pool, my 4 year old daughter wanted to play there.

When we arrived, planning on staying 2 nights, we were told we had to pay $25 to use the pool. I told the desk agent we were assured that all fees were included but she didnt care and said we had to pay it. I said I was told otherwise and they should stand behind what their booking agents told me. She said she wouldnt. I asked her to contact the manager (there was no manager on site) and the manager was a total you-know-what, saying she didnt care what I was told, we had to pay the additional fee.

Long story short, we ended up paying the additional fee, ONLY TO FIND OUT MY DAUGHTER WAS TOO SHORT TO USE THE SLIDE! They knew we were there ONLY for the slide, I made this very clear since this property has absolutely nothing going for it other than the slide (unless you like a view of a dead field and a power plant, or the freeway). If they had any ethics, they would have told us she would be unable to use the slide before making us pay the fee.It was obvious she was much shorter than the required height (which you only learn about once you check into the pool area).

Aside from that nonsense, our room locks, yes both of them, were broken. Someone had taken the safety screw out of the window so it opened all the way, which didnt bother me, but the screw was sitting on the window sill and should have been noticed by some staff at some point. The walls sounded paper thin and we could hear people as they walked by. The AC unit was SO loud, and the freeway next to the hotel wasnt pleasant either.

The pool was only open from 3-9, so if you wanted to use it the morning of check out (check out is 11 AM) you would not be able to use it. So essentially, you pay $25 for one day in the lackluster pool.

I was told they had complimentary hot breakfast and this was also not true. They gave us a bag with cold cereal, a granola bar, milk and a mandarin orange. For sure NOT a hot breakfast. Then, the desk agent kicked us out of the lobby while we were 'enjoying' our breakfast.

The ice machine was leaking all over and so they just tossed down some rags and called it good.

We ended up checking out a day early because the experience was so awful.

I will never stay in an IHG property again, nor will I book any of my travel clients there or suggest that my travel team of over 180 agents book their clients there either. I would have been so embarrassed if this disaster happened to my client. Im glad I tested it out first.

100% total bust and I will NEVER support this property/brand in any way.

Read More
Read Less

Bad service, loud rooms, waterpark was terrible

By

August 10, 2020

The front desk staff was slow and incompetent. The waterpark staff was a bunch of teens that were not only rude to our family but played volleyball in the lobby and also poured a bunch of too much chemicals in the hot tub while guests were in it so they could close it down early. It was a complete rip off, and waste of our time and money. With so many choices in Salt Lake City i wish we would have went somewhere else.

Read More
Read Less

IHG

By

August 09, 2020

Coronavirus hurts hotels. Doing the best they can but that’s all any place can do.

Read More
Read Less

Great for big families

By

August 07, 2020

Loved the option for my large family to have one room and everyone in a bed. Very large and spacious rooms. Fun pool but it cost extra. I expected it to be included with the cost of the room.

Read More
Read Less

I'm not not normally a Karen, but...

By

August 03, 2020

I booked online. The one-night stay was spendy but I was willing to pay more to stay at this mediocre hotel in order for my young son to use the pool and slide.
1. Upon arrival, I was told pool use would require an additional HEFTY fee. I mentioned I had not seen this on the website and the clerk stated "It's there." I checked later to find that you'd have to click on "more details" to learn of this fee. Who clicks on "more details" to read about a hotel pool? I could’ve stayed elsewhere and spent less money buying a day pass at the water park. We would've enjoyed it a lot more, as well. The pool had so many seemingly unnecessary rules. Everyone was required to exit the pool to take a 15 minute "break" every 45 minutes for unknown reasons. We were told at the break that if there were more people waiting to use the pool, we would have to leave and wait for our turn again. The unfriendly lifeguard told my son he was too short to use the slide, which was the only reason I chose this hotel. Also, the pool hours were limited to 3 pm - 9 pm. I learned this after I booked it, of course within 24 hours of the stay, so I couldn't cancel, which meant I had to take personal time off work to leave town earlier in order to utilize the pool before 9 p.m. And check out time is early so it's not like we could've woke up in the morning to use the pool.
2. The website stated there was continental breakfast. There wasn't. None due to Covid. But also no discount for lack of breakfast.
3. The room they put me and my son in was near the front desk and there was a swingy–type door nearby that made a loud bang every time someone went through it. The door to our room had a good sized gap at the bottom and the tile floors did not help with the constant noise/talking from people walking down the hall.
4. The hotel was clean and newer but the neighborhood it was in was less than “nice”.
I feel ripped-off and I didn’t even get a restful sleep that night.

Read More
Read Less

No ac

By

August 03, 2020

U have to pay extra for their swimming pools
A/c do not work in either rooms I stayed in

Read More
Read Less

Awesome service

By

July 29, 2020

Easy no hassle check in. Comfortable sleeping clean rooms

Read More
Read Less

Not impressed

By

July 26, 2020

One front desk girl was very kind and helpful, the other was very rude.

The hotel website advertised complimentary pool wristbands with the booking of a room, which is why we ultimately chose to stay here instead of the connecting hotel. They didn’t honor that though and we had to pay to use to pool. This was the whole reason we came to this hotel.

The pool was so cold and both of my kids had blue lips after an hour. The kid area seemed dirty as well.

The rooms itself was clean. We only had two towels for 4 people though and had to call several times to receive more.

Finally the room was so hot. We had the fan unit set to 60 and unless you were standing right next to it you could not feel the cold air. Everyone spent the night sweaty and uncomfortable.

We will not be staying here again.

Read More
Read Less

Homeless Staying in the hotel

By

July 24, 2020

platinumelite

A lot of Homeless Staying in the hotel; I do not have nothing against that but that cause to me questioning the Hygiene of my room; the hotel shall inform this before book/ reservation

Read More
Read Less

Would avoid during the pandemic.

By

July 23, 2020

club

The room and hotel would otherwise have been great however during the pandemic you pay full price, however breakfast is NOT included ( maybe charge less or provide food voucher of some sort or provide snacks? ) and we specifically took the hotel for the pool which was the biggest joke. It is part of the hotel but I was still charged for it? Then when I got there the hot tub was closed. Then the pool was soooo cold even through kids were having fun after 10 minutes they were done. 1 shower, hot water was barely warm. Then it got soooooo busy, so much for social distancing. Major rip off when it comes to the pool.

Read More
Read Less