Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington West - Medical Park

839 Medical Center Drive , Wilmington, North Carolina 28401

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 271 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

271reviews

  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Bad stay - very stressful due to lack of Covid concerns

By

April 27, 2021

club

Arrived after 3pm and we couldn't check in. Our room wasn't ready until 5:30 pm, so we drove around Wilmington aimlessly. There was a lady on her phone in the lobby (3 feet from me), so I was forced to create a space away from her. Her lack of a Covid mask was totally ignored by the receptionist. Floors in the room have black tile from the doorway to the AC unit, I'm guessing to decrease the luggage cart wear and tear on normally existing carpet. Great idea, except that this black flooring leaves black tire residue all over your feet and/or socks. Second day in hotel, I was not given a full replacement of towels even though my old towels were all left on the floor. I had to go find a maid (who wasn't masked) to ask for a fresh shower mat. This hotel is very stingy with the towels. TV has basic cable with no Channel guide, so I never knew what I was watching or where to go to watch anything else. No paid television available all, but I guess that's to be expected for the value price. It's been a while since I stayed in a Holiday Inn, but I think I would prefer to pay a little bit more for a better stay at another chain in the future.

Read More
Read Less

Staff is professional and friendly. Clean also

By

April 25, 2021

club

Very convenient location for my business trips! Breakfast and Happy Hour are nice

Read More
Read Less

Leisure trip with family

By

April 20, 2021

club

Unfortunately myself and my daughter had a stomach bug so our time overall was miserable. But my only complaint about the hotel specifically is we just wanted to lay down. But not only was our room not ready early, it was late. They were able to do some switching around once a room became available and for that I appreciate their help. I would absolutely stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Very Pleased

By

April 19, 2021

club

Enjoyed my stay as the room was clean and bedding was comfortable. The hotel also served breakfast in what I believe to be as safe as possible during Covid.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

April 16, 2021

club

The 7-day stay started out on a bad note. Although check-in was at 3:00 p.m., we were not able to actually check in until after 8:00 p.m. We were exhausted from the drive and were looking forward to checking in and relaxing but we had to wait.

The suite itself was not really a suite. It was just a bigger room. I expected a wall between the living area and the sleeping area.

Our room keycards stopped working on the 6th day for some reason. Asked for new sheets on the 5th day but did not get them. Asked again on 6th day and while we were out, housekeeping came and cleaned our room...gave us clean sheets but took all of our hand towels.

Customer service was not good.

Read More
Read Less

Poor Experience

By

April 16, 2021

I stayed extensively at various hotel chains around the country and an elite member in many chains as with IHG. It is a rare experience.

(1) Let alone greeting me for the elite status, no one even mentioned about it while I checked in, they did not offer any gift basket nor any points

(2) I see various complaints in the review but still this hotel is continuing to provide pillows and towels for ONE person for queen bed. I never seen that anywhere else.

(3) For breakfast - one has to wait for 15 mnts to get a meagre breakfast, it's a routine not one day by accident. Even the normal foods have finished and have to be prepared when they know the hotel is full. Cinnamon rolls are served cold, no tray or box to take food to room, must during Corona time.

Looks like all for saving money

(4) While asked to extend checkout by one hour - they rudely refused saying they don't do to any one - not caring my Spire Elite status.

This hotel is damaging for the IHG branch.

Dr Sen

Read More
Read Less

Weekend Wedding Getaway

By

April 14, 2021

club

My boyfriend and I were in the area for a wedding in the area and visited this hotel. A few days prior to my stay, I called the hotel to request extra pillows and a high flor only to get there to 1 pillow per person and to find they were out of pillows . Outside of this, we were given dirty bathroom linen. Overall, the staff was wxxomodating and as this was a newer hotel the amenities were awesome. Im assuming the errors were due to it being a busy weekend.

Read More
Read Less

Did NOT enjoy our stay...

By

April 12, 2021

club

1-Bathroom shower had mold the length of the shower on the outer side
2-Pillows were mushy and thin and when we asked for extra pillows, we were told there weren't any additional pillows
3-Someone was banging on the door next to our room at 1am and it lasted for about 15 mins
4-There was a toilet brush on the floor of the elevator on the day of check out.

Read More
Read Less

Athena,

By

April 10, 2021

Staff was great from booking my reservation to our leab. I called to make changes and Layala was professional and courteous while making my change request.

When my 8 year old grandson had a spill at break, a staff member was great and assumed him all was OK. Even telling him she has made a bigger mess. The breakfast menu had plenty variety.

Read More
Read Less

New Hotel Smell

By

April 10, 2021

Clean, convenient, feels brand new. Welcoming lobby area.

Read More
Read Less

Stay at Wilmington

By

April 09, 2021

club

Nice staff, soft beds, easy room access! The front desk staff was nice, the pool was clean and it was easy parking.

Read More
Read Less

April 2021

By

April 08, 2021

club

Overall I give the property a 4 out of 5 stars. The outside and inside were very clean. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. I also have to give credit to the staff. Very polite but appeared to be understaffed and maybe overworked. I witnessed the front desk staff doing other jobs and leaving the front unattended where people were waiting.
The reason I did not give 5 stars is for; (1) Upon check in we found an almost empty roll of TP in our room AND no extra rolls. That was a trip to the front desk where I was given 1 roll and told to check back in the morning because they, "We all out.". (2) We also had 2 towels, no more, no less. That was another trip to the front desk. (3) The pool was very cloudy and a very very strong odor of chlorine. We did not even try to go in.
The staff was very good in resolving my concerns.

Read More
Read Less