Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street

20 Princes Street| Edinburgh | EH2 2AN| United Kingdom| 44-131-5564901-| Email Hotel
44-131-556490144-131-5564901-
Hotel Review
Guest Reviews
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 1094 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1094reviews

  • 5 Stars
    711
  • 4 Stars
    244
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    45
  • 1 Stars
    23

The Room was perfect

By

June 13, 2022

The room was perfect. It was very comfortable. If we had any suggestion it would be to add smart tvs so the customers can watch Netflix etc.

Read More
Read Less

Great location in Princes Street

By

June 07, 2022

club

We stayed 30/5-03/6. Saved with Senior discount. Otherwise mid-range cost compared to hotels in same area. Right opposite Waverley Station so only 5 minutes walk out of the station to the hotel. It has a lift and the lobby is up one flight of steps. Our room was a King Premium (room 202) with view across to The Balmoral Hotel, Festival Village (live music/singers were noisy until 10pm), the castle up on the hill and whole length of Princes Stress served by taxi, tram, buses and endless tour buses. Great view! Hotel was thoroughly clean and we saw cleaners everyday. The staircase was spotless. Very interesting eclectic display of paintings,prints and photos of Scottish dignitaries. Complimentary Scottish crisps, shortbread, Tunnocks chocolate bars, Tropicana orange and water plus no end of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and herbal teas. All replenished every morning. Toiletteries we’re wall mounted ‘Arran - After the Rain’ brand shower gel, shampoo, conditioner in the shower and soap & hand lotion at the sink. Small take out ‘souvenir’ Arran toiletteries were provided too. Only shower caps were provide, no other items. There are plenty of plugs at the desk, which was in a walk way behind the bed headboard area. Plugs at the beside table. Small but sufficient wardrobe (with hair drier, iron and board inside). Chest if drawers with plenty of small draw space. TV was in strange position on top if chest if drawers. Although it swivelled towards the bed/sitting area it was awkward to watch tv. So we didn’t! Bedside lamps were bright and an additional pull-out reading light was great. No newspaper delivered to room. Merely a QR code to download papers, magazines etc on a daily basis. I ended up with 30 magazines to read! No slippers or dressing gown were provided even were on the list in the information on the website. I didn’t take my own, so ended up walking round naked and had to keep the curtains shut! Staff at reception were friendly especially Marina and Linda. Linda was very knowledgeable about Edinburgh. As previously a concierge, she had organised paper street maps, which were a god-send for helping us walk about without getting lost! The restaurant for inclusive breakfast was a separate company on the 1st floor. The food was very basic and limited. As the week went on a slight variety came out. I requested Eggs Benedict with salmon from the menu everyday but there was no salmon every day! The vegetarian full Scottish was different every time I had it and the portion size differed too! Only chocolate chip and blueberry muffins until last day as we left they brought out pain au chocolate. Coffee and hot food served at the table and basic cold selection at two tables in the middle. 9 am was the busy time as most hotel guests went to breakfast at this time but there was always a table available. The staff were friendly and quite efficient but none of them seem to know what food content was and had to go and ask! I ordered mushrooms with fried eggs. 2 eggs arrived on one slice of toast and no mushrooms. Although a toaster was at the central table my eggs would have gone cold had I gone to make more toast! Had I known I would have made hit toast whilst waiting for the eggs. Hubbies poached eggs everyday were over cooked and hard. We booked Twenty for dinner on two evenings. Cocktails were nice and prices not bad. Lobster very expensive. Steak expensive. But all prices matched those if other cities in UK. The steak was top quality and melted in our mouths. The chips were nice but over cooked to crunchy! Peppercorn sauce was more peppercorn oil as very oily and liquid with no peppercorns. Cranachan was delicious but whisky infused Chantilly cream tasted bland and not at all of whisky.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful stay with the Hotel Indigo - Edinburgh.

By

May 21, 2022

platinumelite

My wife and I have never been treated better by hotel staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make our 4-day visit special. Our room was always clean, the team members were always friendly, and our daily return felt like being welcomed home. We really enjoyed our time in the restaurant and bar area! If we ever pass this way again, we will be staying here.

Read More
Read Less

Weekend Ball

By

May 21, 2022

We chose the hotel because of it's location. We had been invited to a Ball and wanted to stay near the event. The hotel is conveniently located in Princess Street, close to the Tram stops for easy travel to / from the airport. We arrived late and were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist. We can't sing her praises enough, she booked us in and helped my wife find the essentials in Edinburgh that she needed before the Ball the following evening. The room we were allocated was great. The bed was big and comfortable the room clean. There was some water, juice and biscuits, and a usable iron and ironing board. The TV was good with plenty of channels, one tip though, press 1 on the remote to get the tv to work.
The bathroom was good too. Spacious, clean and good water flow in the shower.
We only had time for breakfast at the hotel, we ate out each night. The breakfast was superb with a range of cooked and continental options.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, whether they were the cleaners, the waiters or receptionists. Thankyou all
A special thank you to Zoe, she made us both feel very welcome and helped make the weekend more enjoyable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if considering a hotel in central Edinburgh.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed

By

May 16, 2022

We are fans of the indigo hotels and we try to stay at them when available as the points or free nights are well worth it.

Read More
Read Less

A really nice stay

By

April 28, 2022

platinumelite

Every member of staff was welcoming and proficient. Everyone knew their job and did it well, relaxed and confident service everywhere.
We were made to feel valued customers without anyone fawning over us. A really warm experience.
The gin bar is a pleasant place to while away a couple of hours.
Special mention for the cooked breakfast - an absolute treat, beautifully prepared and presented.
I now wish I needed to stay in Edinburgh more often. This would be my hotel of choice. My wife was delighted with our stay.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location and Wonderfully Helpful Staff

By

April 26, 2022

We had stayed at this property previously and returned based on our enjoyment of the location and the river-view rooms. This time, in addition, we found the staff to be wonderfully friendly and helpful. We have already recommended this property to others who will be visiting Inverness and will not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit.

Read More
Read Less

Great little setup in the heart of the city

By

April 26, 2022

This hotel is very well situated right across from the Edinburgh train station right in the heart of the city. It was easy to check-in and the hotel management does the work to make you feel comfortable and welcomed. The rooms are beautiful, set in themes of literature, kept clean and updated by room cleaning staff.

Read More
Read Less

Very disappointing property--not up to IHG standards

By

April 21, 2022

platinumelite

Cheerful service staff made the Hotel Indigo a decent tourist hotel. We enjoyed our cocktail hours and dinners at the Juniper Bar and Twenty Princes Restaurant--great service and very good food. These facilities are the differentiating factor in this hotel.

However (with a capital H), be very careful about booking a room that is situated in the back of the hotel. Ours was a King Standard room. These rooms overlook an alley where the trash bins are kept. Late each evening the nearby bars dump their empty wine and beer bottles into a recycle bin. Early every morning the trash trucks, beeping in reverse, stop by to load up the recycled bottles. The crashing of the bottles is very noisy in the room even with the windows closed. So, if you're staying in the rear rooms of the hotel plan for a curtailed night's sleep. And don’t go back into the alley to look at the mess, you won’t like what you see.

The front rooms of the hotel overlook the busy Princes Street, which might also be noisy with the outdoor bars across the street. This would undoubtedly be better than the rear rooms. Be aware that the hotel is very old and not outfitted with the whistles and bells of new hotel renovations. Our room looked nothing like the website pictures. Dim interior lighting, long staircases, older retro furniture were offset by a spacious room and a nicely renovated but poorly-designed bathroom. The lavatory, faucet, and rainfall shower guarantee that you’ll be inadvertently drizzling a lot of water onto the floor and the toilet paper roll.

An added “plus” was that housekeeping was irregular. The bedding, pillows and towels were wonderful, but on two of the five nights of our stay the housekeeping staff didn’t bother to clean our room or replace towels. This was despite our request for daily housekeeping service.

I think there are problems with the management of this hotel. Reading back through a number of of other travel guide ratings, these are not new problems here and they haven’t been resolved. With some competent management effort, interior lighting can be enhanced, housekeeping service can be significantly improved, and working with the rubbish company and neighboring bars the alley noise and cleanliness can be resolved.

The website pictures are very misleading. They do not accurately reflect the room quality that the guest will receive.

All that said, the hotel is in a great location in Edinburgh's New Town. Across the street from the Waverly Station rail hub of Edinburgh. Bus lines and Hop-on-Hop-offs are nearby. Were it not for the noise problem, this tourist hotel would get a higher rating.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

February 27, 2022

club

Stayed here for 2 nights for a special occasion. Second time we have Stayed here. The staff were brilliant and helped to make our stay even more special with Prosecco and chocolates when they found out we were celebrating. The hotel is well placed for sightseeing,shopping, eating and drinking. Opposite the train station and plenty buses right outside the door. Rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated unfortunately the air conditioning was on the blink but the staff were quick to provide a heater. The rooms at the front have great views of the city but can be a bit noisy due to traffic noise and the sounds of a busy city. Didn't affect our stay. Great hotel, reasonably priced for the location and amenities but it's the staff that makes this our favourite place to stay in Edinburgh

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel in a perfect location

By

December 17, 2021

club

We chose this hotel as we had stayed at another Indigo hotel and we were definitely not disappointed. It doesn’t look that much from the outside but the staff were really helpful, our room was very comfortable and well kept on a daily basis. There is a nice bar and restaurant. It was a nice touch that there was water, orange juice and a few nibbles left complimentary in the room. We would definitely recommend and would certainly stay here again in the future.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly, welcoming staff. Attractive decor and relaxing atmosphere.zas ys

By

December 13, 2021

As always, we were made very welcome by the staff, many of whom remembered us from previous visits. The decor is very attractive and comfortable. Very well stocked hospitality tray in the room and bathroom toiletries much appreciated. Breakfast was excellent with an amazing choice of menu. We had dinner on the three nights of our stay and it was delicious each time. My only reservation would be that a wider choice of menu could be available, perhaps some chicken dishes, or a wider variety of fish dishes.Much as we enjoyed the steaks, it would have been nice to have more variety.

Read More
Read Less