Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo South

6701 Hollywood Road , Amarillo, Texas 79119

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 835 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

835reviews

  • 5 Stars
    533
  • 4 Stars
    156
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    43
  • 1 Stars
    42

Great service and comfortable space

By

September 11, 2020

club

Even though they were in the middle of renovating they still made the hotel comfortable and had amazing service. There is no continental breakfast due to COVID-19 but they had prepackaged a to go bag for every guest as you check out. I would stay here again!

Read More
Read Less

Front desk was great

By

September 09, 2020

platinumelite

Upon our arrival we discovered that the hotel was under going a total remodel. A bit concerned Dee the front desk manager offered to cancel our reservations and make reservations at another HIE across town. After a bit of discussion we elected to remain and was provided a newly remodeled room. Dee was great and has earned a compliment from the owner. Thanks

Read More
Read Less

Currently being renovated

By

September 08, 2020

platinumelite

First, the room we had did not have a bathtub so that didn't thrill my wife. Second, due to the Covid situation there is no breakfast buffet which is disappointing to me because I love the pancakes. They do give out small bags with water, a blueberry muffin (which I don't like) and a chocolate chip granola bar. It's not the hotel's fault, but one of the main reasons I book HIE is to get a hot breakfast.
The room itself was decent and the staff was very nice and helpful. I would probably stay there again but would prefer not to have all of the renovation mess sitting around.

Read More
Read Less

Amarillo Holiday Inn Express

By

September 06, 2020

club

Great place to stay. Friendly Staff and comfortable rooms. Would recommend them highly.

Read More
Read Less

Huge disappointment

By

August 27, 2020

platinumelite

There was very little that we liked about our stay. We were booked to be there for 3 nights but left after one night and found a different hotel. Trying to get to the hotel is quite a difficult process. We chose this hotel because we stayed there several years ago and it was really nice. However none of that is the case anymore. The website's first picture shows an inside pool. We had our six year old grandson and the pool was an absolute necessity. Upon arrival at 9pm we found out that the pool is closed. They blame it on Covid but we have been staying at hotels all over Texas (a different hotel brand) and the pools are open. There was nothing on the website about the pool not being available. Next our room was under construction. There was raw wood nailed on the wall. We were so disappointed because we were there due to a death in the family. We had driven 9 hours and were exhausted but we had to move the next morning to where a pool was available.

Read More
Read Less

Experience

By

August 25, 2020

club

Nice recent updating of rooms and lobby, although not yet complete. Some rooms don’t yet have complete furnishings. And, of course, the breakfast bar has not yet been reestablished. It is still a sack breakfast upon departure.

Read More
Read Less

Staff friendly and clean room beware of remodeling and noise.

By

August 24, 2020

platinumelite

The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. I am glad they are remodeling but I would have like to have known this prior to check-in. Only one entrance and you have to drive a bit out of your way to get to it. I had no access to the pool, a workout area, and my room was very outdated and quite creepy. I was woken up by banging above the second floor at 8 AM. I had two nights booked but I was locked out of my room after returning the first afternoon. They only saw one night booked. No one called my cell phone to check with me. On the upside, if I were dead in my room, they would have known because they entered my room looking for me. They finally saw my other reservation for the second night.
This will be a nice hotel once it is done being remodeled. I would not stay in an odd number room that faces the freeway because it is very loud. I might stay here again because of the friendliness of the staff, clean rooms, and only after they are done remodeling.

Read More
Read Less

Overnight stay while traveling in Texas

By

August 19, 2020

The hotel is in a good location very convenient to everything you would need. The hotel is currently being remodeled. The drawback for all hotels right now is that there is no breakfast and this hotel offered nothing to go either.

Read More
Read Less

Under Construction

By

August 13, 2020

club

Undoubtedly, this location is staffed by very good people. However, the location is undergoing a complete remodel with new equipment and accoutrements stacked everywhere. It is a great location - easy on or off the nearby freeway - but I’d avoid this property until the remodel is complete.

Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay

By

August 12, 2020

platinumelite

The rooms were clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Very convenient location

Read More
Read Less

Will stay again once remodel is over

By

August 05, 2020

I have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed it. So on this trip, naturally I picked the same location. This time, they were doing some remodeling. That, in itself, would have been ok. But the people moving in/out furniture picked the most inconvenient times to do so and they were occupying the elevator at the busiest times.

Staff is always great here.

Breakfast is lacking. I understand the Covid issues and safety but having a selection to choose from would be nice. Or having staff on hand to package hot breakfast

Read More
Read Less

Filthy Hotel

By

August 03, 2020

platinumelite

The whole building was dirty and had a fowl smell. Hair in bathtub and on mirror. Rust in bathtub. Could not see out the windows they were so dirty. Carpet throughout the building is disgusting, Built up grime around windows.

Read More
Read Less