Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Wakefield

Queen Street , Wakefield, WF1 1JU

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 972 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

972reviews

  • 5 Stars
    568
  • 4 Stars
    269
  • 3 Stars
    75
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    25

Great location

By

July 28, 2021

Stopped here for night out great cheap hotel with great location

Read More
Read Less

Tired hotel in need of refurbishment

By

July 25, 2021

Poor overall experience starting with reception informing me at check in the no food would be available in the evening because the chef had tested positive for C-19. (Really wondering how the hotel remained open?).
Room was warm even with air con (which was less than adequate in blowing cold air).
Bathroom had not been properly serviced with empty soap dispenser).
Sadly this is becoming all too familiar with IHG hotels where there are a large number of their hotels that need refurbishment. I have been a loyal member of the hotel group since the nineties but I am seriously beginning to think I need a change.

Read More
Read Less

Visiting families

By

July 25, 2021

I came from south and my sons live in Yorkshire. Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to enable me to see my sons and their family. The hotel was very clean and neat. Normally on 1st night we didn't sleep well but the next night we went to sleep straightaway till the next morning - what a great night.
There were plenty of choices for breakfast.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent service, brilliant staff

By

July 22, 2021

I rebooked in this hotel as I thoroughly enjoyed my first stay there in December when collecting my son from Uni during the lockdown. I can not state how lovely and friendly the staff are, nothing was too much trouble, food was very good and room lovely and clean and bright and made a very enjoyable stay visiting my son in July. I'm double jabbed but with my blood cancer I am still clinically extremely vulnerable and I felt very safe and protected. Huge thank you to all the staff there from the cleaners, chef and just every member of staff especially the girls on reception xx

Read More
Read Less

Consistently high standard

By

July 22, 2021

Stay here regularly, staff always friendly and efficient. Good value for money for a city centre property, just a short walk (2 mins) from bars and restaurants.

Read More
Read Less

Never again

By

July 21, 2021

This was a very disappointing experience. The staff although pleasent.seemed very inexperienced and not very well trained.
I. Suppose I should have taken.more care when booking but I.had booked elsewhere but the hotel.hsf decided not to.open and as I had already booked my train and the 2 attractions I was visiting. I had to. Book.my hotel quickly.
I.will not be booking a Holiday Inn Express Hotel. In future

Read More
Read Less

Simple, clean, excellent value

By

July 18, 2021

Great value, nice room with plenty of amenities, excellent Wi-Fi, nice bathroom, extra essentials available for free if forgotten. Highly recommended.

Read More
Read Less

Recommended

By

July 11, 2021

platinumelite

All has been answered within the questions, friendly staff, very clean hotel, good location to Wakefield city centre even if in a slightly downtrodden area.
I watched the supervisor checking very closely the bar usages, was very impressed with her professionalism and the way that she dealt with her staff!
As a long-standing IHG platinum ambassador customer I will go back!!

Read More
Read Less

Lovely stay

By

July 10, 2021

Stayed for 1 night whilst visiting family. Lovely hotel, clean room, spacious and close to all amenities.
Car park very small, but other chargeable parking nearby.

Read More
Read Less

Wakefield holiday inn

By

July 03, 2021

Clean rooms. Bathroom very clean. Good water pressure in shower. Friendly and efficient reception staff.
Mattress very soft only critique

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and centrally located hotel

By

July 01, 2021

club

The hotel is situated in the centre of the City so it convenient for shops, restaurants and local transport connections.

The rooms are modern and comfortable with a very smart bathroom in particular.

The breakfast options were very good, especially at weekends with a full breakfast option available.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The only problem was the wi-fi, I could not access it at all during my stay, despite being able to connect at other places outside of the hotel during my stay.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel with free parking in town centre

By

July 01, 2021

On arriving at hotel which is centrally located in town centre we found it was with free parking for residents.
Hotel booking in was easy and covid rules were clearly explained and visibility.
Room was great with new bathroom, TV and kettle in room. Bed comfortable and adequate towels.
Food at breakfast had a great choice of continental and choice of bacon or sausage sandwich/bap/barm.

Read More
Read Less