Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
More Fewer Options

* Indicates a Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Indicates a Required Field

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Indicates a Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.6

based on 648 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

648reviews

  • 5 Stars
    497
  • 4 Stars
    105
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    9

Great stay

By

February 17, 2020

platinumelite

I stay here whenever I'm in town,this is a lovely hotel right in the heart of Christchurch,the staff are very helpful and so friendly it makes any visit a joy,i would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through

Read More
Read Less

Never again - room dire

By

February 15, 2020

platinumelite

Good day Mr Eulink,

I’m guessing my previous e-mail to Mr.Dale (see below) hasn’t been passed through to you. Clearly he feels it doesn’t warrant your attention however I believe that it does. One would suggest that you have not read our review on your own website after we received your ‘standard’ hotel response.
With Christchurch really making a big push for the tourist dollar in recent times to reestablish itself as a visitors mecca, I strongly suggest that certain aspects of staying at the Crown Plaza needs to be addressed.
Our initial welcome to your establishment was utterly woeful and dismissive and I feel quite incensed by it. As for the room we stayed in, it was really lacking in space and with two people in residence, it was rather claustrophobic.
On the plus side, the staff in the restaurant both the breakfast and dinner crew were outstanding. The food was ‘up there’ as one would expect from a IHG hotel. The ease of parking was excellent and check out was efficient.
In the 20+ years I have been a IHG member, this is undoubtedly and sadly been the worst review I have written and I would sincerely hope that it will be my last.
Please refer to my original survey.

A McClurg
450404134

Read More
Read Less

Very nice upscale hotel

By

February 15, 2020

club

Very nice upscale hotel, conveniently located in Central Christchurch. Easy walking to restaurants and attractions. Stylish, thoughtful rooms. Great view from the 13th floor. I loved the glass shower which let in natural light. Friendly, pleasant, efficient staff. Convenient lot parking right next door.

Read More
Read Less

Top quality staff, and rooms in central location

By

February 14, 2020

platinumelite

Had another lovely stay. The staff are always so welcoming and helpful. Very comfortable bed and great views of Canterbury sunset from 16th floor

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and very helpful staff.

By

February 14, 2020

platinumelite

Many thanks to Jess from Marketing for arranging our long term stay. Flynn and Jerney along with the rest of front desk were always very helpful. Jaymes at the bar always had a smile on his face, as well did the dining room staff. The only negative was there is no executive lounge available to work with colleagues, which is almost essential for long term guests.
The room was always clean and well prepared, comfortable bed and the fruit left on occasions was a nice surprise. Thanks again to all the staff at the Crowne Plaza Christchurch.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location

By

February 13, 2020

platinumelite

Central location and easy walking to botanical gardens, cathedral, other sights of interest. Good bar lounge and friendly staff. King room comfortable

Read More
Read Less

Poor Christchurch experience

By

February 12, 2020

platinumelite

Go for an evening meal or even a scrumptious breakfast but as for staying overnight, when you do finally get checked in, be prepared to stay in the smallest hotel room ever. Our previous stay in Christchurch at the Crown Plaza was over 12 years ago and is still fresh in our minds for positive reasons. Sadly the Crown Plaza has taken a old office block and tried to turn it into a IHG satisfactory hotel that has sadly fallen well short.
This would have to be the worst review I have ever posted about an IHG hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location

By

February 09, 2020

club

Excellent location within 10 mins level walk if city centre. Good rooms if bathrooms a little small. Good buffet breakfast.

Read More
Read Less

Unprepared to handle emergencies during the night

By

February 09, 2020

Let me make this clear. This is an exceptional hotel. The only reason I did not give the service and staff 5 stars was because of the emergency incident that happened to us at 1:15am one morning during our stay. All hotel guests were woken by a loud alarm that asked us to evacuate the building immediately. We had to immediately dress and leave our room and descend from level 16 to the ground floor. During our descent, there was no communication or any individual to guide us to where we needed to go. Luckily, the guests were civil and orderly and there was no stampede to rush out of the hotel. By the time we made it outside, we all stood there confused and concerned and we saw one fire truck parked outside. When we saw the fire truck leave, we then made our own decision to walk back into the hotel to our room. There was no staff to explain to us what happened or what we should do next.

This hotel was woefully unprepared for this type of emergency at night and it concerns me if this wasn’t a false alarm. I was told the next day when I asked the porter what happened that they only had 3 staff on duty that night and they never prepared for an emergency response during the wee hours of the morning.

For a hotel from IHG of this category and reputation, I was shocked from his response and it made me reconsider the readiness of IHG’s properties around the globe to handle emergencies of this kind. I’ve been a loyal IHG Royal Ambassador and Ambassador member for many years and I expected better from IHG on their emergency readiness to handle situations like this.

IHG, please get your act together to keep your hotel guests safe. This incident was fortunate in that it was a false alarm but what if it wasn’t a false alarm? It’s possible I wouldn’t be around to give this review right now.

I am seriously considering whether I will stay at another IHG property after this incident.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

February 07, 2020

Great location and truly excellent staff, especially James the Barman, Flynn the Duty Manager and the lovely ladies in the restaurant at Breakfast every morning.

Read More
Read Less

很不错的酒店

By

February 04, 2020

platinumelite

地理位置方便,周边环境优美,停车收费贵了点,第二次入住停公共停车场了。

Read More
Read Less

Convienent, well appointed hotel in Christchurch

By

January 29, 2020

platinumelite

Well located hotel with friendly staff. It is within walking distance of most of Christchurch’s city centre attractions.

Read More
Read Less