Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 880 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

880reviews

  • 5 Stars
    443
  • 4 Stars
    281
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    36

Business Stay

By

June 28, 2021

club

Stayed for two day meeting at head office,
Hotel staff were attentive and friendly, my room was clean and i had a great night slepp

Read More
Read Less

Great stay... except at berakfast

By

June 26, 2021

Greta value for money. Very friendly check in. Efficient. Good Covid precautions. Great dinner. Duty Manager great sorting out a minor issue

I do object to being addressed as "boss" by the young man on duty at breakfast. Even though there was no one else in the restaurant at breakfast when I went in he told me i was not allowed to sit at the table I wanted "because it was for 4 people" (despite being given this table at dinner the night before as a solo traveller!)

Read More
Read Less

Little gem of a place

By

June 18, 2021

platinumelite

The standard of this hotel is what you would expect from IHG, however I must add that the staff were polite, welcoming and very professional.
Nothing really to add, as you can't fix something that isn't broken.
Lovely Hotel.

Read More
Read Less

glad to be back

By

June 15, 2021

platinumelite

Obviously we haven't been anywhere for sometime. Wth the regulations we were a little concerned. We didn't need to be. This hotel was fantastic. Ok bedrooms and the decoration are a little tired, but this is more than made up for by how efficent, pleasant, hardworking, helpful and generally nice staff team. We had 3 excellent nights, well looked after and also we felt completely safe.

Many thanks for all your service.

Read More
Read Less

Lees hotel review

By

June 14, 2021

Staff superb from the moment I arrived till I left, always happy to help,food great, covid19 restrictions top marks, spotless room ,I don't travel abroad as don't have a passport ,never appealed to me ,I only travel within UK for visiting friends and work reasons,car parking is great at holiday Inns where parking is available ,bar service fantastic at Basingstoke , definitely will visit again, thanks

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable overnight stay

By

June 10, 2021

Very clean room and very friendly helpful staff, particularly Sarah on reception

Read More
Read Less

Good stay

By

June 09, 2021

club

Would recommend this hotel to others as rooms, food, staff all very good.

Read More
Read Less

Overnight stay for business Overnight stay for business

By

June 06, 2021

club

Overnight stay for business Overnight stay for business

Read More
Read Less

Friendly helpful staff and good value

By

June 02, 2021

We recently stayed in the Holiday Inn Basingstoke and were pleasantly surprised with the whole experience. The room was well laid out with all mod cons including small fridge, there was a mini-mart next door and it was a pretty walk through gardens into town.
The only thing that let it down was (1) despite the bar advertising several draft beers only one lager was available and the staff had been told the other makes were out of stock which was clearly untrue. and (2) the restaurant was Spartan and food unappetising. I had a croissant for breakfast which was soggy after quick heat in microwave.

Read More
Read Less

Stay in a tent rather than here

By

May 29, 2021

This is a worn out, stinking example of a mid century hotel. It smells of cigarettes, has very small rooms, awful decor and an appalling food and drinks offer. It’s like going back to the 1980s in almost every respect but with the added joy of of 40 years of use.

Staff to be fair were nice but they are seriously let down by this property.

If I had my tent, I’d have slept in the car park.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday inn

By

May 26, 2021

Very helpful staff. Good car parking. Locality very good and easy to get to.

Read More
Read Less

blame covid

By

May 24, 2021

platinumelite

I checked in and although I am a Platinum member, could not get an upgrade as apparently ALL of the business rooms were being updated? I saw no signs of any works over 3 days. Then according to the letter given to me upon check in, my room was to be serviced daily as I was staying more than one night. After I came back from being out for the first day my room had not been touched even though I put the please clean sign up. I went to reception and told they only come in after 5 days!! They offered me a towel, yes one. Why bother giving me a "welcome" letter upon check in telling me what was happening with house keeping and then not following it. Also I ate in the restaurant on the first night. My egg was not cooked and I could see through it, my steak was supposed to be medium/well was rare and bloody (this put me off) and my cumberland sausage appeared to have been microwaved to within an inch of catching fire as it was crunchy! I suppose this means you can blame COVID but still charge top dollar for a poor service. My check in lady and the restaurant staff were extremely helpful, unfortunately this does not offset the issues.

Read More
Read Less