Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1088 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1088reviews

  • 5 Stars
    589
  • 4 Stars
    318
  • 3 Stars
    98
  • 2 Stars
    48
  • 1 Stars
    35

Weekend Away

By

November 25, 2021

Great location to visit Derby central to all interests

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn, Derby bus station

By

November 21, 2021

club

Super convenient for travel by public transport. Cheap and quick bus from the train station. But, there wasn't clear signage to find the entrance despite it being sat on top of the bus station.

Bed was spacious, clean and I had a great night of sleep. Gym was okay. Breakfast was also okay.

Close to the now tired Derby city centre for food and entertainment in the evening.

Read More
Read Less

Brief visit

By

November 17, 2021

club

Only there for one night but definitely use again if the situation arose

Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel but food was poor

By

November 14, 2021

The hotel was a typical holiday Inn. It was clean and comfortable. I ordered room service and the chicken burger I received was terrible. It comprised of a bun, said she chicken nuggets. They had run out of ketchup and it was very dry.

Read More
Read Less

Average

By

November 10, 2021

club

Nice clean hotel and quiet
View out of window zero. Sleep quality terrible due to a saggy mattresses
Moved room bed 50% better
Got woken up at 5.30am by alot of noise from what I think was the A/C unit and the same noise at 7am
Breakfast was average
First and last time at any holiday Inn
As I was looking for a quality brake for my wifes birthday

Read More
Read Less

Very uncomfortable bed but good locations

By

November 09, 2021

club

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Riverlights, Derby on Friday 5th November 2021 however, we were extremely disappointed with the quality of the bed in room 215. The bed has clearly seen better days and needs replacing. We were there just 1 night and got there late, so really our stay was mainly to get some sleep. Unfortunately, the bed has a big dip in the middle resulting in a really uncomfortable night which meant that we were very tired the next day.

As an IHG member, this was disappointing and we expect much higher quality from your hotels. Please could someone look at the bed and replace it? We don't know if we were unlucky or if all the beds are like this.

Read More
Read Less

Average City Hotel

By

October 24, 2021

club

City centre location, but overall this hotel experience is very basic. There is nothing special here which will encourage me to book it again for my next stay in Derby.

Read More
Read Less

Just not what you expect

By

October 18, 2021

club

I have visited several Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express locations, unfortunately, the Derby one was the worst one. The reception is not really representative. The way to the rooms is weird, the air in the corridor not fresh. The room was ok, although the matras was too soft for me. Breakfast was rather basic. Staff rather inexperienced.

Read More
Read Less

Business stay

By

October 15, 2021

Great location within the city centre and close to public transport links.

Read More
Read Less

Good but expected better.

By

October 06, 2021

club

Good hotel. Clean overall. Friendly staff. Convenient city centre location. Our room was quiet (3rd floor, river facing) - don't know if other rooms look onto bus station next door however. Good parking discount. Not scored as high as it could. Didn't like used beer glass outside room door on our arrival (despite being assured it would be removed, was still there when we retired for the night). Only 1 tissue in box - were promised replenishment plus more milk - neither ever arrived. The most handled item, the TV remote, could have been cleaned (another hotel chain does). And personally, I would like the choice of fried as well as scrambled egg for breakfast. First attempt to post barred for so called 'inappropriate language' - successfully posted when I deleted a competitor's name!

Read More
Read Less

Short Break

By

September 27, 2021

platinumelite

I have stayed here many times happily, but it is just getting worse. This stay involved a not very co-operative receptionist, a bar that doesn't open until 5pm - but you can pay for drinks to be delivered to your room any time you like!! Who goes on a short break to sit in their rooms?
The room was sparse with no table to put a cup of tea on and it was extremely noisy. The situation was so bad that we came home after 1 night cancelling our second night.
There was also no soap in the bathroom, not a good thing, especially these days. I was told there was a supply problem. But they are in a city, surely they could have gone shopping.
By far my worst stay I will not be returning for some time, if ever. I am looking at accommodation elsewhere in Derby, as I like Derby. I always give this hotel a good review, but always an honest one. I am sorry this one is not good, but it is honest and they know that.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful experience- great staff

By

September 24, 2021

club

The staff were so friendly and attentive, the room was great. I really couldn't have wanted more. Highly recommend!

Read More
Read Less