Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 1247 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1247reviews

  • 5 Stars
    596
  • 4 Stars
    358
  • 3 Stars
    146
  • 2 Stars
    93
  • 1 Stars
    54

smelly room, absent room service, non-flushing toilet

By

June 28, 2021

as title suggests, not much positive to say about my stay here apart from perhaps the breakfast which was acceptable.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing staff

By

June 28, 2021

platinumelite

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel thanks to the friendly, helpful and professional staff. In particular the managers Christy and Adam, bar staff and Sue at breakfast went the extra mile to ensure that I had an enjoyable stay. Covid rules are strictly adhered to and I felt safe at all times. The hotel has a lovely garden and is close to many leisure facilities and places to eat. If I am ever in Basildon again I will be sure to stay at this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

tired

By

June 28, 2021

platinumelite

Hotel is tired and in need of a refit, staff experience was mixed, some lovely and others dismissive

Read More
Read Less

Great Service Staff so helpful

By

June 22, 2021

Just so nice to deal with all at Basildon and so easy to book and stay

Read More
Read Less

Business Trip

By

June 14, 2021

club

Good location for the hotel, lots of amenities nearby.Room was very spacious. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Read More
Read Less

Left breakfast on floor

By

June 10, 2021

Found breakfast after half an hour on the floor as I did not hear door knock whilst taking shower. So they left it for anyone to tamper with in this day and age ..they offered me another breakfast and then when home discovered they charged me for coffee they had offered me
This was poor customer care and then to charge me added insult to injury and no apology or anything yet feel leaving food on a dirty floor is OK far from happy and never had this at any other holiday inn. Poor service. Even videos this as I opened door someone eating some of the food

Read More
Read Less

Staff go above and beyond

By

June 09, 2021

club

Loved our stay. Staff helped us out and was very good with my boys and ourselves. Food and service amazing and staff in reception and bar was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Thankyou we will be back soon.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel great staff

By

June 09, 2021

club

All the staff were so amazing on arrival to leaving. Sue and Michelle at breakfast time were fantastic hosts kept us laughing were very attentive and such fun. I would say one thing slightly negative, the hotel needs brightening up in the corridors looks tired and the rooms need a revamp as they look tired also. But saying that I loved our stay and the large garden space at the rear of the hotel is such a great place to relax in the mornings and evenings with your drink. The food is good at the bar, a little pricey but when you’ve travelled and you’re starving you don’t care! Breakfast upstairs in the conservatory has everything you really need to start your day with a Michelle and Sue thrown in to make your breakfast experience memorable!! So with that I highly recommend

Read More
Read Less

Bed in double room very comfortable

By

June 06, 2021

A long time since last stay and this one during Covid-19 rules. Felt very safe although preferred walking up stairs rather than use the small lift. Staff at breakfast were very good although being May bank holiday, they were a little understaffed and it was a challenge keeping beverage counter topped up and clean, the latter primarily because the clean/dirty 'teaspoon system' wasn't followed by guests. On the non weekend days though it was quiet and the staff coped very well and were very polite and efficient.

One negative point was that it clearly stated everywhere that the bar lounge would be open till 10.30pm 7 days a week. We got to the bar at 10.10pm on the Sunday to be told that it closed at 10pm and that the signs were incorrect. We had been served up to 10.30pm on the other days.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

June 02, 2021

club

Great location ......staff friendly and helpful ...room was spotless and shower was powerful

Read More
Read Less

Issues with food

By

May 30, 2021

platinumelite

Really enjoyed my ten weeks of staying at the hotel but too many issues with mistakes with breakfast orders, mine we wrong at least once a week and sometimes more but as stated we are living in trying times at the moment and staff were working as best as they could

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

May 25, 2021

Room: Bath drain disgustingly dirty, large stain on carpet floor, red stain on bed sheet, desk chair broken (had to ask for a replacement), direct links to restaurant etc on phone disabled, pillows uncomfortable; exec room, but no mini-bar or bath robes.
Service: generally staff were nice (particularily though in the breakfast restaurant - couldn't fault them at all, very friendly and helpful), but reception staff not very helpful, including the manager (!) when I enquired about the 20% discount on food and drink that is advertsied when you pay for the room on-line. Neither of them new whether this was on offer or not and declined to provide it - they said they would check and get back to me - neither did!
I have stayed at the Holiday Inn in Southend - very different and better experience.

Read More
Read Less