Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 814 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

814reviews

  • 5 Stars
    389
  • 4 Stars
    279
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    41
  • 1 Stars
    22

Chester Race Course

By

February 26, 2017

Very good location, excellent staff and well appointed

Read More
Read Less

Under renovations

By

February 24, 2017

club

Definitely in need of a spruce up! But can see the areas where improvements have been made. Could be done with the choice of pilllow firmness as described as both were as flat as pancakes! Good location.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

February 23, 2017

club

Can't deny the location is great which is what this hotel has going for it (apart from the train track very close by) it is a very short walk in to Chester town centre. Room was average, bed wasn't very comfortable, but the power shower was amazing! I had a shower before bed and felt like I had just had a massage, felt very relaxed afterwards.

Breakfast was very nice for what was on offer, bit surprised at the lack of variety with the cooked food, just two types of sausage (both were really nice), baked beans, and scrambled eggs. Pastries, cereal, and toast were on offer too. Luckily we went down quite early, the member of staff there seemed more interested in Match of the Day on the TVs, but it was very quiet. We checked out at around 9:30am and the place was packed so we were thankful we had gone down earlier.

Posted byHotelStaff
February 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our brand standard breakfast, unlike our sister hotel Holiday Inn who charge extra for a full English breakfast, however we are adding bacon to the brand standard breakfast being rolled out later this year. I am also sorry to hear that you did not experience our usual high standards of customer service and will be taking the relevant action regarding this. Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience a newly refurbished room with new bed. Kind regards Lucy Hammond Revenue and Sales Executive
Read More
Read Less

Lovely refurbishment

By

February 22, 2017

club

Hotel rooms have had a lovely refurbishment at this hotel. We were mad very welcome and had a relaxing time as always. Stayed at this hotel a few times. Only problem is work men did wake us but wasn't a major problem. X

Read More
Read Less

Clean comfortable room and lovely breakfast

By

February 22, 2017

club

This hotel is in a great location for the town centre, it's clean comfortable, has everything you need. The breakfast is lovely with great choice. I would recommend it.
My only niggles about the stay, ( and I don't class them as anything major) are, the fire alarm went off twice during our stay ( I presume possibly people smoking in rooms) there was no sugar in the room for the tea, there was a horrible smell in the corridor outside our room. The bed was not the most comfortable, but then I am particular about beds. I still think it was a good quality for the price, and would stay again.

Read More
Read Less

good overnight stay

By

February 22, 2017

club

would certainly go back to this hotel. staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. tiny thing was that the batteries in remote control were done.
had workmen outside our room and in the adjoining room early in the morning.
Didn't spoil our stay though.

Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

February 22, 2017

club

This hotel is a great location if you are attending a function at the Racecourse. Adequate parking, friendly staff and recently refurbished rooms. Will stay again when the need arises.
There was some external noise (a low hum) but thoughtfully, ear plugs are provided in your room

Read More
Read Less

Recommended

By

February 21, 2017

club

Our room was excellent, clean and comfortable; the bathroom shower was particularly good. This would have been one of the refurbished rooms. The hotel was excellently situated only 5 minutes from the town centre and very easy to find. Staff were friendly and efficient. Car parking was good. We also took advantage of the 10% discount at the White Horse Inn on the Racecourse, which was very good. We will certainly use this hotel again when visiting our son at the university, although it would be expensive for more than one night.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

February 21, 2017

club

Good base for Romantic weekend away for birthday Chester has several excellent Restaurants

Read More
Read Less

Recommended

By

February 20, 2017

club

Our stay was unfaultable from beginning to end. Could not recommend more highly.

Read More
Read Less

Great loocation for Chester

By

February 20, 2017

club

An excellent hotel for Chester, have stayed many times on business, now retired and enjoying life.

Read More
Read Less

Stay at Chester Racecourse

By

February 19, 2017

No problem stay only down side is that some of the staff could do with a course in customer relationship management

Read More
Read Less