Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.7

based on 1590 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1590reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1223
  • 4 Stars
    259
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    22

Housekeeping

By

July 02, 2022

club

We stayed at this hotel last year and everything was wonderful. This year, not the same. There were no towels in one room and the other room had 1 bath towel for two adults and one child and looked liked it hadn't been fully cleaned.
Also there was a partial used toilet paper roll and no extra roll in the bathroom. As a result one of the rooms ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night.
The pool had stuff floating in it and looked like it needed a cleaning, which was disappointing. We didn't go into the pool, but let the kids use the splash portion.
The staff was excellent and we like the location, however, when we go to Waterloo next year, I would have to rethink, booking this hotel again, which is unfortunate.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable Beds and Good Service

By

June 28, 2022

After a night of dancing at a nearby family wedding, it was nice to go back to a hotel that was clean and comfortable for a good night's sleep.

Read More
Read Less

IHG Review

By

June 27, 2022

This is the first time we have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, having been in
Saint Jacobs many times before at a different hotel.
We were pleasantly surprised at the lovely rooms. We brought our daughter and son in law
for a two day get away, and they were very happy with the hotel. The staff put us in rooms
across from each other which we liked.

Read More
Read Less

Lacrosse weekend

By

June 27, 2022

Stayed for a lacrosse weekend tournament. Room was clean and quiet for sleeping. Location was perfect for finding things to do while killing time. Everyone was very friendly. The pool closed at 10pm which was not ideal as we didn't get back from our late game until 9:30 ish. We had to book time in the pool which required a little more planning but everything went well considering.

Read More
Read Less

Nice property

By

June 20, 2022

Nice property in Kitchener, close to highway access and local amenities.
Friendly staff. Good part of town not too busy.

Read More
Read Less

charging money in lieu of rewards night

By

June 17, 2022

I was unable to get to my reservation for 2 nights because of last minute changes in the schedule of the organization that I was going to the location for. I was informed that I was within 24 hours...and thus, lost the points I had used for a rewards night stay. They also kept the rewards points for the second night.
Then....after the weekend, I received an invoice for charges for real money for a rewards points stay.

I was driving to a new location because of a change of venue. Had I known that, it would be silly that I could stop into the hotel, check in, then check out....cancel the second night....and that would have been fine???

Instead...I have lost the rewards points for 2 nights of stays that never happened AND I got charged the regular room rate for one night --- even though the reward night should cover that.

They state :
We do understand that sometimes there are unexpected changes. However, as per the terms and conditions of your IHG Rewards Night reservation here at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, guests who do not cancel their reservation by the cancellation deadline will be subject to a no-show charge equivalent for the first night of the reservation, plus tax, per room, billed to the credit card used to guarantee the reservation upon booking.

This quote is the standard line for when you do not cancel within 24 hours. Since it was booked with reward points, I fully expect to lose those points....

But...to take the reward points for BOTH nights AND charge the room. That is the same as charging for the first night twice AND keeping the reward points for the second night even though I was informing them 24 hours before regarding cancelling the second night.

So if I had gone out my way to stop in for 5 minutes, all would have been fine and I would not have been charged for the one night?

I am diamond elite, a frequent traveller, and direct hundreds of business rewards nights to IHG. This response is underwhelming.

Read More
Read Less

Good location excellent service.

By

June 15, 2022

The hotel was clean, front desk staff efficient and friendly. My experience at the hotel is what I expected when I book at a Holiday Inn. Great location close to all the local amenties.

Read More
Read Less

Clean, modern hotel that is well run.

By

May 26, 2022

We enjoyed everything about our experience at this hotel. One of the better of this brand.

Read More
Read Less

Another wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Express

By

May 20, 2022

club

This was the first time we have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express in St. Jacobs. We love the St. Jacob's markets and the whole area. When we arrived, Diana checked us in and because we were IHG members we were given an upgraded room! The room was clean and very comfortable. The facilities were clean and open for use. I had a problem connecting my IPhone to the hotel wifi and "Sean" at the front desk called support and was able to get me connected! Breakfast was hot and good and the lady coordinating the breakfast area was the best!! The whole staff were great! We had a wonderful relaxing stay and will be returning in the fall!

Read More
Read Less

Another wonderful stay!

By

May 20, 2022

club

We decided to travel to the States from Ontario to see our kids for the first time since Covid hit. We stayed 3 nights at a major chain hotel in Hamilton NJ. It took us an hour to check in. The first 2 rooms had a broken closet doors, broken sinks in the bathroom, dirty floors and dirty dishes (king suite) The 3rd room was clean. We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Watertown many times and we have NEVER had a room that wasn't acceptable, staff is ALWAYS pleasant, rooms clean and comfortable. This is my "go to" hotel in Watertown, NY!!

Read More
Read Less

Not up to brand standard. Needs renovation

By

April 23, 2022

club

This property is very tired and in need of renovation. There was a hole in the drywall above the bed where someone had pit there fist through it!!!
Furniture and decor was out of date and worn.
The pool wasnt warm enough and the longe furniture upholstery was worn through. Ran out if fruit for breakfast!!!

The only area that was acceptable was the fitness room, probably because it was located in the adjacent hotel that appeared much newer. Overall poor value.

Read More
Read Less

Not attentive to my needs

By

April 09, 2022

I have had many positive stays at this hotel, over the past 5 years. This time, however, I felt the front desk staff was not attentive to my needs... my room was not ready when I arrived, albeit a little early, but no attempt was made to try to accommodate me, even after I explained my unfortunate circumstances. Then, once I finally checked in, I reported the fridge not working and asked to have it either fixed or exchanged. Several hours later, when I returned, no one had even been over to look at it and it was still not working!

Read More
Read Less