Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Newington - Hartford

2553 Berlin Turnpike , Newington, Connecticut 06111

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1066 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1066reviews

  • 5 Stars
    665
  • 4 Stars
    209
  • 3 Stars
    67
  • 2 Stars
    66
  • 1 Stars
    59

Clean, comfortable mediocre hotel

By

May 17, 2022

While clean and comfortable mattresses, this hotel needs an update both aesthetically, food quality and systems (old type keycards that demagnetize; TV is small and old, plus has no Channel Guide, can’t check out in room).

Read More
Read Less

Charged $28.50 fee for a reward night

By

May 13, 2022

I was charged a $25+tax fee on checkout unexpectedly. The person working behind the counter (Derek) looked into it and assured me that just like I was expecting there should be no charge for a reward night, and that this was an authorization only. Derek was incorrect because the charge went through a few days later.

I called and talked with Angel who assured me it was just like Derek said and that the manager would be in shortly, issue a refund, and give me a call. That was 28 hours ago and I don't see any refunds or phone calls.

Next stop: charge back with the credit card company.

For breakfast, the pancake machine was not working. No waffle maker.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Stay

By

May 10, 2022

Graciously greeted upon approaching front desk
Recognized as a reward member
Expeditiously assigned a room
Upon arriving at assigned room, found door wide open and a bucket of dirty water sitting in doorway.
I shouted out to an employee down the hall vacuuming asking if it was ok. He came down remove the bucket and apologized, About 1/2 hour later someone knocked on the door, when I opened the door no one was there, i spoke out asking if something was needed. A female voice replied just checking to see if room was ready.
This time the pool water was comfortable.
Sleep/room comfortable.
Breakfast plentiful
Will recommend to others and stay again when in the area.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable Overnight

By

May 10, 2022

Graciously greeted upon approaching front desk
Recognized by clerk as a reward member
Expeditiously processed and assigned a room
This visit I found the pool water extremely cold
Room/sleep comfortable
Breakfast choices were excellent
Will recommend to others as well as stay again when in the area

Read More
Read Less

Unsatisfactory

By

May 07, 2022

There was ants in the bathroom and an opened beer bottle in the fridge and the outlets were barely functioning

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable, clean, Good Breakfast

By

May 05, 2022

Friendly and attentive staff, breakfast had great variety, clean and comfortable room

Read More
Read Less

Good for the price

By

April 14, 2022

platinumelite

Clean and comfortable for the most part. Good choice.

Read More
Read Less

Newington

By

March 25, 2022

The staff was excellent and friendly the room was clean and quiet the breakfast was filling loved staying over here

Read More
Read Less

new Management

By

December 30, 2021

Over A past stay this is a nice improvement looks like it is true with new staff, the breakfast was good but needs some preparation improvements. the lady doing breakfast has only been there a week so i would think she will improve the quality of the breakfast. the cleanliness of the rooms has always been good even the corners behind the doors were clean of dust and grime. it is not with the keeping of HI express as to the room fixtures are very warn and very old.

Read More
Read Less

Steadily Deteriorating

By

December 12, 2021

platinumelite

Upon check in on 11/21/21, I was met by incredibly rude staff (3 people), fully engaged in a conversation amongst themselves, periodically looking over at me while they talked and laughed. I stood luggage in hand, waiting for them to finish talking so I could check in. This unfortunately has become the norm here.
I had just arrived from a business trip to CA and was here for the holiday to visit family for the week. I noticed the parking lot was empty, which led me to believe checking in slightly early would be honored. I understand policy, and that the request may not be honored. I politely asked if it would be possible to check in early, as I had just arrived in CT. Unfortunately, I had not even finished asking before she talked directly over me, stating “… we don’t allow early check in”. This was done in a firm, and matter of fact manner, which has become the norm for this property. The check in experience gives me the sense that I am bothering them, or that having to do this work is a hassle. She then pivoted and went on to do something else, so I sat there for an additional 50 minutes, checking me in at 3pm with no acknowledgment of my membership, or other dialogue. Expectations, as compared to most other properties was not met, and is why I booked my rooms elsewhere for today. If you can help it, go somewhere else, this place is steadily declining.

Read More
Read Less

stay

By

December 08, 2021

club

great value and very comfortable the ladies at the front desk were very accompanied. They treated of grandkids with great respect...

Read More
Read Less

Covid 19 still with us

By

November 30, 2021

Motel needs more staff. Those on Desk had to stay extra hours due to help not reporting as scheduled. Those that did report did an excellent job.

Read More
Read Less