Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 411 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

411reviews

  • 5 Stars
    213
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    19

Great stay

By

August 05, 2016

platinumelite

Good location and if you are looking for somewhere clean, comfortable with friendly staff then this is a good priced hotel which I would recommend.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 08, 2016
Dear Christine963, Thank you for a lovely 4 star review. I am delighted you would recommend staying with us. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Unbearable

By

July 27, 2016

No air con next to a very noisy road with terrible sound proofing and will not stop at this hotel again never,

Posted byHotelStaff
July 29, 2016
Dear Hugo 1957, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I have contacted you directly with regards to the issues you have detailed. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Overall good experience, with small but...

By

July 25, 2016

club

Friendly and helpful stuff is the best part of my stay at this hotel. Overall good experience

Posted byHotelStaff
July 29, 2016
Dear Marty1983, Thank you for this 4 star review. I am delighted the friendly team made your stay a good experience. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Very disappointed stay

By

July 24, 2016

Booked this hotel for a relaxing getaway break for the weekend.
On arrival we were greeted by lovely friendly staff.
Given key card to room 127.
Room was nice and clean.
Extra pillows needed but just rang down to reception.
I always check there is AirCon in the rooms due to me being st that "funnyAge"
It was a really hot weekend so the AirCon was defiantly needed.
After being in room for a short time the Air Con started making the most horrendous noise that sounded like screaming crickets.
The noise was got so bad it actually made me feel quite sick.
I returned to reception in hope of a room change only to be told the hotel was completely full and they couldn't offer us an alternative due to it being a 2 night stay, unless we wanted to change rooms the following day.
I was given a fan but unfortunately the plug socket was at the foot of the bed ! Great for keeping your feet cool.
Apparently there was a problem with the Air Con on that floor and they were waiting for it to get sorted.
After a pretty restless night due to the heat we went for breakfast ....
The poor staff were rushed off their feet and no sooner were items stocked they had run out again, guests were having to ask for glasses, cups, cutlery .. Bread ..and so forth.
There were many tables that were empty but full of used plates/cups.
Guests were trying to clear themselves a table to use, but whilst doing this other guests were taking the chairs.
It was almost funny to watch.
I am amazed that no one has seen fit to install a tray stacker so that it can be a Self clear restaurant, enabling the staff to be able to take care of everything else.
There were genuinely many tables fully of used crockery.. People just didn't know where to put the used stuff.
The food was just about OK ...
No bacon .. The egg remonded me of the powdered stuff.
To be honest I would have preferred them to deduct a couple of quid off the room and then we could pop to the Toby Carvery for a decent breakfast ... Leaving the poor overworked reception staff to concentrate on reception.
I doubt very much if I will visit a holiday inn express again I'm sad to say, they have certainly gone down hill in the past year or so.
From my point of view it certainly wasn't the restfull relaxing weekend I needed, infact at a couple of points I was close to tears.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 27, 2016
Dear JackieA, Thank you for taking the time to complete this review following your recent stay. I can certainly appreciate how these issues you experienced impacted your stay so greatly. Rest assured I will be looking into each and every one of them to ensure no repeat of this happening. I understand that you have been in contact with our guest relations team over these matters and i hope they were able to respond to a satisfactory level. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Awful

By

July 24, 2016

We stayed at this hotel in July on one of the hottest days of the year and as this hotel is close to the A120 you cannot open your windows due to the non stop noise from the road,
Unfortunately the air con in our room was not sufficient to cool the room so it was one of the most unbearable evenings I have had so the air con needs addressing,
The staff here are excellent but I will not stopping here again ,

Posted byHotelStaff
July 27, 2016
Dear Fun Paul, Thank you for taking the time to complete this review on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that we let you down on this occasion, the air con is being looked into at the moment. I do hope that you will change your mind and return to us. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Brilliant staff, spotlessly clean hotel.

By

July 18, 2016

club

I highly recommend The Holiday Inn Express in Braintree, Essex. Just off the A120, it's easy to find, therefore very convenient. The hotel is always spotlessly clean, the rooms are comfortable, I always find a stay here very relaxing. Plus a big bonus the breakfast is a very good start to the day.

The best asset must be the wonderful staff - they are truly the best hotel staff I've ever had the pleasure to meet, from the cleaners to the admin/reception staff, all are brilliant.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 19, 2016
Dear Suze11, Thank you for such a fantastic 5 star review. We are very proud of our team here and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again soon. Regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Terrible

By

July 18, 2016

The staff where extremely rude! Not helpful at all would NEVER go back to this HolidayInn. Room was far to hot to sleep staff didn't want to help in any kind of way!

Posted byHotelStaff
July 21, 2016
Dear Dan1991, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I have contacted you direct to discuss the issues you raise. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Poor hotel

By

July 16, 2016

club

I experienced a number of problems with my room at this hotel which were not addressed by staff. The issues have been reported to IHG in their feedback request. This hotel was not up to the usual standard of a Holiday Inn Express

Posted byHotelStaff
July 19, 2016
Dear Zebedee100, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have received your comments and have actioned the maintenance issues you detailed and also looked into the family room set up. I do hope you will return again in the future so we can redeem our good name with yourself. Regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

July 06, 2016

We found all the staff friendly and efficient.

I am really dismayed at being asked to upload photos when I didn't take any. Rude. I was then unable to click the next button. !!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
July 12, 2016
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for this great 5 star review. I am delighted you found the team to be friendly and efficient. Unfortunately I am unsure on the photo upload request but will look into this. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

travelling teacher

By

July 05, 2016

club

We find this hotel perfect for our needs continuously throughout the years. Very reassuring reliability.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
Dear travelling teacher_A, Thank you for this great 5 star review. I am delighted you find us a reliable place to stop at frequently. Regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Like coming home

By

July 05, 2016

This was a short term return visit to the hotel which was my temporary home for six months last year and the staff helped me thorough a very difficult time

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
Dear tortoise, Thank you for taking your time to complete this 4 star review, It was a pleasure to welcome you back and i hope we get to see you again. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Great from start to finish

By

July 05, 2016

I was arriving late so called ahead to confirm that my room wouldn't be re-allocated and I spoke to a very helpful lady who asked about my stay in order to give me a better experience. She helped choose a particular room for my requirements and was so nice and friendly giving me info on the parking situation (I was driving a pick-up / trailer combo to deliver a vehicle) so when I arrived it was nice and easy to park up and get to bed. Check-in was very quick and efficient and I went to my room. The room itself was upstairs and away from the road (as requested) and was very new and gave a very good impression. The curtains were nice and thick and kept the room quite dark until 8 when I got up. Breakfast was nice and fresh and on checkout I met the lady who had helped me and she was indeed very lovely and friendly. This was just about as close to a perfect stay as I could hope for and I would certainly recommend it.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
Dear mandyth, This is such a great review, thank you for rating us 5 stars. I will ensure the individual sees your lovely comments, I am sure she will be delighted you were happy with her customer service. Stefanie
Read More
Read Less