Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1370 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1370reviews

  • 5 Stars
    874
  • 4 Stars
    251
  • 3 Stars
    112
  • 2 Stars
    83
  • 1 Stars
    50

Helpful and friendly and competent staff

By

18 May 2022

We wanted to stay in downtown St. Paul, and are glad that we chose the Intercontinental.
The room was comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and quickly brought up anything that we needed.
The view, east as the river runs "up" was fascinating and really helped understand St. Paul and how the Mississippi was the center of the economy.

Read More
Read Less

Julia Mitrenga- manager

By

16 May 2022

Julie Mitrenga, The front office manager, should be acknowledged for her great customer service. Along with her team building qualities. The entire staff always greeted me each day and asked if there was anything they could help me with. Julia always greeted me by name each day as I walked through the lobby. She is truly an asset to the IHG brand. Kudos to Julia

Read More
Read Less

Great bed... awful employees

By

16 May 2022

If you desire a clean room with an amazing bed, and want the experience of being ignored and considered a nuisance by the people around you (you know, in case you are feeling homesick for your wife and kids), then this is the place for you! The front desk staff will simulate the experience of having teenagers who are more interested in their conversation (and/or their smartphones) than saying hello or even acknowledging your existence. And then when they do finally converse with you, they'll forget everything you just said, and ask you to say it again! Just like home!

Read More
Read Less

Not the best

By

13 May 2022

This hotel is clearly a very old property. The parking garage is one of the filthiest I have ever seen. There are decades of dirt, rocks, dried winter salt everywhere. Every room is a connecting room. I stayed at the end of the hallway and it my room was actually a double connect, connect to two other rooms. There should be "non-connecting" rooms available for guests who would like total privacy. I travel weekly for my job. I stay in hotels close to 250 nights a year. The rooms here were some of the most unkept and dirty rooms I've ever stayed in. The bed sheets were clean and the towels were clean. I shudder to think how filthy the floors must be. Clearly they haven't been vacuumed in a very long time. The curtains, desk, bed frame are "weathered" from years and years of use. Thankfully I spent most of my time at work and only had to be in my room for sleep. If I had a choice I would never stay at this hotel again.

Read More
Read Less

Nice stay

By

04 May 2022

The room was nice and clean. Front desk was accommodating with early check in. Service personnel was really nice. The hotel restaurant had one of the greatest steaks I’ve had in a while and the hotel coffee was fantastic

Read More
Read Less

Horrible night of sleep with weak window latches

By

28 April 2022

club

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for her dance competition that was happening at the hotel over the weekend. We were on the 20th floor (Room 2003) and yes, it was a windy weekend outside. Our small window openings below both windows kept blowing open from the winds. The latches were so weak and would not strongly latch to withhold the high winds. As much as I tried to push the latches in place as strong as I could get it to hold, the winds blew them open (with a BANG), making our room a wind tunnel 7 times throughout the night!!! Needless to say, we got NO SLEEP and were exhausted for my daughter's competition the next morning. The beds were really firm, which is hard on the hips if you are a side sleeper. I only gave it an extra star because the room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. When there is an event here, be prepared to wait 30+ minutes in the line for coffee in the lobby, and my order was still wrong! But after a night of no sleep, I was desperate for whatever they gave me. The Citizens restaurant at the hotel has a small menu and no kids' menu. The parking ramp clearance (attached to the hotel) is very low, so we had to park in a ramp across the street. The elevators in that ramp did not work and there were a lot of sketchy things (rough crowd and drugs) in the stairwells, so we had to walk all the way down the ramp with our luggage. I certainly did not feel safe with my daughter with me. For what this hotel costs, I would not stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Beds and pillows great

By

26 April 2022

Stayed for a night during a convention - the bed was very comfortable and the pillows great. The toilet seat could have used more attention from the cleaning staff - otherwise all was great! Would stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel with 1 exception

By

12 April 2022

platinumelite

Our stay at this Hotel was wonderful, the room was great, the staff was professional and courteous, and the restaurant was great. The one exception that we had was the business center. I have never before seen a hotel charge for using the business center. It was an outrageous $15.95 a quarter hour. We needed to print a document but were unable to printer work and were charged for our attempts. When we tried to contact the hotel for a refund for the poor usability of the business center we were informed that they couldn't refund the business center charges. They could put them on the bill but not take them off.

Read More
Read Less

Not the room I reserved

By

07 April 2022

club

I was under the impression that I reserved a King Room with a preference to be on a higher floor. When we arrived we were given a room with double beds on the 4th floor and were told that "we must have reserved the room based on availability only" and that there were no King Rooms available. I had booked this room months in advance and was very disappointed with this response. When we arrived in our room, the trash can was still full and the lights in the bathroom flickered on and off for extended periods while showering (I assume due to steam in the air).

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and professional staff

By

05 January 2022

I stayed here December 27 - January 2. Was in town for business and was particularly pleased to have an executive room because of the view of both the river and downtown, and also because of the desk, where I planned to work remotely during the days.

Because of the length of my stay, I inquired about getting a microwave, and the staff happily (and quickly!) accommodated. In fact, I found the staff at all times to be friendly and professional, and I particularly appreciated seeing each and every staff member wearing masks (unlike most of the guests I saw).

The bed was very comfortable. The water in the shower could have been warmer, but the pressure was still impressive considering that I was on the 20th floor. I found the room to be extremely quiet (with the exception of NYE, which no hotel can control).

The room temperature was frustrating. I had to set the thermostat most days over 80, just to be able to work at the desk. But because the register is across the room and near the ceiling, the warm air would stay above. After sitting at the desk for even 20 minutes, I would have to take a break to warm my hands and feet. The fridge wasn't big enough to fit much of anything, so I put a lot of my food on the window sill at night, and much of it actually froze! I realize this is an old hotel, and one of the days was extremely cold, but I guess I would offer space heaters to guests so they can at least work at the desk.

I ate in the restaurant only once. And while the bartender was very polite, I must suggest that the restaurant rethink the East African berbere-spiced chicken wings. They were simply awful, and had no detectable spice (flavor or heat) whatsoever. I realize this is Minnesota, where pepper is apparently a spice, but I am aware of the wonderful East African population. A thoughtful menu item like this should be a showcase, not a complete failure.

For the record, I would stay here again and I would recommend to friends/colleagues.

Read More
Read Less

Great place for a night away

By

16 December 2021

platinumelite

The hotel is a great property in a great location with good views of the river and downtown.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel, excellent staff

By

14 December 2021

club

We stayed at the InterContinental in St. Paul MN for my work holiday party which was held at the hotel. Everything from arrival to departure was excellent. We used the valet staff to park and they helped unload our car and when it was time to go, we had a minimal wait time for our car to return to a very convenient spot right in front. The rooms were clean and quiet, the beds very comfortable.

Read More
Read Less