• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SULPHUR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Up to 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and up to 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel offers free parking with access to large truck parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:77
  • Total number of suites:77
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:41
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:LA5134

Sulphur, LA Hotel's Amenities Ideal for Extended Stay

Whether you are staying a few days, a few weeks or even a few months you will have the flexibility to work and relax according to your individual schedules Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Sulphur near Lake Charles. Lodging here gives you convenient access to our unique amenities, as well as the local area of Sulphur, Louisiana.

Our hotel's guests benefit from our location near a variety of attractions like the Lake
View More

Sulphur, LA Hotel's Amenities Ideal for Extended Stay

Whether you are staying a few days, a few weeks or even a few months you will have the flexibility to work and relax according to your individual schedules Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Sulphur near Lake Charles. Lodging here gives you convenient access to our unique amenities, as well as the local area of Sulphur, Louisiana.

Our hotel's guests benefit from our location near a variety of attractions like the Lake Charles beaches and Prien Lake Mall. You can see an event at the West Calcasieu Arena or play a round of golf at the Frasch Park Golf Course. Casinos such as L'Auberge du Lac and Isle of Capri are also just a short drive from our hotel.

In Sulphur, you'll find we're convenient to the Citgo Refinery, PPG Industries, Vista Chemicals, Lyondell, Conoco, McNeese State University. Lodging in our hotel puts you within a short drive of these places and gives you access to our corporate-friendly suites and 24-hour business center.

From the Candlewood Cupboard, free guest laundry, and free rentals from the lending library, we give you the comfort you deserve while visiting Sulphur and Lake Charles. Our suites feature fully equipped kitchens, high-speed Internet access, Comforts of Home bedding & 32-inch HD TVs with DVD players. Whether you choose a one/two bed studio or a one-bedroom suite, you're sure to enjoy a relaxing time at our extended stay hotel in Sulphur, LA.

View Less
Features
Our Sulphur, Louisiana hotel's amenities include free laundry services for all guests, just one of our many unique amenities that you won't find our competitors offering.
Announcements
Effective 7/14/14, Candlewood Suites- Sulphur/ Lake Charles is now a smoke free facility.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant staff. Smelly room and not enough sets in the lobby area. No even a table and seats for a business working session!!!.............. Had to sit in the restaurant. Suggest a big re-org of the lobby area and of the fireplace area. October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not so good This hotel is supposedly less than 5 years old. It sits on the edge of a bad looking neighborhood, which is an unfortunate location. They employ a night security person who probably patrols the parking area, which is good except that it makes you wonder if they may have had problems. The management staff say pleasant words and have smiles glued to their faces, but they are ineffective at dealing with some real problems. The bathroom smelled most days as though it had been cleaned with a stale mop. I advised the desk person of the problem and I think they sprayed something that made the smell better for a few hours, but they did not fix the problem. The guest laundry had coin operated machines that wouldn't take the coins. Some or all of the machines were out of order. Apparently, none of the employees had a key to empty the coin boxes when they were full (why?). I bought a roll of quarters at the front desk and was surprised to find the roll was one quarter short when the coins were counted. Maybe it was just an accident? The wireless internet doesn't work. The signal is weak.. The desk people know about it and they have a huge supply of wired connectors for the unhappy customers to use. Why don't the managers or owner fix the problem? The indoor pool is pretty but the water is cold and not being properly heated. Unlike many hotels, this hotel doesn't serve a complimentary breakfast. At the front desk, they say this is because they have a hotel restaurant and they want you to buy a breakfast there. The hotel room prices are plenty high, so they could certainly afford to give you a complimentary breakfast. October 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy If it isn't the elevator shaft across the wall from you or the constant "music" from the elevators down the hall it may be the fights in the hallways that keep you up. Possibly the part of town or the clientele they have but I will not be back. September 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by HUH?? Everything was "As expected" until 4:48 AM! A policeman was apparently going door to door and waking everyone up. I was asked if I had been in a fight that evening, and of course not, I hadn't. But there was no apology or anything......I would have expected hotel management to do something differently than allowing the police to go door to door waking up every guest. I know I was not the only patron that was given the early wake up call in the form of a policeman telling me to "Open up, its the police!" September 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again... August 31-September 2, 2013 Get A Way Trip... Preview the room, before check in, seem nice. Day # 1 Once in pull back the shower curtain, ring around the tub, both beds in need of complete changing (hair), I put my glove on and clean the following microwave, refrigerator,and coffee maker, wipe lamp switches and handles to the drapes (dirty) plus all door knobs, counter tops and desks, phone, tv control. staff change bedding and clean tub. Day 2, microwave didn't work. Got it replace on day# 2. And found a large stain on bed # 2, asked that the room be vacuum on day 2. Staff replaced stain bedspread and replace the microwave. While waiting outside the room during the vacuuming notice the wall railing sticky and badly stain hallway carpet. We don't blame the staff at all. We feel that the staff DO NOT have the proper cleaning solutions, to seriously deliver a clean room to any customer. We feel if the bedding wasn't stuff in a washing machine and having a quality detergent, tub stain remover, a quality germ killer and good polish on a rag. Once a month steam carpet cleaning. Than this would be a much better place to stay. Never leave home without a germ killer and rags in your car or luggage.... $$$ LEARN EXPERIANCE/ Manger/Owner refuse to reimbursed $ September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service We recently were guest at Hoilday Inn South and out stay was absolutely one of the most memorable and enjoyable days. We were greeted everytime we walked into the hotel and greeted on the way out. Room service was prompt and anything that we needed the hotel made sure it was right at our fingertips. We will definitely stay here again and I would recommend anyone to chose this place first September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff The rooms need a remodel and good cleaning. Most of the rooms smell like smoke with perfumed air blown through the vents. What made our stay at this hotel worth it? The staff. Every employee was helpful and extremely friendly. The only reason I would go back is to see the staff. September 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noise Complaints I stay at this hotel often for work. My current stay was not a good one. I had 2 different complaints by other guests for my TV volume being to loud. The first complaint was a call from the front desk waking me at 12:00 am on 8/28/2013, to inform me the TV volume was too loud. The second was at 10:15 pm on 8/29/2013 with security knocking on my door to inform another guest had complained. Both times the TV volume was not too loud for me to either sleep or to have a conversation on the phone. I called the front desk to inquire about the thickness of the hotel room walls. The front desk person said they are unaware if the walls are thin, but have to follow through with complaints by other guests. I for one agree with that on legitimate complaints. In the future I will request a room away from anyone else if possible, or choose a different hotel. August 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Musty smell in room All 4 people in our group (myself included) reported that their rooms smelled musty. Will look for another place to stay next time. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay My son and I stayed here on a business trip and ejoyed our stay. Roooms were neat and clean and the hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good find! We were in Lake Charles recently at the last minute and were very fortunate to find this hotel. The staff was excellent - accommodations good and the restaurant much better than expected. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks, August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, friendly front desk staff The front desk staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean and comfortable. We always enjoy staying at this Holiday Inn. August 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Better cleaning and maintenance needed I stay at a lot of hotels and usually find Holiday Inns very consistent on cleanliness and maintenance. While this hotel appears new and neat on the outside, the rooms are not very well maintained and in my case, the room was not cleaned well at all. First, the room was left propped open when I arrived and then I found trash in the trash can. I thought someone was still staying in the room. I got that resolved and then found a dead roach in the closet, a stain on the bed sheets, and the leather desk chair was wet with an oily substance??? The shower walls and shower head were also stained with hard water residue. Based on my experience, I will not be staying here again and cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service I took my husband on a surprise trip for his birthday. We were welcomed as we walked in by a front desk agent with a bright smile and personality to match. He asked why we were visiting and I told him it was my husbands birthday... He actually sang Happy Birthday in the middle of the lobby. He brought us a bottle water and offered to upgrade us for the special occasion. I am in my 15th year as a sales manager for a resort property and it was a perfect reminder that first impressions and genuine customer service goes a long way! Thank you RODNEY - you are a true STAR!!! August 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY I arrived on a Saturday evening. Upon getting into my room, I noticed a very strong smell of cat. As if a cat had sprayed in the room. I was exhausted from a day of traveling and decided that I would wait until morning to voice my concern. However, I then went to take a shower and noticed no towels or wash cloths at all in the room. At this point, I called the front desk. A security guard was sent up with the towels. I asked him to come in the room and immediately he asked what was that smell? As it was late in the evening, he told me that he would let them know at the front desk to have the room cleaned thoroughly the next day. On Sunday morning, on my way to work, I stopped at the front desk to reiterate the smell in the room. The lady at the desk told me that yes it was noted and that a note was sent to the general manager of the hotel as that was the only way to get housekeeping to do anything. As a member of management, I feel that is very unprofessional to "air your dirty laundry" with non members of your company. When I arrived back from work that afternoon, I found the room still had a horrible odor. I went immediately to the front desk and asked for a new room. The staff acted as if I wanted the world. However, I was given a new room. This room appeared much better. However, as I went to use the internet, the wireless did not work in my room. I called the front desk and was told that I needed to come down and get an Ethernet cable. Too bad that cable was only 6 feet long. I really did not want to sit at the desk and use the laptop. Therefore, I tried to use my MIFI. However, there is no 3g or 4g in the hotel. Right outside the signal is very strong. Therefore, I tried to put the mifi in the window and catch a stronger signal. That would have worked, except that it was raining outside and the window was leaking. The window sill was covered in water. So I decided I might as well use the desk. At this point, I noticed that the faux leather on the chair was torn off of the arms. The inside material was hanging out of the chair. I have since left a message for the manager and have made a complaint online. Now 8 days later I have not heard back from anyone. I travel 75% of the time for work. Because of this experience, I will be avoiding IHG properties in the future. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just a suggestion from a platinum member. Great hotel, just a little too pricey for the neighborhood! This hotel should provide a shuttle service to the casino that is only one exit over! July 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room Cleanliness The hotel looks great on the outside, but not clean on the inside. I checked into the hotel and took a nap. When I woke up, I went to use the bathroom and there was urine on the floor in front of the toilet. I raise the toilet seat and and there is urine on the toilet bowl. It's like house keeping just came in and made up the bed, changed the towels and nothing else. I went to get some lysol and spray the room down. Also, the furniture is raggedy. July 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, comfortable bed. I have stayed at this hotel twice this year. They have Great service. I have not met one person on staff who is not trying to assist their guests in one way or the other. Beds are comfortable July 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pool The indoor pool had way too much chlorine in it. The kids would get in for about five minutes and then start coughing because of the strong chlorine and the poor ventilation. The hot tub never worked during our 4 day stay. The pool was also not heated but was indoors, which made it uncomfortably cold. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Problem? Solved! Have stayed @ this hotel many times over the past several years. It's my choice when in the Lake Charles/Sulphur vicinity. I also love the full service on-site restaurant. In all the times I've stayed here, I have experienced a problem only once, and that was quickly resolved by the front desk staff by moving me to another room. For the "inconvenience", a complimentary breakfast was added to my Priority Club / IGH Reward Club Profile for my next visit to that hotel. Being a frequent visitor, that will be very nice. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn! July 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Unfortunate Experience - will not return I was booked to stay at this hotel as part of a corporate group. My room as well as the other 6 rooms in my group was confirmed and paid for by the corporation. When I checked out a day earlier than expected I noticed that my credit card had been charged the full price of the room, even though I was told that my card would only have a $25.00 hold on it for incidentals. I talked to the desk clerk and he quickly and professionally amended the error and gave me a receipt showing the credit with a notation made that my card was billed in error and that the billing information was in fact on file. The next day when checking my account however, I saw that the hotel had charged me $291 for two nights stay. When I called to try to resolve the issue I received no help from the young lady who took my call and there was no manager available to assist me. Today, 3 days later I tried to call and was unable to get the General Manager on the phone with me. When I asked for the franchise information I was refused. Not only am I still trying to resolve the billing error - I really wasn't impressed with the hotel in general. I guess I expect more from a Holiday Inn. The hot tub was out of service, my window looked upon someones back yard, so I was unable to keep the curtains open, and for a Sam's club bottle of water I was charged $2.00. The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean, although small. July 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and locate Had chosen the hotel because of location to George W Bush Presidential library. The room were small and dark, however they were clean and comfortable. Difficult to get in and out of hotel because of highway in front of hotel. Overall good experience. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by thumbs up came in for poker tourney...(twice). the front counter staff were absolutely perfect. polite. friendly. I will be back for sure. room was clean. hot water all just what I needed. .. 100% satisfied! June 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Management IGNORES important issues This stay was my last at this poorly run property. I spend 3-5 nights per month in Lake Charles, a ton full of hotel choices. I wanted to make this property my go to home away from home but it can't be done. Dirty elevator walls, streaky indicating dirty rags used to wipe it down. Computer chairs ratty and torn. Pillows not fit for my dog, unless oatmeal filled is your preference. POOR POOR wireless internet speed in you are halfway down the hall or more. I have directly spoken with both mgr on duty and GM SEVERAL times over the last 10 months about these concerns. GM boasted of spending big money to fix internet but thats a joke. Internet is still the poor speed , pillows still poor and elevator still dirty. I can always take the stairs, I do. I can always bring my own pillow, I do. I CAN NOT bring my own internet June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean Great hotel. Nice staff. Very clean (which is extremely important to my family). Very comfortable beds. Overall, great place! June 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by New on the outside, not on the inside The hotel was very nice and the lobby and restaurant was very clean. The room we had smelled stale even after we aired the room out. The desk chair looked so shabby that no one wanted to sit in it. The room served it's purpose for our overnight stay and I'd return again. June 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable and Comfortable I have stayed at this location several times in the past year and find it to be great. The employees are very nice. The Hotel is comfortable and well maintained. June 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff was exceptional! The room was very nice and affordable. Would definitely choose it again. May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We had a nice experience at this hotel! My daughter and I were traveling alone and we felt welcomed and very safe. May 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by POOR SERVICE Ok, we book the hotel with soccer teams. You know we are coming. Also consider there are baseball teams in the hotel. Dining was not prepared. Team would come in for breakfast, would take forever to order, and get food. Second morning could not even order breakfast. Asked to order pizza delivered to hotel for soccer team. Was told no. So you dining area can't handle the business you know you were booked. We try to get food delivered and was told NO. The hotel had no guest service!!! I WILL NOT BE BACK NOR WILL THIS TEAM BOOK THIS HOTEL AGAIN!!! May 10, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Gazebo Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading