• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Italian
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Rosslyn Chapel
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
National Museum of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Royal Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Museum of Childhood
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and
View More

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street. The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away.

The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquility in our private gardens, or take a short walk to Calton Hill, just behind the hotel, to enjoy panoramic views over the whole of Edinburgh.

The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony.

Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.

View Less
Features
The hotel is a collection of stunning Georgian Townhouses located in a peaceful location with spectacular views across to the Firth of Forth. Our hidden secret are the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel, where guests can experience some serenity in the middle of this bustling city!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 309 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short break Though we only stay 80 miles away on the West coast of Scotland it is nicer to have a short city break staying in Edinburgh than travelling home on the same day. This is our third visit to this hotel . All stays have been good but this stay was the best probably because of the friendly and professional staff - especially at reception. The location, while not in the centre of Edinburgh, is good being opposite a shopping centre and a cinema. There are also excellent and frequent bus services to the city centre. There are several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable. Everything worked in the room which has not been the case with some recent stays. Breakfast was the standard for the chain but as it is included in the price it was more than adequate. Although we did not take advantage of the extended check out time offered we were able to leave our car parked in the hotel car park while we visited the city. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Visit Enjoyed our visit to Hotel,clean tidy,rooms very comfortable.Plenty variations for Breakfast.Staff very helpful,friendly.Great location for local transport,shopping site seeing etc.Will use Hotel again on next visit to Edinburgh. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location ideal for business in the local area As always, good service, comfortable room and pleasant surroundings. Plenty of choice close to the Hotel for a meal / bit to eat without having to drive. Second stop in two weeks - speaks for itself. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn V Premier inn This hotel had great staff at reception. The room was very basic compared to the premier inn and I found the bed un -comfortable.The breakfast was also fine however, the freshness of some of the breakfast products could have been better. I would now in future always book premier inn its a all round better product. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location My husband is wheelchair user. We parked and accessed hotel without a problem on busy Saturday lunchtime. The bedroom was fully accessible and comfortable. We were able to leave car and go across to cinema within shopping mall and enjoy meal with glass of wine afterwards. Staff friendly and helpful throughout, May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Trip Reception staff friendly and welcoming, also arranged taxi for return to station. Nice breakfast selection in clean surroundings. Bed sheets were a bit grey in colour, but clean. En suite was clean and kept so by hotel cleaning staff. Overall a good stay with good public transport connections to the city. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic hotel If your looking for frills, this is not the place to stay, but if you happen to need to need a great value hotel and be in the area of Leith like we had to, this is a great place to stay. Staff were lovely. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and excellent location Room had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The hotel was ideally located for our visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia and the shopping centre had a good range of shops and restaurants and was in walking distance of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Also as the hotel is pet friendly we were able to take our dog with us. Would definitely stay there again in the future and would recommend to others. Not to detract from the above review, minor maintenance issues should be addressed by the hotel group, for example, the desk lamp wasn't working in our room and also the sealant around the shower needed replacing. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodation with easy access to city transport Third time staying at this hotel did not disappoint. We were very warmly welcomed by hotel staff who were able to give us all the necessary information re public transport. A parking spot at hotel, very close proximity of bus stop, frequency of buses and very reasonable costs allowed us the opportunity to relax and enjoy our visit to the city centre. The ample breakfast served in the spotless dining area set us up for the day. I had left my hair straighteners in the hotel and this was posted on to my home ASAP. A short walk to the Ocean Terminal shopping mall is also worthwhile. Would definitely use this hotel again. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay this hotel is close to all attractions a few mile from Edinburgh great bus service if needed close to ocean terminal,the staff are very helpful in all we had a great stay April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff were a joy There was a card in our room asking for the name of one member of staff who we thought deserved praise, but all the staff deserve praise at this Holiday Inn, from the managers to the girl who cleaned our room. Everything was done with a smile. Being the Easter holidays, there was a real family feel to the dining area at breakfast with plenty of chatter, and there was no shortage of anything to eat - first class. Next time we are in Edinburgh, we will definitely make this our place to stay. April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always made to feel welcome We have used this particular Holiday Inn Express and we have never been let down. The staff are always welcoming and the rooms clean and tidy April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. Great location and was very clean. April 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short break We found the overall facilities to be excellent but felt that we would have liked a few more tea/ coffee sachets than was provided. The bed was really comfy and the whole place was very clean. A free car park was most welcome and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to our friends. Well done the staff at Edinburgh Waterfront. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location with parking. This was our second visit, and we would stay at this hotel again. All aspects satisfactory. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay and good location. We wanted somewhere to stay in Edinburgh that would be easy to access by road, avoiding awkward directions and long traffic queues but close enough into the city as to be convenient for the shops and sights. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh is situated in Leith, just opposite the Ocean Terminal shopping centre. Bus connections into the heart of Edinburgh are excellent and at £3.50 for an all day ticket at the time of our stay, very good value, so is an ideal base for exploring the city, but far enough away from the centre to be quiet and relaxing. There are plenty of eateries nearby and local facilities are good. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, giving good local information, providing change for the buses and pleasant about our room key-cards which didn't always work. Our room was comfortable with clean bedding and the décor was tidy. The bathroom was a reasonable size, clean and well set-out. The fixed soap dispensers (as opposed to loose toiletries# and hair dryer wired into the wall gave the game away about the accommodation being towards the budget end of the market, but the shower was piping hot and powerful, so no complaints here. Our only quibbles with the room were a window that didn't shut properly, and air conditioning which seemed rather temperamental. However, we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast selection was very good, but we were a little surprised not to find bacon on the cooked breakfast menu. The hot food #sausage, scrambled egg and beans) was not the highest quality we've had, but par for the course at the price and at least breakfast was included in the price. We'd definitely stay here again and recommend the Holiday Inn Express to others. It's not luxury accommodation, but if you want somewhere comfortable and welcoming in Edinburgh for not a huge amount of money, it fits the bill perfectly. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by power shower Room 246 a bit noisey (poor double glazing).Expensive drink's at the bar. The rooms could do with having some means of central heating in them . On the plus side the power shower was to Die for April 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Is This an IHG Property?!? The room was about average. Clean but nothing special. The trouble came when I tried to get on the internet. AirAngel is an absolute disaster!! Overpriced and under-performing! When I informed the staff that it was not working, one of them did come up to my room and then concluded that it was my computer. Not possible! The previous night I was in another IHG property and it worked fine. The following night, in another IHG property, it worked fine again. I didn't have another issue with wireless until I had to deal with AirAngel again. Ok, I can get beyond that. When I went out for dinner, all of the shops and eateries were shuttered and closed. The neighborhood seemed a bit suspect. I actually feared for the safety of my car in the car park. There seemed to be a "see who has the loudest radio" contest going on in a adjoining car park. The snack area, for purchase, had only 1 sandwich, crisps and candy. I asked the staff, they said that there was no more. This was bout 1830. Later in the evening, about 2000, I was walking by the front desk and learned more about the staff than I ever wanted to know as personal matters were being discussed rather loudly. Unacceptable behaviour. I was happy to leave the next morning and continue my journey. This is NOT what I have come to expect from IHG and Holiday Inn Express specifically. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff This hotel is in a great location opposite Ocean Terminal, close to the restaurants etc of the Shore and very well served by public transport. Our room was comfortable and a problem with the shower was dealt with very promptly. We were very impressed, as on a previous occasion, with the staff who were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. April 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A most uncomfortable night I was apprehensive when I left my room on the fourth floor at 8.30pm. Adjacent room doors were ajar and guests were moving about. On returning at 11.00 pm form the Kitchin, a fantastic experience, the people next door spent the evening singing, whistling playing the TV loudly and other unmentionable activities. We did not contact reception as we did not want a confrontation and left the next mornong. This was around the fifth time that we have visited Holday Inn Edinburgh Waterfront and it is highly unlikely that we will return. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brand new hotel, very confortable and well located. Brand new hotel: All spaces and rooms in perfect condition. Very confortable: Room, bathroom, bed and pillows. Well located: Near the ocean port, close to shopping center and restarurants. Bus stop to go to historic places in front of the hotel. Highly recommendable. March 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Book here as a last resort. Overall, disappointing. Cramped room. Family room had one double sofa bed, thus children had to share. Considering the breakfast was poor with limited choice of hot/cold foods to select from counter, we have enjoyed much better quality elsewhere. No we would not recommend. March 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff Room was clean but we couldn't get the window shut but a very helpful member of staff came and shut it "the best she could" Returned at night ready for a cup of tea but the kettle wasn't working : ( March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value Very convenient for the great nearby restaurants in Leith also right beside Ocean Terminal mall March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A real comfort zone This is one of the favourite Holiday Inns Express for my wife and me It is literally at the end of a journey-through various Scottish scenes, then Edinburgh city and at last into Leith. Great surrounding amenities just across the road, including shopping and bus terminus We always receive a friendly welcome, the rooms are compact and very comfortable, everything to hand. Breakfast is a very welcome inclusion , not by any means gourmet standard but quite sufficient to start the day and no limits! In winter months all rooms and public spaces are quite cosy.. March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by every thing was great well pleased with location, room and comfort. staff were pleasant and always there to help March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay perfect location, reception staff brilliant Exceptional reception staff very friendly room was great warm and comfortable. Breakfast ok but a little mass produced but excellent value for money as we weren't expecting breakfast so was a welcome surprise and we didn,t have to go and buy any. Great location for the royal yacht. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service first class and good location We had a great time at Holiday Inn Express, made very welcome. Room 240 good, only complaint noise from lift when trying to sleep. Can definately recommend hotel for value and friendliness, will use anytime in Edinburgh as buses are frequent to Princes Street from Ocean Terminal. March 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and welcoming: one or two glitches Very welcoming after a long journey with friendly and helpful staff - advice on local eateries and vouchers most welcome. One or two things to improve: Temperature control in bedroom - warmth from the heater/AC unit was hard to maintain and warmth associated with blower noise and draught annoying My room had floodlights outside but the curtains allowed light around the edges. Never dark! Breakfast is limited choice - fine if all the elements are there. Fresh fruit limited to apples when no bananas! Wifi rather expensive for use in rooms March 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Excellent location for a weekend in Edinburgh. While not being able to walk out of Reception onto the Royal Mile or Princess Street the availability of parking at no extra cost and a simple bus ride to and from the front door main it ideal. The fact Ocean Terminal is next door with it's shops and restaurants plus the Royal Yacht Britannia (if not already seen) and great restaurants a short walk away in Leith March 11, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
Located on a Georgian Terrace in the heart of the city
Located on a Georgian Terrace in the heart of the city
Select to close.
Located on a Georgian Terrace in the heart of the city Stunning views from Calton Hill behind the hotel Concierge offer a number of services for our guests Reception Area Stunning city views from the front of the hotel We look forward to welcoming you A warm Scottish welcome awaits! Relax and enjoy a refreshment in the hotel lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn 1000 Points per Night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading