Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous weekend We stayed at the Crown Plaza for a girls spa retreat break for my friends birthday. So chuffed to have been allocated a suite on arrival, it was such a lovely touch and my friend had a fabulous stay. The Spa was lovely and the treatments really relaxing. The Spa is a massive bonus to this hotel, probably one of the nicest I've seen in a long time. The grounds and setting are beautiful and there are lots of outdoor areas to sit and watch the world go by. We found an empty terrace area on the 1st floor which overlooked the golf course and had the whole area to ourselves for most of the afternoon. Dinner was really great although we all chose to upgrade to the A La Carte menu as the buffet didn't look very appetising. Breakfast was also really nice and the staff in the restaurant and bar were very quick and attentive. Drinks are a little on the pricey side but this is quite normal for hotel tariffs. The majority of reception staff were really helpful although there was one particular member of the reception team who was very abrupt and quite rude. Our key card stopped working at 11.45 so I went down to reception to get it re-programmed. the queue was so long that it was after midday by the time I got to the front and she proceeded to tell me my card wasn't working because it was after midday and I should have checked out by now! I pointed out that I had been queuing and that was the reason for the lateness but was given no apology for the comment or the queue! Such a shame that one person lets the whole team down. On the whole this is a fantastic hotel and I highly recommend it for a spa or golf break. We hope to return in the very near future. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good food, comfortable bed and spacious room What a great hotel....... good food and friendly helpful staff. The room was surprisingly spacious and very comfortable. We got a very good sleep. The Spa is great and the treatments luxurious. The De-Luxe Spa break offer was very good value and we would go again. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and bed This was the first time I have had a room in the 'Village' area of this hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. Short walk from the main hotel was pleasant but may have different view if weather had been wet/windy. June 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean bed and good service Although the room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and quiet, it was very hot due to lack of air conditioning. Other rooms in the main hotel did have air con and I would recommend that you specifically ask for it if staying during warm weather. Unfortunately the meal provided to me at the dinner dance I attended at the hotel was disappointing. Staff were friendly and helpful. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feel revitalised. my husband and I took this break after needing some rest and recuperation. We had a wonderful stay, the staff were excellent, especially the barmen and waiting staff. The room was brilliant, the bed was so so so comfortable, neither of us have slept well since returning. Our only complaint was the spa. We had booked a package with three mini treatments. I had phoned the spa previously because I had a product on my toes which takes a bit longer to remove. I had been told it would not be a problem. When I re-checked with spa staff prior to my treatment they weren't very helpful and told me they wouldn't have time to do it. We were paying what I felt was a lot of money, but felt that I was dismissed. Felt the mini manicure was rushed, and Indo wish they would get decent sized robes....another bone of contention, June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by society golf break Second year at this venue and enjoyed as much as last year by all the group of 18. No complaints regards rooms, facilities, courses or food. Would recommend to others. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and Comfortable Stay This is one of the best stays that I have had during the past 2 years in England. This change is the best. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Lovely place to stay .. Great service. .. Comfy. Beds. .. Good food June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Colchester An excellent outlook on arrival, the reception area was open clean and the staff friendly. The room was large, never had a bed that big before, clean and modern. The Bathroom was large with a separate bath, however the completion of work in the shower left a little to be desired. The soap dish was hanging off the wall, the grouting around the tiles looked very poor and the shower curtain not sure what that was there fore it didn't stay in the shower. Overall it is an excellent place to stay and I am off there again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by mattress is best in class reliable quality and peacfull location and very comfortable beds. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FANTASTIC HOTEL Great location to the area I was working in large bedroom,great view two good golf courses value for money June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel with comfortable beds and excellent facilities Good hotel with excellent facilities and good bedrooms - let down by the poor quality of the buffet. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Stay A well deserved break for myself and daughters, We took the Spa overnight deluxe package, spent lots of time relaxing around the pool, jacuzzi and Sauna. Up early for a gym workout before a full english breakfast and Spa treatment. the full body massage, totally de-stressed me and the facial was to die for. Good food, good service, overall a very enjoyable stay. we will be back fo r a winter break June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a super place to stay I stay in many hotels associated with business and the Five Lakes resort is one of the very best, super location, super staff, high standards and great customer focused business - well done IHG June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as previous stays I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, but the quality of my stay on this occasion was not to the high standard I had previously enjoyed. I will be staying at the hotel again later this month when I hope to find service back to its previous high quality. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely setting lovely location uncomfortable sleep! The location of crowne plaza was beautiful, the main foyer with the piano man was lovely, the food was amazing and the service we was given you couldn't ask for better. The main issue was the room we had was unbearably hot which caused us to have a terrible nights sleep, as the air conditioning hardly worked and the windows would only open a fraction,our room went out on to a patio balcony and there wasn't a door to get out on to it which was rather odd. We loved our stay apart from this and given a better room it would have been a perfect break. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad front of house staff Nice hotel but unprofessional front of house staff. Night club on site, so if you are staying in the village part of the hotel expect a lot of noise. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent A great place for a break away. Lots to do - swimming, tennis, table tennis, snooker, pool, driving range and of course golf. Staff extremely helpful, food wonderful. A great stay and so relaxing. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A touch of luxury. A group of four of us had an overnight golf break at Five Lakes during the half term. The amenities, staff and service were great! We played two 18hole rounds of golf, had dinner and bed and breakfast. The two golf courses are very good quality and the hotel provides a wide range of spa facilities as well as a fitness centre. The rooms were excellent, very spacious and well appointed. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Spa weekend We had a great stay. Food was excellent and so was the service in both the hotel and spa. We stayed in the village which was very nice as it was just outside the main hotel building, it was very peaceful. We would be happy to stay again in the future. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprise Birthday Weekend arranged for a Friend I was organising a surprise birthday weekend for my friend. I had a large group booking (14 adults and 5 children). We had a dinner arranged for the Saturday night and used the sports facilities and pool during the day. The staff at Five Lakes were fantastic, from the original booking to our final departure. They managed to place us all together in One village house, so we felt like we were in a private house. They set up champagne reception in the lobby and decorated the Catch 22 restaurant for our private dinner and also allowed us to have breakfast together in that room the following morning. My friend had a wonderful birthday and everything ran smoothly for our surprise for him. The whole weekend was co-ordinated for us by the manager, Harpreet, who was brilliant. He went out of his way to accommodate our every need. Thanks also goes to Hayley and Nathan in the restaurant/ bar. I cannot recommend Five lakes and Harpreet's team highly enough for a special celebration or group booking. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxation and bliss Arrived and was greeted by very helpful reception staff, a fabulous room and food that was so carefully arranged, a superb selection, and so delicious. Went for two days on a spa retreat and can honestly say for the price we paid it was outstanding value. The staff in ALL areas of the hotel were delightful and so helpful, the hotel was well kept and I can honestly say best hotel I've stayed at in this country in along time. Came away totally relaxed. Treatments were good would not say outstanding but I still enjoyed them. The relaxation room was very chilled, think the spa area could do with a few updates and some small changes but the hotel, staff and food and our sooo comfy bed , it would not deter me from returning. May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bit sad.... Thank you the opportunity to tell you that I was ambivalent about my stay. The bed was fantastic and the room very pleasant and clean. I was greeted well on arrival and on check out. However, the following marred my experience; I was not able to share the meal I purchased with my colleagues who were booked in as a SOPHA GROUP - I couldn't fathom why? Apparently it's a big rigmarole to have taken it up to their room. But I had paid for it....So I had to sit by myself separately from my colleagues and phone someone in the group and leave a text telling them I was in the restaurant downstairs. By then I had missed the talk I came to hear and had had to sit on my own to eat-why? The restaurant staff were helpful and pleasant other than for this. Then after I left I realised I had left a completely new bottle of shampoo and one of conditioner( both large sizes and not cheap) in my room. On the Sunday after I was in the area and dropped by to ask if I could collect them. I was told nothing had been handed in. I asked what's should I do and the Receptionist repeated that nothing was handed in and .... shrugged her shoulders! Nothing more than a stare offered! Now if it had been a gold watch I suspect the receptionist would have been interested so its not then that a customer left something its that it was deemed by the member of staff to be of no interest, or no value, that was disappointing. The staff of Crowne Plaza were very not interested. Of little real value - true; and I was careless to leave them without checking. Disappointing response on a few points though ....a bit sad really. May 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good news...bad news We stayed 2 nights for a family wedding at a nearby location, so didn't get to try out any of the sporting amenities. First the good news: the breakfast was excellent with a wide range of food to suit every taste; the evening restaurant food was OK, but they were slow to replenish buffet items and a la carte choices took longer to arrive than we would have expected, given that we ate early (6.30) and were the only occupied table at the time. The bar and the service there was very good. The room was adequate and with some nice little touches, but now the bad news... - We were allocated a disabled room, although we didn't need this facility and hope we didn't displace someone who did ? - our room had a third/child's bed made up; our son, daughter-in-law and granddaughter's room (where a 3rd bed had been requested) did NOT; suspect they had got the rooms mixed up but they were quick to remedy their mistake; - the flat top furniture (desk/drawer unit) was thick with dust; - the shower was hopeless, you couldn't change height or direction and it flowed directly onto the top of the tap fittings, so it was impossible to stand under the shower. Finally, after twice having to have our room key reprogrammed, they told us not to keep it near a mobile phone as that wiped the entry key - why couldn't they tell you that on arrival ? Overall, the place is a little tired needs to smarten up to justify the prices. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Geat service Comfy beds.. Good food and service in the restaurant . Front desk Staff very friendly and helpful. Very well maintained golf courses .. May 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too hectic to be relaxing We had a lovely facial but the overall experience of our weekend away was not as we'd hoped. There is too much going on at this hotel to achieve calmness that goes with a spa weekend away. At the time of our arrival, there was a wedding in the lobby, another wedding party checking in, along with spa day ladies and golfers, just too much going on. Wedding guests the partied in the corridor loudly for two hours during the night! We won't be visiting again, at check out there was no apology for the noise and nothing was done about it during the night regardless of there being a number of complaints. May 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Last Time Over the last few months my wife and I have stayed at Five Lakes, more out of convenient location than choice. The food is poor, unchanged menu since November 2013 Poor service in the evenings, long delay is serving food where ordered, buffet menu is the alternative, again lack of choice. Towels in bathroom a joke, I have seen larger face cloths. Some staff do not understand the meaning of customer service. Delay in releasing pre authorisation of debit cards, should be immediate, hotel take up to 7 days. I refused to allow this once I found out what was happening. On every visit there have been problems, letters to the hotel do not improve things. Drinks charged that were not to my room, then disputed by the hotel staff. As they did not pre-authorise my card they should not have been able to debit the account. Hope you are never there on party nights, hotel guests receive 2nd class treatment. You will not get restaurant booking until very late in the evening. The staff could not care less. NEEDLESS TO SAY WE WILL NOT RETURN NOTWITHSTANDING MY AVAILABLE POINTS. May 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great view from room, comfortable bed. not all facilities as stated We stayed for dinner bed and breakfast for my birthday. I requested an early check in and was pleased we were allowed in to our room at 11.30. The staff were friendly and helpful. Food choice was good. Breakfast was delicious. Only small moan was that the badminton court was really just a net put up in the middle of a squash court and table tennis table was squeezed into bar area just so hotel could tick box to say they had one. pool area was very nice, would have been nicer if they had some music playing while relaxing on loungers. But overall good value, clean and comfortable with good facilities and friendly staff. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Liked to have stayed longer Got there on a very sunny evening and it was like being in Spain! What a great location,amazing service, breakfast and a very quiet room as well. Only downside for me was got there late and left early so could not use the very good looking gym. I will try and go again when I am over that way. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Attentivness I feel strongly that I need to identify two members of your staff who went above the normal service levels that I would expect as a Platinum IHG Member, having stayed within the Group over the last few years globally. I need to name Vicky in the Restaurant who served us our breakfast on Saturday 19th May along with the young man who took exceptional care of us, and our children, in the executive lounge on the same evening. Well done Crown Plaza for recruiting such customer focused staff. It goes without saying that the Hotel's facilities and atmosphere are exceptional and above expectation. April 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>