Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 254 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Upgrades make me happy Given an upgrade from twin to a suite so very pleased. Really noisy kids in next room spoilt what would otherwise have been a very enjoyable stay, why don't parents teach them to be considerate to others. Good selection at breakfast although no sign of the promised 'freshly cooked eggs'. Easy parking #free#, easy access but can be hard to find without a GPS. we'd stay there again. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from Home Excellent hotel with really attentive staff. Facilites are amazing. Theres something for everyone at this resort from business stays to families and everything inbetween. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. I have stayed at many of the hotels in the surrounding areas and none of them compare to this hotel. Personally I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else but here when I travel to the area. This hotel would be lovely for a girls weekend or a romantic getaway as its a real relaxing environment to return to from a busy day at the office or a rural relaxing getaway August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excllent Stay Excellent stay. After roaming around Europe and totally not able to justify the charges and the hotel , here comes a surprise at the end of my stay. Totally worth every penny you pay for. Have never bothered to write a review for any place till now , but couldn't hold myself from appreciating this resort. Will definitely make it a point to come here on my regular visits to UK. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent allround experience! My sons paid for myself and one other to have lunch, dinner, room and breakfast plus spa experience as a birthday present. I didnt know what to expect but kept an open mind. I was very pleased as soon as I walked into Reception as it was spectacular - clean, lovely ambiance and very smart! Reception was very helpful and explained / outlined our stay and the facilities which we could use from 10am onwards on Sat and up to 5pm on Sunday. We had a lovely lunch and the staff were great and helpful. in fact all our meals were excellent in taste, service and quantities and choice. we had access to our room straight after lunch and from then on we had a lovely relaxing and enjoyable stay. I cannot think of anything negative to say - overall it was the perfect stay. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant Great customer care. Very clean rooms. Comfortable bed. Super professional room cleaners. Restaurant staff are a dream, as is the reception team. We go to the Plaza Colchester to relax and be close to the monastery. It never fails to relax us and take care of our every need as guests who need a break. Close to London. Reasonable prices. Great staff. Great food. It's a little slice of paradise 45 minutes away from central London. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5* Service My friend and I visited last weekend and after being stuck on the M25 for hours and missing our spa treatments. The Hotel and Spa staff, rearranging our treatments for the next day, were absolutely wonderful. The rooms were great and the food was amazing. Will definitely be back August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by NEEDS LOTS OF CLEANING IN THE ROOMS. HOTEL LOBBY IS VERY NICE AND STAFF ARE REALLY HELPFUL VILLAGE ROOMS. THE HOTEL LOBBY IS SO BEAUTIFUL AND THE LAYOUT INCLUDING THE BAR AND RESTAURANT ME AND MY DAUGHTER CAME AWAY TO HAVE A BREAK WE NEEDED SPACE AND TIME AFTER LOOKING AFTER MY HUSBAND FOR 7 MONTHS. THE ROOM LOOKS NICE OVER ALL BUT WHEN YOU LOOK AT THE DETAIL IT IS NOT REALLY CLEAN, THE CARPET IS FILTHY AND DIRTY THE DOORS LEADING TO THE PORCH HAVE NOT BEEN TOUCHED OR CLEANED FOR A VERY LONG TIME, AS THERE WERE DIRTY WATER MARKS LOTS AND LOTS OF COBWEBS. THAT ALONE IS A SIGN THAT THAT AREA HAS NOT BEEN TOUCHED. WE HAD 3 SPIDERS IN THE ROOM WHICH WAS VERY OFF PUTTING AND SCARY. THE BATH ROOM WAS CLEAN BUT THE SHOWER WAS DIRTY. I WAS UP AT 2 AM WITH A SPIDER HANGING OVER OUR BED. MESSED UP MY SLEEP. THE STAFF ARE EXCELLENT. THEY ARE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THEY TOOK US AROUND THE RESORT IN THE FAMILY GULF BUGGY. THAT WAS OVER AND ABOVE. FANTASTIC STAFF.... FOOD... NOT THAT GREAT. DURING BREAKFAST I ASKED FOR TEA AND THE WAITER POURED COFFEE. I WAS GETTING MY FOOD AT THE BUFFET SO WHEN i CAME BACK HE HAD POURED IT. I DIDN'T REALISE THAT IT WAS COFFEE. ALL I REALISED WAS THAT I HAD TO PUT MORE MILK THAN NORMAL. WHEN I GULPED IT AND SWALLOWED IT WAS COFFEE. I WAS NOT HAPPY, I STOOD UP AND TOLD THE WAITER AND HE LAUGHED, I THOUGHT IT WAS NOT FUNNY BECAUSE I HAD NOT DRUNK COFFEE FOR 7 YEARS. WE EAT DINNER THE FIRST NIGHT AND WE DID NOT COME BACK TO EAT DINNER BECAUSE THE SOUP SERVED WAS VILE, ME AND MY DAUGHTER TOO A SIP AND COULDN'T TAKE ANOTHER SIP. THE COD WAS NOT WELL DONE AT ALL.. WE PAID THE WAITER WAS WORRIED BECAUSE IT SEEMED WE DIDN'T TOUCH IT, WE TOLD HER THAT IT WAS NOT NICE, IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE BEANS SOUP AND IT DID NOT TASTE LIKE BEANS AT ALL. WE WERE STILL CHARGED FOR THE SOUP. MY DAUGHTER FOUND AND ASIAN RESTAURANT AND WE WENT THERE TO EAT INSTEAD. SPA.. THE GIRLS WERE AMAZING AND GAVE A FANTASTIC TREATMENT. THEY WERE FRIENDLY AND KNEW THEIR JOB. THANK YOU SPA LADIES THAT TREATED ME AND MY DAUGHTER. MINI MANICURE AND MINI PEDICURE THE DOWNFALL WAS CLEANLINESS AND HYGIENE. THE MANAGER NEEDS TO MAKE SURE THAT NAIL TOOLS ARE KEPT STERILE AT ALL TIMES AND TOOLS SHOULD NOT BE LEFT ON THE FLOOR. METAL TOOLS NEED TO BE STERILIZED IN STERILIZING FLUID INSTEAD OF SPRAYED BEFORE THEY ARE USED ON CLIENTS. THE TOOLS ARE DIRTY. THE THERAPIST NEED BETTER FACILITIES TO BE ABLE TO STORE ITEMS CREAMS TOOLS AWAY, THEY CAN ONLY WORK WITH WHAT THEY ARE GIVEN TO WORK WITH. THIS IS AN OPERATIONS RESPONSIBILITY. THE ROOMS NEED UPGRADING TO KEEP IN STANDARD WITH THE NAME SPA.... THE ROOMS ARE VERY OUTDATED FOR THE PRICE THEY CHARGE EVEN LOCAL SALONS HAVE FANTASTIC DECOR. I WILL BOOK AGAIN TO SEE IF THERE ARE IMPROVEMENTS IN THE VILLAGE ROOMS August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stunning place with everything you could want! The 5 Lakes was our choice of Hotel for our wedding break and this was our first time at the Crowne Plaza. This was a great choice and the whole place was brilliant from the start to finish. The room was lovely and modern with quality bathroom and bed. My wife and I can not recommend highly enough and we will be staying there again (regularly) !! The price included a buffet meal and breakfast which was great. The buffet was delicious with so much range of food and the breakfast to. A+++++++++++++++++ August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 star service and accommodation, recommend ** Amazing resort, Amazing Room, Amazing staff ~ Well worth a visit :-) July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic as a Hotel, but certainly not a SPA We visited the hotel for a SPA weekend, we were very dissatisfied with the SPA facilities. I was allowed to book the SPA weekend online only then to be told that there was no availability for treatments on the Saturday, the lady managed to book us in Sunday 9:30.. So much for a lie in!!! The Pool was cold, the Sauna out of service and the steam room was in a disgraceful condition. If you just want to use the pool and fancy your nails done then great, but I have visited hotels that offer the whole SPA package at a lower cost. On arrival the front desk they said check in at 3:00 - didn't offer to look after bags. We then had to ask where the spa was!! The directions given where shocking to say the least and we eventually asked customers of the hotel wearing robes where to go and fine the SPA and to get our dressing gowns and slippers. The hotel itself though was amazing and the food in the restaurant out standing so the weekend improved. Just don't expect a nice SPA break. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious and luxurious We have stayed at the Five Lakes before and if anything it was even better than we remembered. We stayed in the main hotel which is spacious, luxurious and the staff are really friendly and helpful. July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Spa Weekend Was hoping for a relaxing break, but this was not the case. Rowdy hen/stag weekends seem to be what the crowne plaza now aims for. The spa was not relaxing, even the sleep room was noisy due to hen parties chatting and talking on mobile phones. The pool area is shared by other guests and was very busy. We were unable to get beds, so again was not relaxing. I stayed in the village, and the room was comfortable and clean but unfortunately when the nightclub finished our sleep was disturbed by noisy drunks and fighting. Crowne Plaza do yourself a favour and get rid of the nightclub. I had booked another spa break here for later in the year, but will now be going elsewhere. If you want a true spa break this is not the place to go. I left feeling more stressed than when I'd arrived. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel shame indoor tennis has been lost We stayed at the Five Lakes 18th July for 3 Nights. The rooms were excellent as was the club lounge. Our only real moan was that we had booked to use the indoor tennis courts and on arrival found they had been taken away. The outdoor courts are in dire need of repair. The main rooms and hotel great the grounds are in need of a little love and attention.. July 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A rapidly degrading level of service An extremely disappointing stay: it is getting worse every time. The room was not clean, The towels were unwashed from the previous occupant (!): I found long brown hairs and glitter in one of them. I had a carry my own tray ( a huge heavy wooden one) to my room (which was far away from the bar) because I was told the hotel was too busy to cope with room service. The staff is untrained and inattentive to people's needs. A spirit and mixer drink does not require a high level of skills and yet, you have to ask several times to get staff's attention as they drawn everything in pints of soda... The reception staff tried to avoid giving the platinum-related voucher's (second time) and clearly all requirements relating to the room (at booking stage) are ignored widely (ask for a room in the main building far from the lift, you'll get a room in the village on the second floor next to the banging doors!) It is going downhill very fast… July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superior hotel in a quiet location This was my second long(ish) trip to the Five Lakes. It isn't the easiest hotel to find and the Satnav took me to a village three miles away. Once there, it is very comfortable and well appointed with excellent fitness, spa and pool facilities. Room service was good though I think a £5 tray charge is a bit high. The bar was nice though the range of beers and wines were rather narrow compared to others I have been to. The staff were excellent and very attentive. I was charged for internet which I hadn't used but this was removed immediately from my bill. The only downside was that the aircon wasn't easy to use and the weather was excellent, leading to a few warm nights. Overall, a really nice place that I would certainly recommend it to you (if you can find it!) July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by tired room, bright light interupted sleep see other comments regarding the room allocation and the fact that the problem I raised with the hotel was not dealt with and on informing them of the problem I was given a very weak emotionless apology. The hotel looks great from the website and even the reception area, but my overall impression is that things are done (cleaning, gardening) to the minimum standard rather than aiming to excel. this must be a result of the attitude and leadership of the senior management team. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Golf Stay Fantastic value for money and two decent golf courses to test your wits. Whole package is excellent and my friends and I will definitely be back. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great night great everything Such a nice place and value for money needed longer than one night here though will be returning xxx July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, wonderful stay Staff were terrific. Surroundings beautiful. Great breakfast. Comfortable room. Fast internet. Wonderful stay. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful birthday treat My two daughters and I had a great overnight spa experience here and everything exceeded our expectations. Friendly and approachable staff. Great food. Clean and tidy room and totally relaxing spa treatment. We will be returning soon. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food Whilst the food was fine, both the buffets at dinner and breakfast were on the cold side. The plates were only hot once over the 3 days. It seems to us that the heaters are inadequate . You can place your hands underneath the lamps and feel quite low heat. I accept that the food could become dry if over heated, but the staff should be expert at gauging the right level of heat verses the uptake. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptionally large rooms A good and comfortable hotel far from the madding crowd but do not expect your sat nav to get you there as the post code is incorrect. The rooms were exceptionally on the large side and if you are a golfer and a keep fit fanatic, then this is the hotel for you. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel whilst on business. It is in a lovely peaceful and relaxing location. The quality of the facilities and food is high and the standards of customer care are excellent. There is evidence of positive on-going, on the job training for staff which is pleasing and these practices help to provide for an excellent customer experience. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Night away with Friends This resort is excellent, but the nightclub is a real noise issue, would not stay in Village Room 311 again, but would definitely return to stay in another area June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous weekend We stayed at the Crown Plaza for a girls spa retreat break for my friends birthday. So chuffed to have been allocated a suite on arrival, it was such a lovely touch and my friend had a fabulous stay. The Spa was lovely and the treatments really relaxing. The Spa is a massive bonus to this hotel, probably one of the nicest I've seen in a long time. The grounds and setting are beautiful and there are lots of outdoor areas to sit and watch the world go by. We found an empty terrace area on the 1st floor which overlooked the golf course and had the whole area to ourselves for most of the afternoon. Dinner was really great although we all chose to upgrade to the A La Carte menu as the buffet didn't look very appetising. Breakfast was also really nice and the staff in the restaurant and bar were very quick and attentive. Drinks are a little on the pricey side but this is quite normal for hotel tariffs. The majority of reception staff were really helpful although there was one particular member of the reception team who was very abrupt and quite rude. Our key card stopped working at 11.45 so I went down to reception to get it re-programmed. the queue was so long that it was after midday by the time I got to the front and she proceeded to tell me my card wasn't working because it was after midday and I should have checked out by now! I pointed out that I had been queuing and that was the reason for the lateness but was given no apology for the comment or the queue! Such a shame that one person lets the whole team down. On the whole this is a fantastic hotel and I highly recommend it for a spa or golf break. We hope to return in the very near future. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good food, comfortable bed and spacious room What a great hotel....... good food and friendly helpful staff. The room was surprisingly spacious and very comfortable. We got a very good sleep. The Spa is great and the treatments luxurious. The De-Luxe Spa break offer was very good value and we would go again. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and bed This was the first time I have had a room in the 'Village' area of this hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. Short walk from the main hotel was pleasant but may have different view if weather had been wet/windy. June 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean bed and good service Although the room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and quiet, it was very hot due to lack of air conditioning. Other rooms in the main hotel did have air con and I would recommend that you specifically ask for it if staying during warm weather. Unfortunately the meal provided to me at the dinner dance I attended at the hotel was disappointing. Staff were friendly and helpful. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feel revitalised. my husband and I took this break after needing some rest and recuperation. We had a wonderful stay, the staff were excellent, especially the barmen and waiting staff. The room was brilliant, the bed was so so so comfortable, neither of us have slept well since returning. Our only complaint was the spa. We had booked a package with three mini treatments. I had phoned the spa previously because I had a product on my toes which takes a bit longer to remove. I had been told it would not be a problem. When I re-checked with spa staff prior to my treatment they weren't very helpful and told me they wouldn't have time to do it. We were paying what I felt was a lot of money, but felt that I was dismissed. Felt the mini manicure was rushed, and Indo wish they would get decent sized robes....another bone of contention, June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by society golf break Second year at this venue and enjoyed as much as last year by all the group of 18. No complaints regards rooms, facilities, courses or food. Would recommend to others. June 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>