Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
(e.g. Apr-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 176 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel but staff dont have a clue what they are doing. Was really impressed when we got to the hotel. Myself and my partner wanted to take our young son away for the night. We planned lots of activities to do during the day time. When we got to the hotel we checked in and the receptionist said the take a 50 pound reserve out of your bank account so if you order any room service of other room charges this woul cover it. This was not stated when we booked. Never the less we payed it. After having a lovely day in clacton we reterned to the hotel. We put our son to bed and decided to order room service and a few drinks. We waited over a hour and a half for our food for it to be very poor quality food at very high prices. After our food we went to bed. I must say the beds are very comfortable. Only to be woken up by the hotel phone ringing very late at night, when my partner answered the phone the line was dead. This happened 5 times! My partned called reception to see what was going on and was told it was not them. This happend another 4 times only on the 4th time it was the resturant telling us we had to go down to pay for our room service. By this time the phone had woken up my 4 year old son. My partner was getting dressed to go down to reception and then we had a member of staff banging on the door saying we had to pay for our room service. This was past 12am! My partner went down to pay for the room service. In the morning we checked out and I asked why this had happened. If they take a reserve of 50 out of your bank for room service and other such things why was we harrased to pay our room service bill in the early hours of the morning?! Only to be told "we don't know why."All this spoiled our stay. Woke our son up and made us feel very uncomfortable. August 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Hotel is beautiful however the staff was not very helpful , on arrival we asked if we needed to book dinner and was told no, when we went to dinner there was no tables free , as we took our 4 month daughter with us we needed specific times. After complaining we did then get a table and the restaurant manager was very helpful . We was also not told to collect towels before going into the pool area so after getting unchanged and assuming towels were inside we were then told by the lifeguard to collect towels from somewhere else, although he did actually get them for us. The next day I returned to the pool and the bins were not emptied my babies swimming nappy still there ! Unfortunately these little things on top of the rain and having to leave the main hotel and walk in the rain to our room did spoil our stay. August 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The Village Stayed here as were married here years ago, we not advised when booking we would be in The Village. an add on separate part of two blocks separate from the hotel, no air con and this not mentioned nor that our Rural break would be in a busy booked out block booking part of the extension....:( no privacy in ground floor room, windows faced walk way, car parking bays and constant Block booking guests passing by, Dinner service was acceptable although facilities tired, Pool ok, Jacuzzi out of order, room bit tired and basic but again acceptable, our problems started returning from dinner to our room, again, very very public, window open as very warm had no choice, woken 12.30pm by coach returning block booking guests and leaving engine running for over 20 mins, then various mini buses followed, sit on mowers from 5am followed again by buses arriving again to collect block booked customers at 6am and running engines next to our window.....tried to finally sleep in when woken by housekeeping knocking at 9am... although check out not till 3pm? Our advice, perhaps fair for customers working or on sporting tours in groups but not for couples and families hoping for any peace or relaxation, such poor choice off room planning and miss advertising. Apparently we could have asked to move room in the middle of the night? to the main Hotel.....we question then why we were put in "The Village" block booking area in the first place, We booked an offer for Rural Essex stay for two. We didn't book a town location break....We wouldn't have had the problems in the main hotel which is where we thought and sadly presumed we had booked . We may have had a better experience in the hotel?....although can praise certain staff , could also say more that disappointed us. Make sure you question everything when booking and don't presume anything will be as advertised or the same as when you last perhaps stayed. You won't be told otherwise. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over night stay We stayed in one of the rooms in the village, which was clean, tidy and very spacious. The TV remote didn't work and the maintenance man came out within 10 minutes of reporting it broken, to fix it, bringing spare batteries with him!! We weren't able to have a treatment as they were fully booked which was a shame, I didn't read anywhere when booking that you had to book them in advance. We did use the swimming pool, sauna and steam, all of which were lovely. The service in the restaurant was friendly and the food very nice. One complaint would be that the buffet both at the evening meal and breakfast ran low of food so quees formed which wasn't great. Next time I would order off the menu. All in all a lovely break, in beautiful and peaceful grounds. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Deluxe Spar Package Excellent room + hotel + spar treatments. Excellent value for money recommended. The only quibble was at the end when I was overcharged a substantial amount for the bill. The staff were sympathetic, however I found it embarrassing having to query it in front of other customers. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent An excellent experience all round, comfort levels are high, and staff are always on hand, helpful, and polite. Facilities are superb, couldn't have asked for better. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as I'd hoped For the grandiose name and the location I was expecting more for my money at this site. Apart from the golf course, the grounds and the building were in a tired condition. The main reception and dining areas were well kept too but the pool changing rooms were worse than most I've seen in public baths, with broken toilets, missing tiles, etc. The room was very clean and the housekeeping kept it so, but we were staying in the "cottages" that had no A/C and the only ventilation from a full-size french window. When opened, this let in bugs all the time, and still offered very little ventilation as there was no through-draft. Forced A/C or a ceiling fan should be a standard even in the English climate (not to mention bug screens!) Staff were mostly friendly but the breakfast service was chaotic. Some days we got to be seated and a coffee arrived, other times we were told to go find our own seats and had to go ask for a coffee, other times we were ignored the whole time. The impression was of too few servers running about like headless chickens trying to do every job, rather than a structure with a greeting host, coffee person, and other staff keeping the buffet stocked. Food was great though and when approached the staff were not rude, but some order needed to be put in to improve the overall experience. We took lunch at the sports bar and that was a more relaxed and better-managed affair, but then there was only 3 other groups present and we food was to-order so it wasn't much to go wrong. One other gripe would be the full price WiFi connection. 16 pounds a day? are you joking? We had a discounted rate but this price is ridiculous! Overall the hotel mostly met our needs, with friendly service and accommodating staff, but I would not return. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room 308 The Village Super bathroom. Super bed and pillows. Good TV and channels. Not so good: There were some bad stains on the carpet which I thought could have been cleaned. The main unit where the tv etc was, was in a poor state. When you pulled the flap down for the tea making equipment, the inside and the edges were badly chipped . I think it should be replaced. No room thermostat so we had to have doors and window open all night. Would still stay again, but maybe, we'll get lucky and stay in the main part of the hotel. We were just a party of two for 2 nights, whereas the hotel brief says that the Village is for parties, who are here for the golf etc. August 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfy bed On arrival, our room was ready and clean. The bathroom needed a little updating i thought and both taps in the sink were leaking. Robes and slippers were not in our room but arrived very swiftly after i contacted reception. The pool and jacuzzi were a very relaxing place to spend our Monday afternoon. Our meal on Monday night was ok but only luke warm. Our table was uneven but this was quickly sorted when i pointed it out to our very pleasant waitress. The choice of dessert was a little poor and the same on both nights of our stay. I did tell Steve who was in the Brassiere that although my food on the first night was nice it was only luke warm and he swiftly went to sort it out. The food on Tuesday night was much better but disappointingly still only luke warm. This was a real shame as the steak and ale pie was fabulous. Unfortunately, the jacuzzi was also not working on Tuesday and Wednesday. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. I had been to 5 Lakes a few years ago and have to admit that i thought it wasnt as good this time. The service was excellent but it was unfortunate the food wasnt hot and the jacuzzi wasnt working for 2 days of our stay. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slow service Having booked a table for dinner at 8.30, we sat down and was asked would we like a drink, at 9.15 I asked could we have our drinks please as we still hadn't received them. We was told that at the last minute they had decided not to do a buffet so everyone was ordering off the main menu, this was causing the delay in service. We then got our dinner at 10.15. In my opinion far too late to eat and enjoy. We wasn't even offered a bread roll until I asked for one. We spoke to the duty manager who was very nice and apologetic and gave my daughter her wine for free. I'm going back this weekend with another group of friends, and really hope it runs smoothly. I have been to five lakes many times and absolutely love the place. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great value We had a one night stay with 2 grandchildren and it could not have been better. Staff helpful, room clean and ideal for our visit. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommended! Room was clean and very comfortable and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was one of rest and relaxation. I found staff friendly and polite and the facilities were excellent, the Spa was amazing and the lovely ladies who took care of me during treatments made sure I left very relaxed and stress free! I only ate from the inclusive buffet menu which was fairly good and plentiful. I would recommend this hotel as I found everything I was looking for during my three night stay there and will definitely be going back again in the near future. The hotel and grounds appeared very well maintained and clean and I did not come away with any negative feelings towards the staff or accommodation - highly recommended! August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by simply a good hotel, according to what one can expect We found comfortable rooms, though the shower needed a renovation. The corridor needed a new carpet. Some of the staff were really helpful and friendly, others were not. The food in the restaurant was good, but it was very noisy and rather dark. Good swimming pool and other amenities. Room service forgot to bring the meal, but apologized afterwards. Breakfast could improve, arriving later we found less choice. In fact not bad at all, but fails to deserve a fourth star. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Executive Club rooms lovely but showers a let down Stayed for 2 nights. The toilet was not working properly, the shower was disappointing with mould on tiles and rust. On the second day toilet could not be fixed so had to move to another room the next day. On arrival in new room the shower was better but still had small traces of mould. The safe box did not work. The manager did give a discount on checkout. Overall the rooms were really nice, beds comfortable and very large. The dinner included in price was limited ad desserts the same on both evenings. The Club lounge was not what I expected. There is a TV that is too small for the size of the lounge. The staff had to be asked to refill the soft drinks. The white wine was horrible you could have got better in a supermarket. The snacks were awful dried onion Barjees and tiny tasteless crispbread with dry vegetables no other choices. There is one computer that is on a table that is too high for the computer. I did not sample the club lounge breakfast . The full breakfast was really nice and good choices. The hotel has got to bring this club lounge into the 21-st century. The jacuzzi is a lovely size but does not give any powerful bubbles. The jets are not working properly. The steam room does not steam up as it should. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel A fantastic hotel for our young family with excellent facilities. Our second visit here and I am sure we will return! August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value but food could be better Lovely, well-maintained grounds; clean and comfortable room (though it could have done with AC); friendly and helpful staff, if not always enough of them; dinner menu was somewhat limited and the food at was ok, but breakfast was very good. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Last minute booking for wedding anniversary...hotel was fantastic, lovely clean room with everything we needed for our stay,buffet evening meal and breakfast was lovely along with friendly helpful staff..will definitely book again :) almost forgot the swimming pool added extra and much needed to relax. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wow Absolute bliss, fantastic resort, idealic setting. Staff great, could not possibly have asked for more. Will most definately return soon. HIGHLY RECOMMEND A STAY HERE. August 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but doesn't quite meet expectations Hotel, staff and food good. Decor starting to look tired particularly the room. It was advertised to have a safe in the room which was found to be deactivated, mini bar now just a fridge. Cleanliness is the biggest issue though, on arrival found hair in the shower tray, we informed reception who sent the duty manager. He looked and agreed to get it addressed, but nothing was done by the following morning. Also in the shower we saw black mould in the tile grouting and cracked tiles, hardly hygienic or what you would expect at a hotel such as this. August 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a few mistakes Upon arriving on my wedding night with my new husband we was upgraded to an executive room which we thought was lovely. First night sleep was brilliant. Ready for breakfast we went down to find a full English which cost £16.75 EACH! The girl showed us to our table and then went to get some change. Whilst we were getting our breakfast, a 2nd couple were seated where we was supposed to go and then the girl went to give them our change! Obviously I had to get the girls attention to rectify the mistake forcing us to find another table to sit at. When we got back to our room, we decided to opt in for the £14.95 special offer of Internet and movies. It was supposed to include for laptops, yet my husband could not get online through his laptop and the wireless keyboard for the TV Internet would not work properly. There was also blood spots on the quilt for our bed. We finally chose a film to watch and 10 minutes into the film, there is a knock at the door. Apparently there is a leak from our shower that has gone down to the first floor and then down into the restaurant. At this point we have not even been at the hotel for 12 hours. So forced to pack everything up we are then moved to another room. Granted we was moved to a suite which we was grateful for but this should not have happened in the first place. It then took around 2-3 hours for the special offer bundle to be transferred to our new room. We thought to ourselves because of the hassle we would book to stay in the suite another night or have a discount for staying another night. So I went and paid £100 cash for the extra night. But we soon changed our minds and got our money back but the treatment was not the only reason. One lovely thing the Duty Manager did was bring up complementary champagne. That night we ordered room service and the wrong order was brought up, so I had to call down and then wait another 20-30 mins for them to bring up the correct meal (pizza and garlic bread) which was a little too soft on the underside on both Pizzas Due to the amount of mistakes I am not sure if we would stay again. The hotel itself is of a superb standard decoration wise and the facilities are tremendous. The staff were helpful and we were grateful for the upgrades and complementary wine but we could not relax properly. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good experience We have been visiting for the past 15 years. The quality of service has been excellent and has not changed even with the new management Staff are very responsive to customer's queries. Happy to recommend. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow fantastic place Have a great first time at five lakes it was lovely staff were very helpfull and polite we had such a good time that we have already book to come back in October :-)))))))) August 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by MIS SOLD ROOM We were mis sold the room over the telephone. Telling us we would have air conditioning in the room. When we turn up we find there was no Air conditioning. Only thing staff could do is provide us with a fan. Had a card saying enjoy your refreshments but there were no refreshments. As per confirmation letter robe and slippers were provided but they were not. Balcony with room was dirty. Paid to include dinner but unless you wanted the buffet you would struggle to have a three course dinner. Very noisy until 1am and then started again at 8am next morning due to gospel singing in function room. Doors were all open so very noisy. . We were offered to come back with a 50% reduction but we never received the email promised. Overall experience not very good. Would not come back to this hotel. August 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A little disappointed Having stayed here before I decided to book myself and my husband in to the plaza on his return from Afghanistan. Our room was ok but my son found a t shirt under his bed which I have to say did put me off as I then began to doubt if the room was in fact cleaned properly before our arrival? It was very hot during our stay and was saddened to find that the air con didn't work not helpful!!! The toilet roll holder was broken and this I think is not on when staying in this type of hotel general maintenance should be upheld. We later tried to order room service and although it was gone 11pm we saw on our room service menu that pizzas were available. However after ordering two pizzas, fifteen minutes later our phone rang to say that they had in fact run out of pizzas and that we had an out of date menu. We re ordered sandwiches and had a bottle of wine on the house, but to be honest I expect more from this type of hotel We personally would really have to consider whether or not we would stay again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Everything I wanted in one place for a fantastic price. All staff where very helpfull, especially a young lady called Rachel who showed us around and made sure we had everything We needed August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Rooms The bedrooms are excellent; they are spacious with comfortable beds and were recently refurbished. Interconnecting rooms are great for the children. The bathroom is also large with separate bath and shower. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Relaxing Break Staying at this well maintained and bright hotel was a super experience which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. I enjoyed the excellent golf course with friends, whilst my wife was enjoying the delights of the spa. Well, what can I say about the food, absolutely gorgeous, tasty, hot, made fresh to order and excellent service. The bar was well stocked and the staff very nice ondeed. Would recommend. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely break, bed just enveloped you My husband and I stayed one night for his birthday and we will go back as found the hotel in a lovely location, comfort wise could not fault, loved the pool as had it very quiet when I used it, paid extra for the executive so as to stay in the main building but did have a few issues with the guest lounge but were resolved. We went in to Mersea Island for the afternoon (having been there before) and as weather was kind to us we had a good walk round for a few hours. All in all a great weekend. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room for standard rate This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and will definitely come again, in fact have already booked for my wife's birthday in September. The standard rooms are spacious and well equipped, the spa is lovely and the bar and brasserie relaxed, but smart with an excellent range of food and drinks, especially the champagne. July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not very child friendly We went to the hotel for a long weekend to celebrate a friend's birthday as it had golf courses for the men and a spa for the ladies, but most importantly, as there were two babies in the group, it claimed to be child friendly. While the golf courses and spa easily met our expectations (the pool was fabulously big and the treatments were divine#, the service within the rest of the hotel was depressingly poor, with poor room cleaning #empty bottles left on tables#, dreadful 'creche' #just a bland room with a couple of easels, a few books and a giant Connect 4# and bad customer service #was told I'd have to wait an hour for a table to give my 1yr old lunch when the restaurant was half full#. The absolute low point was on the first night, again in a half empty restaurant, when our babysitter was unable to get a message through to one of our party in the restaurant, when there was a problem with her 3 month old. #There was no mobile phone reception so she had to rely on the hotel's switchboard, but she knew exactly where we would be and told the hotel staff accordingly.# I won't relive the whole saga, but in essence one of the staff decided not to take five minutes to find the relevant parent to pass the message on #as the table was booked by someone else in our group# and no one bothered to tell our babysitter, who was in our room, that that was the case, so she believed that we had received the message but hadn't bothered to go to help. The next day we were assured that this was a 'significant issue' and there would be a full investigation into what happened and things would be sorted, but I would never go back there again, particularly with children, and wouldn't recommend it either. July 26, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>