Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 224 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Having recently received a survey to comment on the hotel I found that as a platinum member I should have received a complimentary drink or extra points. This was not the case and I expect the hotel to add those points retrospectively. We were told that we had been upgraded but the condition of the bathroom was dated to say the least. An upgrade suggests something a little extra but there were none. What does the hotel normally provide? Dinner allowance was set menu but soup and main course were lukewarm. Dinner and breakfast staff were polite but indifferent to customers' needs e.g. no bread offered at dinner until a manager happened to notice it had not been offered, an extra charge for coffee requested at breakfast.. Room key had been "deactivated" before arrival at room except that this did not happen again despite identical methods of carrying the card, no 2nd card offered despite 2 guests. There are huge gaps in provision at this hotel . December 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay. Amazing hotel - Just a few minor moans I stayed here with my aunty and we stayed for the Deluxe Overnight Stay. Good points: We arrived early (before 3) and was able to check in to our room as it was ready. Check in was quick and easy. The room was very clean and appealing, the beds were very comfortable and the pre-ordered items were already in the room. The spa treatments were really really good, I would definitely recommend the Indian head massage. The spa rooms were really relaxing. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurants was amazing. We ordered a Panini and snacks from the bar area, buffet dinner and breakfast which was included in our price. The breakfast had a choice of your normal full English or continental. Never saw any of the entertainment/nightclub as we decided to watch movies in bed instead. Bad Points: These are only minor but if the hotel staff sorted these out they could potentially be perfect. Firstly the spa treatments weren't as long as they described, however as mentioned before they were amazing. I was told before I arrived that there would be robes and slippers in our room, these weren't there and we had to ask for them. The 3 course buffet meal that was included in the price could have been better. The main course was really good but because of the layout and options of starters and dessert we didn't bother with these therefore not really a 3 course meal. I would say to make a small set menu which can be served to you rather then making you go up for it and upgrading to another menu with more options if needed. Someone had left their breakfast tray outside our room and we saw a member of staff standing outside and thought they would have picked it up, so didn't bother calling reception. When we went down for breakfast the next morning the tray was still there, therefore the member of staff had just ignored it. Lastly and this is just my preference I found that the pillows were too high and hard for my liking. Maybe a variety is needed? Overall a really good enjoyable, relaxing experience and would definitely go back. December 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort, peace and quiet. Very well designed, and sprawling hotel set in the isolation of peaceful countryside. (Make sure you have the correct postcode and a satnav!) Elegant reception area with grand piano (if only I knew how to play it - or someone!). Extraordinarily comfortable beds and well-maintained rooms. All fittings very tasteful. Bathroom floor tiles rather slippery, so take care. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were there for a function, and, as usual in hotels, more bar staff were needed to cope with demand. Food at the function and also at breakfast was very well prepared and presented. Had the pool and spa facilities to ourselves on Sunday morning which was an added bonus to a thoroughly comfortable stay. Highly recommend. November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing, break Was feeling a little apprehensive about our stay here due too bad reviews left by other customers ( we stayed here due to gift vouchers given to us as a present ) but we had no need to worry as our break here was lovely , the room was lovely, clean and comfortable the treatments were great and the food was lovely (dinner, breakfast, lunch) and staff very polite and friendly. There was one minor little issue that cropped up in the spa over the two treatments each we had booked to have done the receptionist had not been informed that the lazy spa package had been recently upgraded from one too two treatments each but she just doubled checked with bookings and problem solved. we would without doubt come and stay here again . ************ November 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Conference experience Very disappointing. Sound system is very important for a conference and system failed and there was no support . November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful rooms My mum and I had the most relaxing spa weakend. Wonderful breakfast and generous buffet dinner. We used the spa and swimming pool. Loved ever moment at the hotel and would lovet to return November 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed but Poor Service I stayed 4 nights in the Hotel for a conference. The hotel bedrooms were very clean and to a high standard. The cleaning staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room staff were very friendly and helpful. What let the hotel down for me were 4 things: 1) The check in staff were unhelpful and lacked knowledge of the event I was attending and knew nothing of the WIFI access for the conference. 2) While the bar food was good, the bar service was poor and the food was delayed. On arrival a 3 pm waiting more than1 hour for bar food when there was only 10 people in the bar was poor. Then to be asked to pay on receipt of the food because the staff shift was changing was unacceptable. The service at all of the bars at the various events was poor and didn't really improve. 3) The meeting rooms were adequate but could do with a makeover. 4) Mobile phone signal was very hit and miss. November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 If they just closed the corridors external doors.... SUPERB hotel. Attended a conference. Had to travel thru the corridors a million times (well, almost). The corridors had for whatever unknown reasons, always, doors open to the external. With freezing cold. Not funny coming back home with an unnecessary cold. To be fixed. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Service , helpfulness and attention to detail Thoroughly enjoyed my latest stay, the reception staff were helpful and accommodating and the restaurant staff were exceptionally helpful and arranged a special meal for me for the banquet which was very much appreciated. Only one recommendation - the bath towels were hand towel size. Parking was very convenient and I wished the conference had left time for a spa visit. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the bed, food needs improvement The room was great, much bigger than I was expecting for a standard room and I had two great nights' sleep on a super comfortable bed. Food was very mixed, however. Room menus say pizzas available 24hrs but at 11:30pm only sandwiches available. The egg and salad sandwich arrived without salad. Sausages at breakfast were amongst the tastiest I've ever had, but the scrambled eggs were dire. They tasted like powdered egg. Pastries were lovely. Staff were lovely, very helpful. Overall, I would be happy to stay here again. November 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Shoddy service and stewed tea I stayed here for a conference, which included a banquet dinner. The vegetarian main course was a sloppy soufflé and a piece of cold focaccia. I complained to the head waiter that, compared with the roast dinner for the meat eaters, the quality of the meal was poor. The head waiter simply replied "That's what was ordered". The tea served in breaks was stewed in an urn. I'm not sure what penny pinching leads to this as the preferred method for serving tea. At breakfast there was no pot of tea or coffee per individual. Therefore the inadequate numbers of waiting staff seemed run off their feet serving stewed (again) tea and coffee from large pots. I have never written a complaint before about a hotel or conference centre. November 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor disabled facilities in room Unable to shower in supposedly disabled room! Shower was in a bath so not accessible to me as a wheelchair user. Toilet also too low as was unable to get off independently. Drop down bar was too wide apart as you can't push up from this position! Not a disabled friendly room at all. A wet room would have made a difference so will not stay here again as a disabled person. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Break Well, what can I say about this place, absolutely brilliant, food was excellent, rooms very clean and spacious, great showers, staff friendly and very competent, especially that guy in the bar called James - couldn't do enough for you. Well done Crowne Plaza. This place is under new Management and is doing very well indeed, excellent. November 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by unhappy weekend room was clean, tidy & comfortable, bathroom was clean, very strong smell of bleach that lingered for the whole of our stay, it was very dated, rusty curtain pole, loose telephone socket in a bathroom, extractor fan didn't work so when shower was used, bathroom & bedroom become full of steam, had to open all windows, on the upside the shower was fantastic, best shower ever!! Wasn't until we returned home we realised we had left two items in the wardrobe ( a dress & a mens shirt), so I immediately rang & explained, was told by reception they would look into it & ring me back, 1hr passed, no call, I rang again, was told housekeeping was updating system, & would ring me back in half an hour, 1 hr later I rang again to be told yes my items had been found, so I explained someone would collect the next day. When my friend turned up to collect only one of my items was returned, I rang again told by reception house keeping was not answering & she would ring me back, which she did, said housekeeping only found one item!! but the day before they had both my items! I know at the end of the day I shouldnt have left these items, but you would think I would have been contacted to say these items were left, but I had no contact, I had to do all the ringing! No point in our stay did it feel special, this was to be, a rare weekend away for us & we feel it was a poor value for money! November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An excellent nights stay Good food, nice room and fab service... will be back soon.. November 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nearly good After a 2 1/2 hour car journey with two children we were told we could only eat in the restaurant at 830 and the nearest local restaurant was a Chinese and that was it. We talked to the restaurant ourselves and were kindly given a table for 630 but sadly we wished we hadn't turned up. The kids' food wasn't brilliant and although the adults' food tasted good the service was extremely slow and shambolic. It made the evening stressful and very long. The bedrooms are great and really comfy and the leisure facilities are good but the restaurant would put us off returning particularly as there aren't any local alternatives. It's a shame as it is our second visit and we love that it is so near Colchester zoo. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FIVE LAKES IS FIVE STAR!!! Been to this hotel several times and always love my stay. Service is superb and rooms are always clean and comfortable. I would recommend a stay here to anyone even if you're not a golfer!! One thing to moan about is they still don't have free wi fi in the public areas!! November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Lazy Sunday Spa Break From the time we walked into the hotel to the time we left all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable - like lying on a cloud. The two mini treatments I had at the Spa were conducted by a lovely girl who was very good at her job and made me feel pampered. I cannot fault the hotel. It was just as I have found it to be on other occasions that I have stayed there. Perfect! Thank you for a totally relaxing time. October 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NICE HOTEL BUT VERY DISPOINTED It is a lovely hotel but not what i expected after staying last year. When we checked in they were going to take an extra 100.00 for room service which i had not asked for and was not told when i book the rooms that that would happen. We were also told that there would be robes in our rooms and when we got to the rooms there was no robes so had to go and asked for them. The rooms were lovely apart from in the room i was stayng in there was blood all over the carpet and toilet paper and te safein te room did not work. In my mother in laws room the toilet did not flush. The food was rubbish was ment to get a choice of either a set menu or buffet you dont!! When they book your table for the dinner they are ment to ask you would you want and they dont. You have to have the buffet that had onions in everything and bananas in the deserts when asked a member of staff if any of the food had onions in as i cant not eat them all i got told was yes and not offered anything else!!! And my mother in law does not like bananas so we asked for ice cream and had to wait for it then when it turned up it had fruit in it and strawberry ice cream aswell it was just a disaster. The drinks are so over priced there was four of us and we got four drinks which costed nearly 20.00. We didnt sleep much either due to the amount of noise in the rooms next to us banging doors shouting and everything else we did not get to sleep til 5am in the morning then we got woke up by a newpaper being put under the door and it was flaping about making noise. Some of the staff are really friendly and helped with any enquires that we had .I think they need to get more staff in at meal times as they seemed under staffed and the staff that was there was running around like headless chickens. The breakfast was really nice and didnt have a problem with that. They have a lot of issues that in sortng out. apart from that the spa was really nice and well looked after the lifegards in there are really friendly. October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing spa break Stayed with a friend in celebration of my birthday. Reception staff were very unhelpful and had poor knowledge or our spa package. They did not tell us about the location and times of meals, or where any of the facilities were, instead we had to ask all the questions. Not a great start! Robes and slippers were not provided in the room, wanted these for using the spa facilities. Our room was fantastic though. Spacious and comfortable, bathroom was lovely and clean and views over the grounds was stunning. This made up for our poor experience at reception. Spa and mini treatments were great, relaxation room was nice too. Also made use of the swimming pool, steam room and jacuzzi. Got there by 10am and by midday, was much busier, so would recommend getting there for 9-10am during the week. Restaurant and bar staff were friendly and attentive. My friend is a Coeliac and they couldn't help enough, so my friend knew what food was wheat and gluten free. Drinks were pricey, but expected for a hotel. The option for GF bread at lunch was welcomed too. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We arrived for our Lazy Sunday Spa Break and from the moment we arrived it certainly lived up to its name. So relaxing in every way. Staff were very helpful. Food excellent. Facilities excellent. Comfortable bed which meant a good nights sleep. We will certainly be booking again. October 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing return visit I went on this simply spa break with a large group of friends, this was a return visit for us as we had such a fantastic time last year. The break was a little more expensive than last year but no more than you would expect, Unfortunately it seems that while the price has gone up the content of the break had diminished greatly. Last year we had a fantastic buffet lunch, this was replaced with the choice of a salad, sandwich or Panini, which took an hour to be served while we sat in a freezing restaurant! The receptionist in the spa we found rather rude and while last year the inclusive treatment was a mini facial this year it was a manicure or pedicure, okay you may think but this turned out to be a nail paint of either your fingers or toes, a bit of stretch calling it a manicure/pedicure, and the paint was chipping after 1 day for most of us. The treatments we paid extra for were excellent! The robes were rather overused and some were holey. The rooms and service were very good and the evening meal excellent, The nightclub was an experience to say the least , haven't been anywhere like it since I was 15! The DJ was very happy in his work to the extent that he wouldn't deviate from his chosen set and played only hard core club music and considering the younger members of our group (early 20's# found it heavy going, hardly anyone was dancing, so we retired to one of our rooms with ipod and docking station and own booze and had our own party. A missed opportunity by the hotel as that was 13 of us not drinking at the bar #which was mega expensive!). After a good nights sleep in the amazing beds we found breakfast to be a rather frenetic affair, we couldn't get a table in the same restaurant let alone sitting together and it was rather hit and miss what you got as the full buffet repertoire was never all ready at the same time! One final complaint there was nowhere to get a drink in the spa. last year they offered complimentary tea coffee & juice. You couldn't even buy any this year and it was inconvenient to go to the bar! All in all a disappointment based on previous experience and we may choose an alternative venue next year. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two Adults and Two Young Children Initial engagement with the staff was positive and having a three year old and 4 month old baby, staff were able to cater to our needs and accomodate us in a room with ample space for a Queen bed, cot and single bed. The staff throughout our stay were attentive, friendly and informative. At breakfast, we were tended to promptly and seated at a table which allowed enough space for our buggy. Sumit, Operations Manager, was an absolute legend and recommended local sites for visiting and was all round extremely helpful. Room service, although of a high quality, forgot what our order was but very apologetic and compensated with a freebie. Definitely not a trip to forget quickly and we will be booking again soon. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by On the surface ok but a lot of issues to sort out Although the hotel looks the real deal , it's missing a lot , basically ok . Prices far too high for quality of what's on offer , the spa treatments are way off the mark , poor facials very basic and way overpriced . I have stayed in many similar with far better service and spa staff actually know what they are doing . I made the mistake of visiting the night club ,and bought 1 drink which was supposed to be vodka and coke but tasted like water , completely flat . The batman said it was £4.50 and so I gave him £10 only to be given 50pence change . I questioned this and he said I gave him a fiver , funny that as I didn't have anything smaller than £10 notes , this can only point out that there is alot of fiddling going on , I couldn't be bothered to argue with him for £5 but needless to say I didn't buy any ore and left very shortly afterwards . If you're thinking I may be a bit tight , I would like to point out that at dinner I bought a bottle of vueve cliquet , which was nice and cold but again way overpriced at £69 but heh ho. Get the right staff and sort out the issues and you could be onto a winner but alot of work to do . Won't catch me there again !!!! October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room and friendly helpful staff but so crowded and noisy. Loved the spacious, comfortable room, especially the bed. Loads of stations on the TV and bathroom was clean and modern. The food was also excellent, at the evening buffet and for breakfast. The staff were hepful and courtious. The only thing that spoilt this special occasion for us was the raucous and noisy hen parties that hogged the jaccuzzi and steam room and created so much noise during dinner that we could hardly hear ourselves think. In fact the maitre d'e came over to apologise for the level of noise. It was the same at breakfast, although the spa was quieter on Sunday morning. Also we thought that the drinks were vastly overpriced reaching, if not going beyond, London prices. Although the facilities were great, we wouldnt book to go again as our relaxing weekend turned out to be far from relaxing. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel We ordered this through GroupOn so got a great deal. The room was fantastic and the staff really helpful. The breakfast buffet and the Bistro 51 restaurant meal were fantastic. Brilliant Spa also. Only criticism - the cocktail bar could have had a better cocktail menu and it was a bit expensive. Otherwise, our stay was perfect. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend Visited for a spa weekend with friends and everything was excellent. Very welcoming staff who also checked on three occasions if we were happy with our stay. Rooms very comfortable and will equipped. Good selection of food for all meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Spa treatments wonderful. Excellent value on this package and would definitely return. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended... The hotel facilities are extensive you have all the recreation that you need. Food wise very good choice and very good service culture. All in all a memorable stay which I will repeat soon October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by cleaning required We found the hotel staff very nice and polite, the rooms themselves were tidy and well equipped, our only complaints were (1) bathroom, around the base of the taps we found had not been cleaned very well and had grime build up, the taps were not clean, also the shower area tiling had lots of dirty/stained grout, around the bath there was black mildew staining, the bath non slip mat also had mildew stains on it, and I refused to use it, we felt the bathroom let the hotel down, and that it needed some updating/revamping. also (2) I don't know if it is because of the area water hard/soft?, but any tea/coffee we made we found "scum" floating on the top of the drink? although even when we used the supplied bottle of drinking water it appeared but not as much, so we presume this scum is a combination of the local water and the lime scale build up in the kettle? October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and facilities great. I stayed at the Plaza with a girlfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed the spa treatments, the only thing I would say is that my treatment was supposed to be 30minuts, but I believe it was more like 20, but most enjoyable and the young lady was very pleasant. The only other issue was that when we were eating at the restaurant a couple of people just addressed my friend and not both of us, I even joked with my friend that I must be 'invisiable'. This aside, we both thoroughly enjoyed our time and it was very relaxing. I would certainly recommend this place to our friends. October 10, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>