Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 234 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We arrived for our Lazy Sunday Spa Break and from the moment we arrived it certainly lived up to its name. So relaxing in every way. Staff were very helpful. Food excellent. Facilities excellent. Comfortable bed which meant a good nights sleep. We will certainly be booking again. October 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing return visit I went on this simply spa break with a large group of friends, this was a return visit for us as we had such a fantastic time last year. The break was a little more expensive than last year but no more than you would expect, Unfortunately it seems that while the price has gone up the content of the break had diminished greatly. Last year we had a fantastic buffet lunch, this was replaced with the choice of a salad, sandwich or Panini, which took an hour to be served while we sat in a freezing restaurant! The receptionist in the spa we found rather rude and while last year the inclusive treatment was a mini facial this year it was a manicure or pedicure, okay you may think but this turned out to be a nail paint of either your fingers or toes, a bit of stretch calling it a manicure/pedicure, and the paint was chipping after 1 day for most of us. The treatments we paid extra for were excellent! The robes were rather overused and some were holey. The rooms and service were very good and the evening meal excellent, The nightclub was an experience to say the least , haven't been anywhere like it since I was 15! The DJ was very happy in his work to the extent that he wouldn't deviate from his chosen set and played only hard core club music and considering the younger members of our group (early 20's# found it heavy going, hardly anyone was dancing, so we retired to one of our rooms with ipod and docking station and own booze and had our own party. A missed opportunity by the hotel as that was 13 of us not drinking at the bar #which was mega expensive!). After a good nights sleep in the amazing beds we found breakfast to be a rather frenetic affair, we couldn't get a table in the same restaurant let alone sitting together and it was rather hit and miss what you got as the full buffet repertoire was never all ready at the same time! One final complaint there was nowhere to get a drink in the spa. last year they offered complimentary tea coffee & juice. You couldn't even buy any this year and it was inconvenient to go to the bar! All in all a disappointment based on previous experience and we may choose an alternative venue next year. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two Adults and Two Young Children Initial engagement with the staff was positive and having a three year old and 4 month old baby, staff were able to cater to our needs and accomodate us in a room with ample space for a Queen bed, cot and single bed. The staff throughout our stay were attentive, friendly and informative. At breakfast, we were tended to promptly and seated at a table which allowed enough space for our buggy. Sumit, Operations Manager, was an absolute legend and recommended local sites for visiting and was all round extremely helpful. Room service, although of a high quality, forgot what our order was but very apologetic and compensated with a freebie. Definitely not a trip to forget quickly and we will be booking again soon. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by On the surface ok but a lot of issues to sort out Although the hotel looks the real deal , it's missing a lot , basically ok . Prices far too high for quality of what's on offer , the spa treatments are way off the mark , poor facials very basic and way overpriced . I have stayed in many similar with far better service and spa staff actually know what they are doing . I made the mistake of visiting the night club ,and bought 1 drink which was supposed to be vodka and coke but tasted like water , completely flat . The batman said it was £4.50 and so I gave him £10 only to be given 50pence change . I questioned this and he said I gave him a fiver , funny that as I didn't have anything smaller than £10 notes , this can only point out that there is alot of fiddling going on , I couldn't be bothered to argue with him for £5 but needless to say I didn't buy any ore and left very shortly afterwards . If you're thinking I may be a bit tight , I would like to point out that at dinner I bought a bottle of vueve cliquet , which was nice and cold but again way overpriced at £69 but heh ho. Get the right staff and sort out the issues and you could be onto a winner but alot of work to do . Won't catch me there again !!!! October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room and friendly helpful staff but so crowded and noisy. Loved the spacious, comfortable room, especially the bed. Loads of stations on the TV and bathroom was clean and modern. The food was also excellent, at the evening buffet and for breakfast. The staff were hepful and courtious. The only thing that spoilt this special occasion for us was the raucous and noisy hen parties that hogged the jaccuzzi and steam room and created so much noise during dinner that we could hardly hear ourselves think. In fact the maitre d'e came over to apologise for the level of noise. It was the same at breakfast, although the spa was quieter on Sunday morning. Also we thought that the drinks were vastly overpriced reaching, if not going beyond, London prices. Although the facilities were great, we wouldnt book to go again as our relaxing weekend turned out to be far from relaxing. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel We ordered this through GroupOn so got a great deal. The room was fantastic and the staff really helpful. The breakfast buffet and the Bistro 51 restaurant meal were fantastic. Brilliant Spa also. Only criticism - the cocktail bar could have had a better cocktail menu and it was a bit expensive. Otherwise, our stay was perfect. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend Visited for a spa weekend with friends and everything was excellent. Very welcoming staff who also checked on three occasions if we were happy with our stay. Rooms very comfortable and will equipped. Good selection of food for all meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Spa treatments wonderful. Excellent value on this package and would definitely return. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended... The hotel facilities are extensive you have all the recreation that you need. Food wise very good choice and very good service culture. All in all a memorable stay which I will repeat soon October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by cleaning required We found the hotel staff very nice and polite, the rooms themselves were tidy and well equipped, our only complaints were (1) bathroom, around the base of the taps we found had not been cleaned very well and had grime build up, the taps were not clean, also the shower area tiling had lots of dirty/stained grout, around the bath there was black mildew staining, the bath non slip mat also had mildew stains on it, and I refused to use it, we felt the bathroom let the hotel down, and that it needed some updating/revamping. also (2) I don't know if it is because of the area water hard/soft?, but any tea/coffee we made we found "scum" floating on the top of the drink? although even when we used the supplied bottle of drinking water it appeared but not as much, so we presume this scum is a combination of the local water and the lime scale build up in the kettle? October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and facilities great. I stayed at the Plaza with a girlfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed the spa treatments, the only thing I would say is that my treatment was supposed to be 30minuts, but I believe it was more like 20, but most enjoyable and the young lady was very pleasant. The only other issue was that when we were eating at the restaurant a couple of people just addressed my friend and not both of us, I even joked with my friend that I must be 'invisiable'. This aside, we both thoroughly enjoyed our time and it was very relaxing. I would certainly recommend this place to our friends. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great facilities ... Staff shocking Hotel is well maintained and lovely, however rude batman, poor service from resturant and breakfast being more suited to a school lunch room detracted from the stay! October 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms and lovely massage First impressions where very good, checked into room 3hrs early, hotel nice & rooms lovely. The Spa, massage & therapists where lovely however was disappointed that the bar in spa not open especially on such a busy day, bit annoying having to go downstairs to get a coffee. Leisure facilities ok but sauna had no water and jacuzzi button broken so had to wait for timer to kick back in, apparently has been like this for a while. Lunch & dinner included in our package, lunch was a massive disappointment had to ask for rolls, there was no chilli con carni left, the rice had gone hard under the lights & pasta was mush, not what you would expect for a buffet lunch, dinner didn't look much better so decided to upgrade to Catch 22 restaurant but then had to wait an extra hour for a table. We ordered a bottle of wine in the bar which they didn't have so ordered an alternative, waited for 20 mins as they had to find a cork screw, apparently they don't have these in the bar!! Dinner was very nice when we eventually ate it, my steak was over cooked at first so I ended up eating separately from my husband, but apart from that staff and food great. I did mention my disappointments to reception & was told a manager would come and speak to me in the restaurant but nobody came!! Beakfast was very average. The rooms where lovely however the shower was so powerful for the little shower curtain it flooded the bathroom, perhaps screens would be a better option. I wouldn't stay here again, we ended up spending £400 for 1 night , think for a 4 star there where too many things not quite up to scratch & what seemed a good deal wasn't after all. October 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and that's it Stayed here for a wedding. The village room was tired, run-down and in urgent need of refurbishment. Bed was comfortable. Dinner in nerve restaurant was fine, but staff we very confused about breakfast options available. Room service meal was terrible and if I was in the restaurant I would have sent the meal back. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely room The rooms are great and beds very comfortable. Service was very good as well and food in the restaurant was tasty. Would stay here again. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Golfing with friends Two decent courses which are a fair challenge to all abilities. Nice and flat if you prefer walking as I do. Hotel rooms superb, comfortable beds very necessary after a good walk! Very friendly staff at hand in reception. Plenty to do if you have spare energy. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money This was my fourth stay at the crown plaza I cannot recommend it enough it is a lovely hotel food is amazing and the spa is jus perfect we stayed on the deluxe package and its worth every penny will be returning next year.. Highly recommend September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Really enjoyed our stay and golfing break. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Golf courses and hotel facilities were very good. Would definitely recommend to others! September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel A lovely hotel to stay in, facilities excellent, lovely location as well. Gym and Pool great. We felt the evening buffet was not up to standard but breakfast was excellent. I would stay there again and recommend the hotel to friends. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Indifferent experience Interesting stay..... room and swimming pool area were fantastic as were the golf courses. The stay, however, was let down by the eateries and it's employees of a dinner time. On Saturday night we were down to eat at half nine which according to the person I spoke to on the phone was the only time that was available. Anyway we went to dinner at 9.15 to find it half empty. So we were taking to our table by the helpful lady on the desk and from there it went down. Our party was made to feel as if we were keeping the place open and the staff did nothing to ease any tensions over the course of our meal. Also we were not informed what our dinner included and by this point we all decided to eat from the buffet as we were starving and presumed this was all there was to eat as nobody told us any different. The Buffet food itself was good but the food area looked a little tired and nobody was manning the buffet area. We had a moan and the next night were told a place earlier in the evening had come up (like magic) and to be fair on Sunday the whole process was better and I had the most beautiful steak but not a fan of stonehenge chips.... Oh actually I ordered peppercorn sauce that never materialised..... On a better note your breakfast team were fantastic and barring a lack of sausages one morning everything in the a.m. side of things was amazing.... Overall I enjoyed my stay but I don't moan as much as others in my group!!! September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely location & great room We had a lovely w/e break in a comfortable room & a beautiful location with varied facilities to accommodate all. When arriving back to our room, was greeted by some fruit & bottled water - Extra little touches. The staff were very polite & helpful but the buffet breakfast was somewhat cold on some mornings. The location is close to places of interest near by (walks & parks) & Maldon etc town. Lovely quiet location & we'll definitely be staying again. September 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A functional hotel with no particular luxury The one night we stayed was at the beginning of September. The weather was not cold so we hoped to have the window open. The window was broken and would not stay open. We put the air conditioner on cold but the room was pretty hot all night. We both had an uncomfortable night. However on the plus side the bed was extremely comfortable. The whole hotel could do with a complete re decoration. There was mould in the shower and a lot of the carpets were stained. For one night it was pretty adequate . September 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great experience Looks very impressive and rooms clean and comfortable. However, management is very poor - when my party of five arrived there was a mix up as they thought there were 10 of us staying in two rooms? It was supposed to have been sorted but on checking out discovered that they hadn't amended their records and they wanted to charge us nearly double what we were expecting. Luckily I had my booking confirmation so we didn't have to pay that and our bill was amended accordingly. Three of my party had manicures which weren't very good and looked as though they could have been done at home - they didn't last long either. The massages and facials were good but the staff were very young and not, in my opinion, that experienced. The food in the restaurant was awful and tasteless and I had to ask for some of the dishes to be filled up as they had ran out by 8.00 - nobody seemed to be keeping an eye on the levels. We ate in the A la carte the following night which was a bit better. Not much to do in the evening unless you wanted to sit in the sports bar watching football or go down to the disco on the Saturday night. I doubt I will be revisiting. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic had a fantastic night chilled out had a lovely meal in the a la carte restraunt then had a movie night with one of the packages. September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Room great except air con didn't work too well. Food great. Drink, expensive! !! September 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience Me and two friends decided to book a spa break at this hotel and were more than disapponted with the service we received. A member of the bar staff was extremely rude and the bar was not a pleasant place to be in due to being swarmed by wasps which I understand it out of their control. We had to call down to reception twice to get our robes for the spa which meant that we were 5 minutes late for our treatment. Due to one of the therapists running over on her previous client one of us had our 30 minute treatment cut down to 10 minutes which meant her mini manicure consisted of having her nails painted and nothing more. The dining options were more than disappointing food was of poor quality and service in the restaurant was in adequate, plates were not taken from our table in between course. After complaining to the duty manager and receiving a complimentry drink we heard nothing more about our complaint. I feel this is such a shame as my friends and I make 6 monthly visits to a spa and felt as though our money was wasted booking this one here. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dining Far too expensive. The fact that it was overpriced meant that I went out to eat September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value package Stayed 1 night on dinner, bed & breakfast package. Good value deal, lovely food although if you don't like buffet, then this is not for you. Expensive drinks but as expected for this kind of hotel. Came 10 years ago for pre wedding spa, sadly Five Lakes does not appear to have changed much in this time & is looking tired & in need of refurb in some areas such as pool & changing rooms. We were given choice of disabled access room on site or village room off site, chose on site as it was tipping with rain. Room tired & dated but had everything we needed & was comfy. Partied in new disco til the early hours which added an unexpected fun element to our break. Disappointed that we were unable to book spa treatments during our stay but it was nice to use pool & spa after checkout, although were surprised at noise level as was quite busy with groups & families with children. All in all an enjoyable stay. August 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Great bedrooms..... That's where it ends Great bedrooms and stay but the conference side of things severely lacking service poor, food cold, meeting briefing not paid attention to very very disappointing Phone reception none existent and wifi £16 additional even if a priority club member so appalling for conference delegates on work away days Disappointing service in the bar, waited over an hour for lunch then got delivered drinks in bottles with no glasses Nobody wanted to discuss the disappointment or try to rectify the problem August 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel but staff dont have a clue what they are doing. Was really impressed when we got to the hotel. Myself and my partner wanted to take our young son away for the night. We planned lots of activities to do during the day time. When we got to the hotel we checked in and the receptionist said the take a 50 pound reserve out of your bank account so if you order any room service of other room charges this woul cover it. This was not stated when we booked. Never the less we payed it. After having a lovely day in clacton we reterned to the hotel. We put our son to bed and decided to order room service and a few drinks. We waited over a hour and a half for our food for it to be very poor quality food at very high prices. After our food we went to bed. I must say the beds are very comfortable. Only to be woken up by the hotel phone ringing very late at night, when my partner answered the phone the line was dead. This happened 5 times! My partned called reception to see what was going on and was told it was not them. This happend another 4 times only on the 4th time it was the resturant telling us we had to go down to pay for our room service. By this time the phone had woken up my 4 year old son. My partner was getting dressed to go down to reception and then we had a member of staff banging on the door saying we had to pay for our room service. This was past 12am! My partner went down to pay for the room service. In the morning we checked out and I asked why this had happened. If they take a reserve of 50 out of your bank for room service and other such things why was we harrased to pay our room service bill in the early hours of the morning?! Only to be told "we don't know why."All this spoiled our stay. Woke our son up and made us feel very uncomfortable. August 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Hotel is beautiful however the staff was not very helpful , on arrival we asked if we needed to book dinner and was told no, when we went to dinner there was no tables free , as we took our 4 month daughter with us we needed specific times. After complaining we did then get a table and the restaurant manager was very helpful . We was also not told to collect towels before going into the pool area so after getting unchanged and assuming towels were inside we were then told by the lifeguard to collect towels from somewhere else, although he did actually get them for us. The next day I returned to the pool and the bins were not emptied my babies swimming nappy still there ! Unfortunately these little things on top of the rain and having to leave the main hotel and walk in the rain to our room did spoil our stay. August 30, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>