• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
(e.g. Nov-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHILADELPHIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 20.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:225
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking is provided free of charge.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:167
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:81
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:167
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6

Discover comfortable accommodations at one of Bensalem, PA's hotels, the new Holiday Inn Bensalem-Philadelphia Area. Featuring a thoughtful selection of amenities perfect for business and leisure travelers, this hotel in Bensalem welcomes travelers to experience spacious and comfortable rooms just minutes from downtown Philadelphia. This hotel provides the most modern hotel package around.

Our ideal location puts guests near popular attractions, such as the PARX Casino and
View More

Discover comfortable accommodations at one of Bensalem, PA's hotels, the new Holiday Inn Bensalem-Philadelphia Area. Featuring a thoughtful selection of amenities perfect for business and leisure travelers, this hotel in Bensalem welcomes travelers to experience spacious and comfortable rooms just minutes from downtown Philadelphia. This hotel provides the most modern hotel package around.

Our ideal location puts guests near popular attractions, such as the PARX Casino and Racetrack, family-friendly Sesame Place, historic downtown Philadelphia sites. Upon returning to the comfortable Holiday Inn Bensalem, guests will enjoy great amenities. Connect with friends, family and the office with both wired and wireless complimentary high-speed Internet access. Make a splash in the seasonal outdoor pool. Grab a bite to eat for breakfast or dinner at the delicious on-site restaurant. Work up a sweat and stay in shape even on the go thanks to our 24-hour Fitness Center.

Each of the spacious and private guest rooms affords even more comforts. Sleep soundly on luxury bedding and thick mattresses. In the mornings, perk up thanks to an in-room Keurig coffee maker. Unwind at the end of the day with premium cable channels. Spacious work areas, ergonomic seating and a well-lit environment offer business travelers a chance to get work done on the road.

View Less
Features
Our newly converted Holiday Inn location is the most modern hotel in the market. Our brand new guest rooms feature high end touches to ensure a high quality stay. The completely remodeled lobby has an entirely redesigned bar and lounge with spectacular finishes which provide impeccable service for you and your traveling partners.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 112 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience Love that you have a separate living area, great accommodations for the price August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay :) My husband & I stayed here for a weekend last summer and were very pleased. He couldn't get away from work this year. Since I went alone, I had a different kind of room. After such a great experience last year, my expectations were very high and I hoped I wouldn't be disappointed, especially with a different type of room. I'm so pleased to say, my weekend was, again, wonderful. The rooms are immaculate and very big. Love having a mini kitchen & full size fridge. The only thing I mentioned last year was that the pillows were too mushy. This year I brought my own, but there was a a neck roll on the bed so I really didn't even need my pillow!. The customer service is also great. Every person I saw, whether at the front desk or in the hall, greeted me with a smile and was very helpful. Side note: I left a shopping bag behind , didn't know it until I was home (a few hours away). I called and the front desk was already aware and had my bag safe & sound (the friends I had visited picked it up). It's nice to know there are such nice, personable and trustworthy people. I hope I don't have to wait a whole year to go back! August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for the price Candlewood offers terrific value for the price paid. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and everything in the room works as intended. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Property/Great Location Great Lake View, Quiet Corporate Park location, Freshly renovated room, Responsive Staff, Great amenities on the property as well as nearby.. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel this was a very nice hotel. It was quiet, the staff were friendly and I barely knew anyone was there. I really enjoyed my stay. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value Compared to other overpriced hotels in the area his hotel provided outstanding value for the money. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well equipped, quiet room, great value My wife and I stayed for two nights in Room 309. Hotel is well located, on a quiet side street. Room was clean, kitchenette very well equipped. Bed was comfortable, bath was very nice. Only downside- connecting door to adjoining room 'leaked' sound too much… On the first night, I could hear the sound-track of the movie Titanic clearly. :( …Why do I always seem to be next to some thoughtless couple who play the TV at high volumes… sigh. Overall, though, it's a great value, and would stay again without hesitation. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Room Nothing fancy, but nice place to stay. Good value for the price. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good place to stay for an extended visit. My wife and I stayed at Candlewood Suites from June 29 - July 7. The hotel was everything we expected. The suite was clean, the staff was attentive, and the location was perfect for what we wanted to do. We were in ttown from Florida to spend time with family and friends. The location gave us the chance to meet friends for dinner at nearby restaurants all of which we're nearby and we're relatively inexpensive. We are planning to come north at Christmas and will certainly plan to stay at Candlewood Suites. A good place and well worth the price we paid. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Stay was very comfortable and location of hotel was convenint to location of meeting. Price was good; treatmnt by staff excellnt. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, value, and staff If you're looking for a comfortable place to lay your head where the staff is friendly and you can feel safe at a great price THIS IS IT! With the comforts of home but next to all the fun, this place is a great value that can't be beat. Don't look any further- you'd be wasting your time. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Night's Sleep! My husband and I recently stayed here. We found our overall experience to be a good one. Only problem we encountered was that our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived at 3:00 p.m. -- next time we'll be sure to call to make sure our reservation is ready! July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay, but a problem with billing The room was very comfortable, but wireless internet speed was a bit slow. Had a problem with billing of the room, which has created issues for me! July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NIce,clean Hotel suites are nice and good sized, clean and friendly place. TV channel selection is limited but overall a great bargain. Definitely will stay again. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall experience on short notice. We were very well received and treated most graciously. All efforts were made to fulfill our needs as they arose. We felt appreciated and we appreciated the attention given to us for our needs. June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Condtions I would not stay here again/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////Never Again June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by extremely comfortabkle mattress I wish I had that mattress at home when I sleep other places I usually wake up with a sore back. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay at Candlewood Suites Very pleasant, clean and friendly Customer Service, enjoyed being there for four days and will certainly consider coming back again. June 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do Not Stay Here We have stayed at this hotel faithfully for the past three years due to the full kitchen. We have had some issues with the cleanliness but we let it slide previously. This past visit was a disaster though and will be our LAST visit to this hotel. We have ALWAYS had issues with one front desk employee who has a nasty attitude when we would ask for a towel, extra sheets, etc. She doesn't want to be bothered. She even told us on a previous visit that they only allow three towels per room though we had paid for, and had, four people staying. This last visit we checked in and got to our room. We were greeted with the same unpleasant smell that we have dealt with every visit (we usually chalk it up to being an older building). The carpet was moist in the room. We were hoping that was due to a recent shampooing. We had no washcloths in the room, and no pillows or sheets for the sofa bed. As we then attempted to call down to the front desk to get these we realized the phone in the room was not working. We used a cellphone to call front desk and got the items as well as informed them that the phone was not working in the room. Fast forward to the day we checked out and as our room phone was not working I stood outside in the hallway so I didn't have to leave my sleeping son in the room alone to send my 7 year old 30 ft down the hall to the front desk to get the wife password. The woman whom we have always had issues with was working unfortunately that morning (June 11) and she didn't feel like getting up to write the password down so she told it to my daughter. Of course she couldn't remember that so I asked my daughter to go back down and ask her to please write it down this time. I guess the lady actually had to move to write it down and I'm sure she hated that. A couple hrs later my mom had gotten back to the room and we were packing to check out. We realized we needed another roll of tp because of course only one roll was in the room. My mom this time stood in the hall and my daughter walked the 30 ft to the desk and asked for an extra roll of tp. Apparently that was one too many tasks for this lady and she told my daughter that children cannot be unsupervised in the hall. So when my daughter got back she said what the woman had said to her and I walked my daughter down to the front desk and informed them that my daughter was not unsupervised but had our phone been fixed we wouldn't have had to have her walk down. At this a man that was standing down there with the woman jumped into the conversation saying that she was right to tell my child that etc etc. I walked away at that point as it was two against one and they were both very argumentative and unprofessional. Not even five minutes later the man beats on our door and asks if he can look at the phone that's broken (though it had been over 24 hrs since I reported it broken). He was very nasty and confrontational so after about a minute of him fiddling with the broken phone I asked him to leave the room to which he got very angry. I would ask that the owner take a good look at the people he has employed. As long as the two people that were working front desk June 11 am are working at this location they have lost our business for good. Any man that has to yell and attempt to intimidate two women (one of which is a senior) should have no business working for anyone period. There are numerous other hotels in the area and we will be taking our business elsewhere from now on for our several trips per year that we take to the area. June 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Steer clear I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The place was tiny, not ADA friendly and the staff were completely incompetent at addressing customer service June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Stay Compared to Past Experience After waiting about 20 minutes to actually check-in (the staff couldn't find our reservation and did eventually find it in the reservation stack), we were given a handicapped accessible room, which they say we requested. We did not, we requested a crib, which was not offered. This left us with no bathtub for my kids and they did not have another 1 bedroom suite. They tried to put us in 2 different rooms that were down the hall from one another. I can't do that with 2 small kids. We also did not receive any acknowledgement of our IHG Platinum status or a welcome bag even though I could see the bags from the front desk and I offered to show my IHG membership card. The room was dirty and smelled musty and the AC was set on 60, but did not work the entire time. We were given only 2 towels even though the reservation was for 4 people. I had to go beg for towels twice and they were hesitant to give them to me. It seemed like they didn't have enough to meet everyone's needs. It was a disappointing stay. We've stayed at many of these hotels and this one didn't near match up with previous experience. June 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable, but not clean We stayed at this location while moving. The surrounding area is fine, but the room was very dingy. The furniture was beat up and the carpet was pretty gross. The bathroom was actually quite nice. there was no one in the lobby when I checked in, so I had to wait a while before I could get the room. The employee was doing some tasks for other rooms, which is a fair use of time, but why wasn't there anyone else to handle this? June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOME AWAY FROM HOME I stayed here for over 4 months for business. The staff was always friendly and helpful, especially the young woman who worked the evening shift. She always made me feel very welcomed. The only negative comment I have would be that the main lobby doors were not automatic or handicap accessible. I found it very difficult to carry all of my bags through the front door. It was very seldom that a person was there to open the doors for me. Automatic doors would be a great improvement! Thanks! May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great 4.5 Month Experience We stayed here during a semester of grad school. It was a great choice as many of our classmates were complaining about their outrageous utility bills through one of Philly's worst winters, but our rate here was excellent, the staff was better than amazing, and the room was well above average. Would highly recommend this location and property. May 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place I don't understand all the negative reviews I have read on here. We have stayed here many times over the past few years and never a problem. What you get for the price you pay is awesome. I have stayed in other places that charge a lot more and is just not up to what you get here. The price is great, full size fridge, 2 of everything, and I don't want housekeeping every day, I can make my own bed! April 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Will not stay again Stayed for the weekend. Filed a complaint with IHG, the room overall was alright. It was the basic details that perturb us the most. We arrived late afternoon (6pm), no one at front desk, was not advised of daily housekeeping. No acknowledgement of being a Priority Club member. Got in room, no towels, no bedding for sofa bed. Following day after spending a wonderful day out returned to find a large bag of trash in the middle of the floor. Now if no daily housekeeping what were they in there for? Had to once again go to front desk have it removed. Get new towels. Several others were also doing the same. Following morning ran out of toilet paper, you have got to be kidding no stock of toilet paper under sink! Icing on the cake, once we arrived home we realized we had left a jacket in the closet, immediately called back, the initial response was the room hadn't been cleaned yet, it was 4:47pm, she would go look. Imagine our surprise when jacket wasn't there. That is when we called Corporate to file the complaint. Bottom line I won't be staying there, and maybe not any Candlewood Suites again. If you do, I advise they are a once a week cleaner, and take all possessions with you when you leave. April 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor cleanliness I have stayed at this hotel over 10 times in the last 6 months. Everything was fair to good on my previous stays but the last one was poor and will effect my decision whether I will stay there again when I am in town. This time the shower curtain had blood stains on the upper corners as well as the heater had a couple brackets broken so when it would kick in black gunk would fly out. My travel partner also had cock roaches on his stove and his refrigerator broke down. March 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by we love this hotel most times not this time though My husband and I have stayed here a few times in the last 4 months. We drive over an hour just because we have had wonderful service here. Being I travel to kop or center city I will always use this hotel. But the last time we stayed here it was not as great. I always ask for a room in the middle or towards the middle of the hall. I sleep much better that way, I don't hear people come and go. This time the guy at the desk seemed a bit unhappy to change the room, he did though. Thank you. But the room we were giving was smaller then we always got, the chair was right up against the bed with no room to get in or out. We were not happy with the smaller room. The room was also not cleaned like it has been every other time, tub had dirt in it counter had dryed food on it. We were also missing a fork spoon and only had 1 glass for the 2 of us. Being that we order in this was a small problem but we made due. We asked for a late check out when we checked in, the guy said no problem, but at 11:55 there was a knock at our door n by the time I got out of bed the cleaning lady had let her self in. She did say sorry a few times, I told her we asked for a late check out. By 12:45 she was back again so we showered and left with in an hour. When I asked the girl at the desk for my check out paper work she told me I did not get any. I told her I always had 1 that it was usually there in the clear file thing they have at the desk. I needed it to get refunded for my travel with work. It took her about 10 min. To get me one. We will be back I am due in that area again in may for a few days. I just hope I don't get that room and have the wonderful service I have had all the other times. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3 Day weekend Spent 2/14 to 2/17 at the hotel. The desk person was very nice. We had an issue with the DVD player and they came up to fix it in no time flat. Ended up sending the guy off with with a slice of pizza. He was so nice. The lady at the desk on Sunday even remembered me from a stay at the hotel 6 moths prior when we found a stray cat outside. She gave me an update on the cat! The only issues I had was lipstick on a glass and a broken glass stuck in the garbage disposal. The staff was worried I hurt myself ( I didn't). There was a slight smell to the hotel but I am sure that is due to the fact people can cook in their rooms. If you ever lived in an apartment you know how it can be. The final issue was the parking lot. We got there on a Friday and that Wednesday to Thursday we had a bad now storm. The parking lot looked as if it was never plowed. This made parking and issue. February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Newly renovated, well-maintained budget option in suburbs Ups: -Clean and well-maintained property -Newly renovated facilities and rooms -Large desk/work area and large flat-screen TV -Reasonably comfortable bed (7/10) -Large and well-equipped bathroom -New kitchen appliances and good kitchen workspace -Decent workout facility and honor snack bar -Semi-free laundry facilities -Slightly late checkout offered to me as an IHG member Downs: -30-40 minutes from Center City; 15 minutes from nearest major commercial area and PA Turnpike -In a bland corporate park--well landscaped but nothing interesting (food, etc.) in proximity -Front desk staff were often away from the desk (although easily reached by courtesy phone) -Although it's a nice property in good condition and I would not hesitate to stay here again, it does have that slightly seedy extended-stay feel to it (judging by other customers I encountered in the lobby area). I have no idea why this always seems to be the case with these kinds of brands, since I find the rooms nicer than those in more traditional hotels, but it just does seem to be the case. That said, I had no qualms about leaving my car idling in the parking lot for a few minutes unattended to warm up on a recent cold morning. -No recognition of my specific Platinum status (beyond just being a regular IHG Rewards member) and no additional amenities provided January 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Hotel Lobby Hotel and Parx Casino Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby & Breakfast Hotel Exterior Outdoor Pool Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge Outdoor Pool Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading