Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 225 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hideaway from the kiddies for a parental break We went to this hotel as visiting my Parents in Colchester for the festive period with our 3 children and wanted to have a night away from the kiddies with dinner and a film. Colchester was only 4 or so miles away, so an easy drive/taxi. We stayed the night in a standard room (no complimentary upgrade as 2 weddings on that day/weekend !!!! busy busy) which was a shame, but not a deal breaker, it's just a nice to have. The room was clean and had a bath which is becoming a rare sight nowadays in most hotels. The front desk staff were excellent and always greeted us as we walked past which was really lovely. Thank you. We ran out of milk in the room (i like milky tea# but again front desk sorted that no problem. The bar was very expensive. A glass of wine was more than the bottle if bought elsewhere which shocked us. The beer was not much cheaper. This if anything was the only negative for the stay. During our time in the bar it was an ok environment, but with the resturant facilities so close there was not much comfy chair areas. Also a dreadful draft from the front door #and the smokers# Breakfast was good, though could have done with a bit more selection from the fruit section. the cooked breakfast was good as was the instant coffee made for my wife as the standard coffee was a little bitter #eye opening for a hungover person i'm sure) Thank you to whom went and made that specially for her. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service, clean and comfortable bed I stayed in Colchester Holiday Inn on 25-27 December. I find the staff very friendly and approachable. The Check in staff was very friendly and would do her best to find out information when I ask her. The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room is quiet and what it is what I would have expected from Holiday Inn. The breakfast was really good. The cooked breakfast was hot and the kitchen staff is friendly and was eager to pleased. The cooked poached egg and omelette was good. Also love to pancake machine. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Only had the one night but the staff where very friendly and helpful, room was lovely clean and fresh would stay again, will remember my swim suit next time. Thanks very much. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Good We stay here 2 or 3 times a year. It's always a good experience. This time, I would say, even better than normal. That would be down to the staff and their way of being in relationship. It's a place where you can relax and feel comfortable. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great facilities really enjoyed our stay the evening/breakfast food was lovely! fresh haddock and poached eggs! Loved using the spa set me up for the day!! Would definately recommend! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top service We held my sons wedding here and the whole staff made it a very memorable day, the arrangements were all taken care of and the food was amazing. The whole day was such a joy and we didn't have to do a thing, it was all done for you with the greatest of professionalism. The price payed was so good for all that was included. Highly recommend this holiday in. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The hotel is in an excellent location for the A12 and easy to find. The thing that impressed us most was the staff who were uniformly so pleasant and helpful - always greeted you if you passed them in a corridor and made you feel very welcome. The room was clean and reasonably spacious and the rate we got was very good. December 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in- and I stay in quite a few with my work. Great and helpful staff. Nice clean hotel. A restaurant which serves lovely food and the best vegetarian options I've been given for ages. Well done- a great stay. Was even offered coffee on my way out the door as I checked out. Brilliant! December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect! Only stayed one night but the one night was excellent. Good check-in and service staff. Used the gym facilities and staff were very polite and informative. Comfortable night's sleep and good breakfast. What more could you ask. Will be back when in area again. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff with a smile We chose the hotel as close to family, the reason for staying. This was our first visit but would definitely stay here again, the staff appeared helpful & attentive at all times We did not eat in the restaurant but enjoyed the variety of the breakfast menu including the bar snacks - unfortunately we did not sample the Health Spa afterwards! November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel I stayed here whilst visiting Colchester on business, last week. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are clean with everything that you require. Hotel ambience very pleasing. A couple of negatives though , WiFi is chargeable, which as a business user was disappointing. Also ask for a room away from the train line. Trains run every 5mins or so into London and as the line is electrified the drone of this just doesn't go away and after a while the noise gets on your nerves. This happened on my stay, but staff were extremely helpful and understanding so moved me, good times. On the whole a very pleasant stay, would stay there in the future! November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good Nice room, lovely spa, beautiful grounds, very nice staff especially the man on reception. Food wasn't great but was compensated. Wish it had free wifi and cheaper breakfast though :) November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent but room far too hot and stuffy therefore did not sleep well. This was a last minute booking due to unforeseen circumstances - reception staff very helpful - restaurant staff excellent - only issue was that the room was far too hot even after turning stat down therefore not a pleasant nights sleep. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by well done the team holiday inn thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay. The young receptionist ( Indre..) deserves a bonus too!!! Very pleasant ambiance. no doubts about returning there. Well done the team. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely staff Had a lovely stay , staff were very friendly , Our wait time for food was long and unfortunatley order was incorrect , however staff were very quick to correct and food was enjoyable . As was sharing with a friend i found the sofa bed i slept on was very lumpy . We enjoyed the chance to use the pool which was included with our stay . November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good stay, would recommend I could wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone. We had to organise a last minute stay due to my grandmother being in hospital, the staff were very friendly, the hotel itself was very well kept, everything you needed was to hand and the price was extremely reasonable. What sold this hotel to us was it's pool and gym. Both my boyfriend and I are very keen on keeping fit and are currently training for events in the coming months, this was the only hotel in the area we could find that had these facilities. Although the gym and pool was small there was everything you needed for a decent workout. The only part that was slightly annoying was the payment process. I gave my card details online when I made the booking, and when I arrived at the hotel I had to *quote* 'confirm I had enough money in my account' by using their chip and pin machine to a sum of £100 #not even sure why as the room wasn't this much# and then I finally had to pay for the room on the last day, using the chip and pin machine again. Although they did only take the money on the last day I was slightly peeved that they hadn't taken the payment when I'd first entered my card information when making the booking...it all seemed a bit excessive and I wasn't the only one who was confused/annoyed by this process. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great staff. Made the girls really welcome. Would definitely recommend. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent! excellent value for a lovely stay! will definitely be using this hotel again! November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall AMAZING stay! staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Room was amazing and the food was outstanding! Extremely good value for money. The facility's were also amazing. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and after reading reviews before our stay I was pleasantly surprised. If I could afford to move in I would! I would ignore any other reviews you see as I've never received better service! November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by amazing customer service A fantastic overnight stay in Colchester, we ate in the restaurant both on the saturday evening and breakfast the next morning, food was fab, staff were attentive and it was good value for money with our two children eating free. The spa facilities were clean and we felt completely relaxed with the children being able to use everything we did. The receptionists were super friendly and helpful and had excellent local knowledge. Would definitely recommend Colchester holiday inn and would choose holiday inn again. November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Way behind the competition. I booked two double bed rooms for myself and a colleague for an overnight stay here. The receptionist told us that the hotel was very busy (it certainly didn't look it..) and this apparently is why we were given twin bed rooms instead. The embarrassed but very polite receptionist said "the system" subsequently reallocates the rooms. I didn't pay to sleep in a single bed but no recompense is permitted, apparently. Upon asking for the internet password we were informed that internet access is chargeable which certainly puts ICG in a minority here amongst other hotels. We didn't proceed any further with our inquiry. As a business user, this is a real negative aspect as working online is a necessary part of the job. The food in the restaurant was ok nothing to write home about and six of us ate with no complaints. The staff are very friendly here which is a credit to them as the hotel itself needs to buck its ideas up. We won't be coming back and as a frequent hotel user; the Holiday Inn isn't likely to feature in my choices of where to stay in the foreseeable future. When I book a double bed and pay in advance for it, it's not unreasonable to expect it to be provided. It's a hotel that you're running, after all... November 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great food, excellent service, hard bed Great value, delicious food, excellent staff who were really friendly and willing to help. Service great, nothing was too much trouble. Room very comfortable but unfortunately the bed was too hard for me and I had to sleep in the sofa bed. Room was hot. Good pool. Overall good trip and value for money November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Definately coming again! We had a brilliant stay at the Colchester Holiday Inn. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel was very child friendly too with a special halloween treasure hunt which both my children enjoyed. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the little added extras. It was wonderful to be able to have a free family swim before going out to explore the area. Free use of swimming towels such a help. The only minus points which didn't really detract from our stay were getting the hang of the credit card style door keys, ours didn't work initially, the friendly receptionist soon helped us; and the communal style changing area when we went swimming. No where to change privately. We didn't use the onsite restaurant, the prices were too steep for us, looked nice though. November 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by If you have a family choose another hotel, or ask for a room on the ground floor It was possibly one of my worst stays at a hotel. We stayed for one night (thankfully!) and had two adjacent, interconnecting rooms. This is possibly the only positive thing I can say about the hotel. They did provide us with 2 interconnecting rooms, which was great with small children. However, following the check-in we were told to make our way to the second floor. With no lift to be found, we asked the receptionist where the elusive lift was only to be told that there was none. Well, having small children meant that we had buggies with us and a couple of "not so small" bags. This meant having to take everything up and down the stairs every time we went out. The room was also very cold at night and the instructions for the heating were unclear, and there were no spare blankets in the rooms. We did point out our disappointment the following morning, and staff appeared to be very defensive about it, stating that it would be very expensive to fit a lift in, despite the fact that most of the family rooms were on the first floor. I would also like to point out that I received a call from the Operations Manager within a few days, to ask the reasons of my disappointment, offering a courtesy stay (on the ground floor) in order to see if improvement could be made. I am still waiting for the letter/ e-mail with the offer - but to be honest, I think they would have to pay me to stay there again. October 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service from staff - no frills though The service provided by the staff was second to none. Very friendly and always happy to help. Rooms are comfortable but a little dated, especially the bathroom facilities, but all were clean and tidy. Disappointed that wifi is offered on a pay for use basis, especially given the star rating of the hotel and the cost of a stay. Even budget hotels now offer this free. Would definitely stay here again, but maybe on a discounted room rate as it didn't really feel like a 4 star October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at Holiday Inn Eigh Ash Green To be honest, I'd originally booked in at another hotel but unfortunately guests had trashed rooms in that Hotel so I was kindly upgraded to the Holiday Inn. From the moment I arrived, the Receptionist Supervisor Indre really looked after me. She was warm, friendly and welcoming and highly professional. All staff were exceptional and I felt at home. It was a lovely surprise too, to discover that the Hotel had a lovely Health Club and swimming pool had I realised I'd have been better prepared although the health club shop did stock swimming costumes and accessories. The Health Club also offers beauty and massage treatments but I was leaving on the Sunday and the Gym staff advised me that the Beauty therapist was there I think from Tuesdays to Saturdays otherwise I'd have booked in a few treatments! My room was delightful, clean, spacious and comfortable but unfortunately a couple of drunken members of a wedding party tried their card in my locked door so that did disrupt my sleep but I was soon able to settle again! I was kindly granted a late check-out so made the most of this time to rest and take it easy. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice available from cereals and meats and cheeses to good old fashioned Full English Breakfast. The Hotel itself is very close to Colchester town centre (appx 10-15 minutes by car) and just off the A12 and I highly recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area. October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, but much too expensive Hotel was nice and clean, rooms great, but very expensive. Wireless internet is much too expensive, ridiculous prices to be able to connect to internet for work email. I was really surprised to see this nowadays. Food was also ridiculously prized. 4 pound for a stella beer... If the hotel had not been pre-chosen for the conference stay, I would not have booked here, too overpriced. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay I booked in for 4 nights recently, and had a very restful stay. I found the staff welcoming, helpful and friendly. The food was very good and the selection of alcoholic drinks was good. The food was well priced and was good value for money. The drink was a more expensive than a pub, but perhaps that is to be expected. Unfortunately I did not manage to get to the gym, but the pool was adequate, but a little smaller than I'd expected. The best thing about the hotel was the bed, which was very comfortable as was the room in general. I would be more than happy to book another stay. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Weekend Everything about my visit was great. The staff (restaurant, reception and spa) were particularly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and my room was very comfortable. Added to all this I was delighted to find internet access was included. I used public transport and had no problem getting from and to the main railway station. Thank you Holiday Inn and well done. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Zoo promotion is a great family deal Stayed on the zoo deal, picked up tickets Saturday morning all great and well communicated. Evening meal ok, service fairly slow but cheap as kids eat free. Facilities great, had a swim in the pool. Breakfast in the morning is also very good. Staff and facilities very good Only one downside, during our stay the hotel was full of coach parties and the noise all through Saturday night until 0530 Sunday was a joke. I was checking out on Sundays and even overheard other guests complaint to staff about the noise and lack of sleep. It's a shame that reception or management don't kick them out, they spoil everything for everyone else. May be just unlucky but this was the only thing that spoilt it for us. The hotel facilities and staff are great I would still return again despite the lack of sleep October 9, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>