Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel. Great location. Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Staff and facilities were great. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location - Terrible Internet Connectivity! I have stayed in this hotel before. It is a great location for J'Berg and in a very safe area. I knew what to expect of the hotel, but what I didn't expect was the completely unusable wireless internet. During my previous trip it was slow, but this time it was so slow that I gave up in the end. It's a shame because other than that, this is a good hotel August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Very well located hotel, friendly staff, good size rooms. Very good value for money hotel in Sandton City. August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Location is strategic I stayed here for a week. I was given room where on one side of building construction was going on. Due to that construction, noise used to be there, specially during day time it was painful. Apart from this, the hotel location is pretty good. Sfaff is very nice and supportive. Infact, the chef offered to customize food for me ( I am a vegetarian). the check in and check out is pretty smooth. The wi-fi is very nice too. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Stayed for just one night; Experience was splendid July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure stay at Holiday Inn Sandton Hotel looked good 5 star look, service was lacking in the lounge/bar area, The reception personel were very good and attentive. The pool was suppose to be heated and was not, draw back for me because was selling point for my daughter and i was expecting to be able to swim. Only meal we had was breakfast which was good but i think the service staff could have been more attentive given it was not busy. i would stay again and expect i will stay again before end of year. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Overall a good stay. Pleasant hotal staff and my needs were catered for. June 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel neben einer großen Baustelle Ich bin schon über 30 Jahre Mitglied des Priority Clubs. Aber hier ist es das erste mal, dass ich von nicht gut ausgebildetem Personal empfangen wurde und bei Reklamationen nichts sich veränderte. Das Personal im Restaurant und auch in der Priotity Longe waren nicht sehr kompetent und auch nicht freundlich. June 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Poor Service This is my second stay in the hotel, but i got very poor service this time around, the day before i checked out i had requested a lady at the reception for a late check out because i had a late afternoon flight. She assured me i shall be able to check out at 2pm. The following morning i went back to the reception to confirm the late check out as the lady i had spoken about was not there, i then meet this lady who says to me, theres nothing like that, i will have to pay 100 rands for every hour i exceed, to be honest this annoyed me so much that i even regretted staying at the hotel, i explained everything over to her but she says there's nothing she could do. i then decided to pack all my belongings in half an hour and leave them with the concierge and just stay at the lobby, whilst checking out i explained the situation again to another gentleman who was at the reception and he says to me, you could stay until 2pm. i was so annoyed i just asked him to just check me out. This will probably be my last time in the hotel and i shall write this review in Tripadvisor for everyone to know. The early check out did cause a lot of inconvenience to myself and my partner. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay with good food and great services. Everything was perfect. Only the internet at the hotel is very slow. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Much better than the Interconti Towers Friendly staff, great room and the new VIP lounge is a nice spot to relax and have a drink. Thinks to improve: BF should have more healthy options and staff should know what is on the buffet. Coffee/Tea service is still slow, maybe a coffee/tea/hot water station would make this better. TV system was not working for most of the time .. CNN and BBC were frozen. Great improvements by management having package deals like Muffin + Coffee, Lounge .. Maybe something for dinner? Kai June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable getaway Very comfortable room with cosy bed and pillows.Breakfast is a huge spread and the staff are very hospitable. Falling asleep was easy . June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast is poor the selection and quality of breakfast items is very poor compared to other holiday inn buffets. Fruits is mostly canned items, and the ones that are fresh is mostly half ripe. There is no alternative dairy selections available such as soya milk etc. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay 2nd June 2014 The hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. It was unfortunate that they were breaking down the building next door during my stay as it was noisy till quite late into the night. The only criticism I have is that the bath towels were way to small for my frame, I needed two to dry off properly! June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Absence of Bath tub in my room wasn't good for me Generally the hotel staff are excellent. The front office staff is busy hence less attention to detail at times but overally good June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great hotel First time in Sandton and luckily I picked the Holiday Inn. Compared to other Holiday Inn's I have stayed at around the world , this was was a class above. The staff were great , always smiling , the hotel crystal clean and it was a pleasure to stay there. Great location as well to the huge Sandton Shopping Mall which is only a 5 minute stroll away! June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay when visiting Johannesburg I visited Johannesburg (for the first time) on business and I was concerned about the safety reviews I had read about the place. Sandton (apparently) is extremely safe and while in the hotel, you feel completely safe. Not only that, the service is fantastic and the hotel itself is one of the better Holiday Inns I have stayed in outside of Asia. If travelling to J'burg and a safe and pleasant hotel with excellent service is what you are after, then this is the hotel for you. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and lovely reception Excellent check-inn rooms very clean and comfortable the Wi -fi very great....had a lovlely stay and thnx to a warm warm reception by Nandi and the IHG Loyaty check-inn was well executed....... May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Service Excellent location and very close to the Nelson Mandela Square. Kudos to Outstanding services received from a FANTASTIC Staff. I would highly recommend this hotel because it was my first visit to Johannesburg, South Africa! March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A comedy of errors that wasn't funny The management of this hotel aspire to provide a level of service greater than would normally be expected by a Holiday Inn but although the desire is there, the staff are not sufficiently competent to meet those aspirations. When we first arrived, despite our booking the hotel several weeks in advance, being a Platinum Ambassador and considering that check-in time was 2pm, we were told that our room wasn't ready, so we were offered a temporary room until ours became available. Unfortunately, when we went to the room, other guest's luggage was still there. When I called down to reception to inform them of this, they offered to move us to a different room, which they did. Frustratingly, the room card/keys wouldn't open the door. I went down to the front desk 3 times to have my cards re-keyed before a manager accompanied me back up to the room. When he tried my card/keys, neither of them would open the lock, so he used his master card/key to open the door. He explained that the lock needed to be re-programmed to accept my card/keys. Not wanting to have to wait for maintenance to re-program the lock, I asked for another room, at which time we were given (room 842). I tried to plug my CPAP breathing machine into the outlet near the bed and even though I had the correct adapter for the regular sized S.A. sockets, this socket was smaller than the norm in South Africa. My roommate went down to the reception desk to report this and they argued with her as to whether or not the power receptacles beside the bed were smaller than standard for the country. Eventually, maintenance came up and verified this to be true, eventually coming up with an interesting solution to the problem (cutting off the plug & a section of the lamp wiring to attach to my N.A. CPAP plug). By this time, it was well after 7pm( over 5 hours after our supposed check-in time) and we had missed going out to dinner with our friends. The next morning, we went down to the VIP lounge and my roommate went to make herself a cafe' au lait However, the lounge Hostess was more interested in ensuring that my roommate had a VIP lounge pass than she was in making the coffee for her. I went back up to the reception desk to obtain a second lounge pass for my roommate and when I took it down to show the hostess, she showed my roommate how to make herself a coffee. Unfortunately, in the process of making the coffee, my roommate didn't know how to turn off the milk steamer, so the machine wouldn't stop putting steamed milk in the cup, thereby causing it to overflow. The hostess was quick to clean this up. That evening, we met our friends (also Platinum Ambassadors) in the VIP lounge for a few drinks. As a result of the grief we had experienced so far during our stay we were given a cheese tray, compliments of the hotel On the third day of our stay, the carpet in the room at the foot of the bed was soaked with water, so I called down to reception to report this. They said that they would send maintenance up with a blower. Since a blower makes a lot of noise, I said that te would like to go to sleep & they may as well wait until 10am the next day to bring it up and start the process of drying out the carpet. We left the room about 11:00am to go shopping but the blower still had not arrived. When we returned from shopping about 5pm, the blower was there but not running (it turned out that when housekeeping came to clean the room, they removed the key from the socket in the wall, thereby turning off all power in the room, including the blower! As a result, the carpet was still soaking wet that afternoon. I reported this to reception & hey offered to move us to a different room but we decided that since we had already changed rooms so many times and finally had my CPAP wired into the wall, that we would try to stick it out for the duration of our stay. They sent maintenance up to review the situation & I explained how the power had been off in the room all day, so the carpet was still wet. That evening, we went down to the VP lounge to have some beer, only to find that the fridge had no beer in it. The lounge hostess asked if we wanted her to go to the bar to get us some beer. We said yes but when she returned, she wanted to charge us for the beer! We asked if beer wasn't free for Platinum Ambassadors and she said yes, as long as there was some in the fridge. However, if there was none in the fridge, we had to pay for it (and It turns out that they only stock the fridge ONCE a day!) The next morning, the carpet in our room was even wetter than it was the day before, so we called down to reception to request another room (the 4th of our short stay). This time they moved us to an executive (King) room (743) and this time they thoroughly inspected the room before they moved us in (by this time, we were well known throughout the hotel as the guests who had experienced so much trouble during our stay). When we moved into the room, they had a bottle of champagne waiting for us, plus a SINGLE VIP lounge pass (even though we already had TWO passes). From that point on,everything about our stay was finally normal, with really great food and service in the VIP lounge. Overall, the three people I would like to single out for outstanding service during our stay was Tebo at reception, Thambo in maintenance and Carolyn (but just barely) in the VIP lounge. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner If you want to have a decent dinner this is not the right place. It took 1 hour to receive the food. It was so bad , i had to call Macdonalds and ask them to send me some food. March 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Standards are slipping I have stayed in this hotel a number of times but my experience this time left me completely underwhelmed. I booked an airport pick-up which never arrived. Upon check-in, I was given a room directly opposite a construction site , it felt like I was right in the middle of it. The noise was deafening. I demanded to be moved . I was eventually moved and I beleive it was only because I insisted. I am diabetic so I am careful about what I eat. I ordered the only food on the room service menu that I could and was given the wrong rice for the dish. When I complained they said they had run out of the particular rice I wanted even though that is the particular brand of rice that was meant for that dish which they admitted to. I was told it would be replaced with vegetables , I waited all night, no replacement came and I did not receive a call to inform me why. I went to bed hungry. Too tired and hungry to complain. As if that was not enough, I had arranged meetings with a few business partners the next day at the Executive club lounge as I am a priority Club member , my guest was harassed by the staff and told he could not wait there and he would have to pay, when I arrived I was immediately confronted by the staff who asked me to produce my card and then promptly told me that I would have to pay for my guest's coffee. It was embarrassing and disgusting. I have never been treated so poorly ever. In the past I met my guests in the executive lounge which is the whole point so one can have business meetings in confidence without having to sit in the main lobby. I am seriously considering changing hotels . Very very poor showing , distinctly unimpressed. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience From the time we stepped into the front door until we checked out, we experienced friendly and efficient staff, clean and tidy facilities and just and overall stunning vibe. We as South Africans have become so use to poor customer service that when we do experience the good service we actually pay for we look at it at as a bonus. This is definitely not the case at Holiday Inn Sandton, they strive to impress and give yo a value for your money. I will be back and recommend them highly! February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service. Check-in and check-out was hassle free. The front desk service was excellent. We were greeted and arrangements were quickly made inspite of our arrival before 12noon. Location wise - it's a 15mins walk to Mandela Square but easy accessible to main highways. The room was furnised with simplicity and offered free Wi-Fi which is a definate plus for us. Towels were short but was quickly replenished the next day. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and was value for money! January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and a great location I booked this hotel as my regular hotel was fully booked and I was pleasantly surprised in that the staff were exceptionally friendly which I do rate as one of my main criteria when reviewing a hotel. It makes all the difference to your stay when the staff are amazing. My room was also upgraded and what a spacious and lovely room it was and very comfortable. The only unfortunate thing during my stay was the electricity went off which is not the hotel's problem however it took a log while to put the alarm off which I think should have been handled sooner and no-one seemed to take control of the situation. A small thing maybe but it could have been a bigger problem if there was a real emergency. The stay was however fantastic and I can highly recommend this hotel and the location is also very central. January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location & Accessible to GauTrain The staff was friendly and offered us Lounge Access however the choices are limited for the lounge with no complimentary drinks or food during our stay due to "an event". I would recommend this property as they offer a shuttle service between the GauTrain station and the Hotel and it's a five minute walk to the Mandela Square where there are many shops and affordable dining options. It's in a relatively safe area of Johannesburg for tourists. December 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor service and awful food Chose the buffet dinner. Waited 10mins for a bottle of water. Plenty of people asked how I was but no interest in service. The food was poor, with more bones than meat. No more feather pillows at a hotel chain that used to offer a pillow menu. The lady making the omelette at breakfast was very cheerful and made great food. The only highlight of the stay. October 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by POOR SERVICE Front Desk staff at HI Sandton in dire need of customer relations skills. Housekeeping poor, NO handsoap in the rooms - NO tissues September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and it was a positive experience. The rooms are nice and spacious. Very nice bathrooms. The gym is a bit small, however has all the basic things. Nice rooftop bar. Attentive staff. Nice location, walking distance to the Nelson Mandela Square. For me the only "deal breaker" was the internet. Although it was included in the rate it was very very very very slow. Sometimes even had troubles opening normal sites (news papers, weather, facebook). Download relatively big attachments (3mb) almost impossible. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Payment confusion I booked for a night redeeming my points but your front desk made me pay the full amount. I called the global reservation number and they confirmed that points were taken for my stay at your hotel. I will appreciate it if a refund is done to my credit card please. I always enjoy my stay at holiday inn hotels. August 27, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>