• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PARIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Italian
  6. Dutch
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, contact hotel for details
Pet fee amount  25.00  EUR  per night

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:200
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:140
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:185
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8
Savour the Parisian charm of the Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l'Est hotel, located opposite Gare de l'Est and a short walk from Gare du Nord. Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l'Est is housed in a grand, century-old building with stained-glass windows. We're the only hotel to overlook Gare de l'Est station, which welcomes trains from all over Europe. If you're arriving in the capital by Eurostar, Gare du Nord is just a 5-minute stroll away. Book your onward trips using high-speed Internet in the comfort of your
View More
Savour the Parisian charm of the Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l'Est hotel, located opposite Gare de l'Est and a short walk from Gare du Nord. Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l'Est is housed in a grand, century-old building with stained-glass windows. We're the only hotel to overlook Gare de l'Est station, which welcomes trains from all over Europe. If you're arriving in the capital by Eurostar, Gare du Nord is just a 5-minute stroll away. Book your onward trips using high-speed Internet in the comfort of your Guest room. Grab your guide book and hop on the nearest metro to the Champs-Élysées or Eiffel Tower. Or ask friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l'Est for a map and explore Paris on foot. Wander through romantic Montmartre or join the cafe society with a latte by the water alongside nearby Canal St-Martin. Get the business day off to a flying start. Charles de Gaulle Airport is just a 30-minute taxi ride away and guests arriving by Eurostar can be at the hotel within minutes. Get down to business with colleagues onsite in one of our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms. Wake up with a Full American breakfast in the Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l'Est's Breakfast room. Light streams through original lead glass windows in the Lobby Bar, where guests can take a break from business or sightseeing to sip fresh coffee and surf the web.
View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l'Est is conveniently located for sightseeing, with 5 metro lines within 5 minutes' walk. Whether you want to stop by Notre Dame or explore the Bastille, our Front Desk staff can help plan your day.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay and Location We stayed at two Paris hotels and this one triumphed the other supposedly "more luxurious" one. They recognized my Platinum Elite status and gave me a top-floor suite which was very roomy for Paris hotels. The location can't be beat here (right by a major train and metro hub) and by plenty of bistros and shops. It's also a good base for sight-seeing, being close to Notre Dam, the Louvre, etc. We were able to see the Eiffel Tower from our window which was cool when it lights up at night. Staff were very friendly. Would strongly recommend this hotel. February 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Above Average Hotel With Easy Access to the Trains I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room while small was well designed and easily accommodated two adults and several pieces of luggage. Cons: * The hotel had two elevators which were located in separate areas. The first elevator was located closest to the reception desk and was small, but easily fit 3 or 4 adults. The issue was that this elevator was down for maintenance more time that it worked during our week stay at the hotel. In addition, both elevators were down for maintenance one night around 6:00pm forcing everyone to walk up the steps, which while not an issue for myself was an issue for my mom. * The bathroom door as well as the back of the shower/tub is actually a frosted glass which easily provides a silhouette of anyone in the bathroom which was really weird. In addition, for those who like to keep a bathroom light on during the evening it will easily light up the whole room. * The housekeeping staff did an okay job of cleaning the rooms, but would often leave cups that were used behind and not replace them, and would not clean the bathroom as thoroughly as housekeeping staff in the Untied States. In addition, the housekeeping staff always insisted on pushing the two twin beds together even though they were made separately, and I had moved them apart multiple evenings. Pros: * The hotel is in what appeared to be a relatively safe area with easy access to the Gare De Lyon which was literally only a 5 minute walk if you take the proper exit from the station which is exit 1. We made the mistake the first day of exiting on the wrong side of the station onto Rue De Bercy which is the backside of the station and walked the wrong way, and thus had issues finding the hotel. The Gare De Lyon station has multiple RER trains as well as several subway stations which always made it easy to reach other parts of Paris, especially the tourist location within 5 - 15 minutes). * The front desk staff were really helpful, and provided good recommendations for local places to eat as well as answered all of our questions. They do have portable heaters if you need them during the winter as well. * They recognized our Platinum status by providing us with a room in the front of the building facing Rue Du Lyon which supposedly are the larger standard rooms. They also provided us with the option of 500 points upon check-in or 2 free drinks at the bar. * The room had a refrigerator and a kettle which worked perfectly. There is a Monop grocery store on the other side of the street about 1 block down halfway to the Gare De Lyon which was really convenient to shop at for various items we wanted to eat/drink. In addition, there was a great restaurant that served a delicious full restaurant down the street as well which was under new management. I believe it was called la Consigne. * Overall, I felt that this was a great location with easy access to the touristy areas of Paris while also being a more quite area of town. The outside noise was minimal at the hotel and our room had a balcony. However, the walls between rooms is thin as we heard another couple next door having a little too much fun at around midnight. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Near to main station , very convenient The hotel is very near to the station , very convenient to travel to any part of Paris using the Metro, we even took the train from the near by Gale de Lyon station to Nice and Monte Carlo February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Although close to major railway station our room was quiet. Bed was comfortable. Shower great. Nice mini bar. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small room but very adequate The room was typical Paris. Small but functional. The bathroom could have used brighter light, but again, it was very functional. The staff was great. We got there around 9 am and knew it would be to early for check in. They stored our bags and we wandered around. Came back about noon and the room still wasn't quite ready but within 20 minutes he came to us and was ready to check us in. We never ate at the restaurant so can't comment on that. Seems like many people had the buffet however. Great location close to the Gare de Lyon train station made getting around convenient. Would definitely stay here again. January 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice hotel in Paris!!! The size of the suite, location and amenities were perfect for our needs. The bed was very comfortable and the service was great. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was much more than we expected. It was a full breakfast with great choices. I will definitely stay there the next time.Thanks so much to all the staff for all their service, help and suggestions. We enjoyed our stay a great deal. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Room was quiet despite overlooking Main Street access for Gare de Lyon . We didn't have breakfast as too expensive at Eur18/pers. Free Wifi was very poor quality and offered to all residents. Which does not make it a platinum guest benefit. December 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by tired and dated I regret having chosen this Holiday Inn, which was done purely - and with hindsight, foolishly - on its location. The hotel felt tired, dated, and slightly seedy. My rooms was unusually small and badly designed, with a ridiculously positioned wardrobe. I will in no circumstance stay here again. December 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by small room, but very nice I stayed just one weekend in Paris. The HI Paris Bastille is very easy to reach from airport CDG by rer B and rer D, you have only to change in gare du nord. You need less than an hour. Location of HI is fantastic, very near to gare de lyon and a little walk to the 4. arrondisement. The single rooms in the hotel are small, but enough room for one person and well furnished. The palace building from the beginning of the last century is renovated not long ago. So you find modern comfort and old traditional style. The service (reception and breakfast) was kompetent and very friendly. I loved to stay there, highly recommend this HI and hope to come with my wife annother time, when I will get the same resonably rate than this time. Thank you very much! December 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed Discrepancy between price and quality, the quality of the Internet 2 of 10. December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good hotel. The location is excellent, this hotel's strongest, though not only, positive feature. It is very near two major train/metro/RER stations (easy access to CDG). Very near many restaurants, boulangerie/patiseries, confectioners, a couple grocery stores, ATMs. The building itself is nice: 'Parisian'-looking outside, nice looking inside, seemingly recently refurbished. Our room was small, though probably not smaller than might be standard in large US cities (NYC, SF), but well furnished and equipped. Shower and bathroom were nice. The toilet did have a hard time flushing 'solids', it usually took several attempts, but wasn't a major issue. The water temperature had some variability to it when the toilet or sink were using water, but nothing too bad and not unexpected in an old building. Internet access was free and adequate to our needs. The room was very well cleaned every day. The bed was quite comfortable. Staff was pleasant, patient, polite and informative. I do wish they would have left more (instant) coffee (we ended up buying a jar at one of the two nearby grocery stores), so we wouldn't have to leave the room just to have a couple cups of coffee. They have a restaurant at the ground floor, though we never went (if we are going to go to the bother of eating in a restaurant, we preferred to go elsewhere). I really missed the nearly universal American standards of free coffee in the lobby 24/7 and breakfast buffets (who wants to go out to eat at 7am when on holiday?). I understand these are not French standards for hotels, but can't help thinking it would be a huge competitive advantage which wouldn't really cost them that much if they offered those free services (the only reason they do it in the US). You have to ring to get into the building all the time. While that seems reasonable in the evening/night, to have to do that all the time was more than a little annoying at times, especially if the front desk clerk had stepped away. Overall we were happy with our choice. I have no serious complaints about anything and our stay was very pleasant. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location and room This was our 5th trip to Paris in the last 6 years and we've stayed in the 5th, 6th, and 7th, so this was our first time in the 12th and on the right bank. The Bastille area has amazing bars and restaurants and the Holiday Inn Bastille is perfectly located to enjoy them. Less than a block from the Gare de Lyon and two blocks from the actual Bastille monument, walking and public transporation was a breeze. Our large room on the 4th floor overlooked the Rue de Lyon, had a small balcony with a nice view of the Gare de Lyon Clock Tower, and was very nicely updated with a comfortable king size bed and large well appointed bathroom. My only small peeve is having to be "buzzed" into the main lobby entrance from outside by the desk staff-especially when we had to wait in the cold for a few minutes sometimes before they got to it. A better system would work with the key card for entry, but everything considered, the hotel was just what we wanted and I would definately return. December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, Nice room ! The hôtel is nice. Very close to "Gare de Lyon" which convenient for transportation (RER, metro) or even to get the train to South of France. The hotel is nice and clean. Nice area. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel Not only was the registration staff helpful when we checked in, they were helpful each and every time we had a question be it places for dinner or how early to call a cab or the time for breakfast. Lovely hotel and great location. We will be back. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised I used to live round the corner from this hotel, and throughout that time the hotel was the butt of many jokes because it is right next door to a sex-shop, complete with neon sign and red curtains. But work brought me to the neighborhood after some time away so I gave it a try. The sex-shop is still there but the hotel has really been given a fresh look since I was last in there. The room was excellent, nice bed, and we were on the quiet side (ask for a room overlooking the internal courtyard). Good sleep quality. The room was clean but looked like nobody had been in it for a while - a little dusty and underused. Nothing to get too worried about though. Overall the hotel was much better than I expected. Breakfast wasn't bad, although for the price I would have expected perhaps something more. Paris is always overpriced but this hotel compares very well with the place I stayed in La Défense later in the week - and the location is just about perfect! Everything you need is a short walk away, shops, transport, cinema, botanic gardens. Thumbs up. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice The hotel itself was beautiful and the rooms though small were decorated very nice and the use of space was well thought out. We were on the first floor and once the window was closed did not hear any street traffic. Loved the bathroom door! I would suggest a longer cord for the hair dryer though, hard to dry your hair when you have to put yourself flat on the wall. Front desk clerk went above and beyond when were trying to get a taxi at 530a to take us to the airport. He couldn't find one and when he saw how upset I was he kept trying until he finally found one...so I say kudos to him! The only reason I did not give an excellent for overall experience was the location. Even though there were quite a few close by attractions we spent most of our time on the other side of town. So depending on what and where you want to be this was a top notch hotel to stay in. Close to train station, bus routes and Bastille Memorial. November 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by near stations . Only 2 paper cups in room, and 1 teabag that we could use, others not to our taste. Attempts to get more were not successful. Once cups were used no alternative available. Surely decent cups and more than one teabag (English breakfast) is not too much to ask for. Did not change for our stay!! It is surprising just how much these little things can "sour your taste". October 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Don't stay here. You will hear banging late into the night and starting early in the AM. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice first nights in Paris Confortable room and great service. Very good location near Gare de Lyon. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & quiet room in well serviced location Just 5 min easy walk from TGV station. Room was great. Upgraded to Exec room, with fridge, coffee machine and water (though only refilled once during 3 days). Also offered drink at bar on arrival, nice. Many Restaurants just outside, also supermarkets for snacks, drinks etc. About 15-20 min walk to Notre Dame. Very close to Seine river. Hotel arrange taxi cab to airport on departure, which was good for us as we had large suitcases. People were great, different service approach, but genuine and helpful when asked. Overall good experience in perhaps the greatest city we have seen. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice hotel and staff at Paris near the center of paris for shoping and vacation or bussines September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful experience Very welcoming and helpful staff. Clean, neat and tidy room. Comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Very good location. September 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location This is my second time visiting Paris and the location is good, it's not too far to walk and it's not at a very very busy place either. To see Paris then you need to walk, from the hotel to hotel de ville takes 30 mints to walk and you will see lots nice back streets! I would stay here again for sure. It's really just outside the Grand de Lyon station and the metro just there, so easy! I would stay here again for sure! September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just Excellent We had an overall very pleasant experience staying at Holiday Inn Paris - Bastille. All the staff were very friendly – with greetings on our way in and out, and helpful in answering our questions. Lobby, public areas and rooms are quiet and clean. Location of hotel is very convenient to metro (Gare de Lyon) and within walking distance to some Paris attractions. Will definitely recommend this hotel to our relatives and friends. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel clean comfortable welcoming friendly staff made a great stay September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Why Stay in Tiny Cramped Hotel Rooms in the 5th and 6th for 2-3 Times the Price?!?! Recently, my hubby and I needed a hotel close to the Gare de Lyon AND reasonably priced for our 5th trip to France/Paris. In the past, we've stayed on both Ile St. Louis as well as in the 5th and 6th and paid bucket loads of Euro's more than what we paid for at the Holiday Inn Bastille! We found a GREAT deal online for this Holiday Inn and felt confident in the clean and reliable reputation that chain has had for decades here in the U.S. This is theeeee nicest Holiday Inn in which either one of us had EVER stayed! Their standard double room and bathroom were bigger and much nicer (furnishings, decor, CLEANLINESS, majorly comfy bed and a choice of pillow types and sizes; PLUS the bottled water [both fizzy and still] that are provided in the rooms' mini bar refrig is complimentary) compared to much costlier hotels in Paris!!! One can easily walk or take a quick metro to get around the city - so why stay in the spendy and cramped 5th or 6th?? And there are certainly plenty of good places to eat in the Bastille area where the hotel is located. But the food and hospitality of the Hotel are super as well! We are especially grateful to Dany in the restaurant/lounge and Mikhael (hope I spelled your name correctly dear sir) at the front desk. Our stay began with our becoming acquainted with the hotel's ace bar host - Dany. Prior to check in, we had just spent nearly two weeks in Burgundy helping out friends on their hotel barge (opening and closing canal lock gates, tying up and securing line onto lock bollards, setting up and breaking down for meals and washing dishes) and we were EXHAUSTED. We just needed to decompress and ease into our arrival to Paris before meeting up with friends for dinner. Dany was soooooooo accommodating with providing and replenishing our snacks and coupes and he made a stellar effort to try and understand my abysmal school girl French. The next day, Dany came into the hotel just as I was at the front desk and he lit up like a Christmas tree when greeted! He asked how everything was for us so far there at the hotel - Wonderful was my reply! He indeed understood that and smiled big once again. Our check out was an early AM one, as we needed to head over to the Gare de Lyon to catch our Air France Les Cars bus to the airport. While walking to the gare, we ran into Mikhael as he was heading to work - an early shift for him that day! When we recognized him, he smiled big and bright and bid us a bonne journee after we had thanked him for his great help and hospitality. Especially in the case of our interfacings with Dany and Mikhael, they may be a good indicator perhaps that Holiday Inn Bastille hires great people that understand that a hotel's hospitality doesn't merely begin and end when one's on their work shift; but they smartly hire people that truly exude a welcoming and caring warmth about people in general! August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience on a good location Nice Hotel with confortable room. I recommend this hotel : - Near of public transport (metro, train) - Good French restaurant. near of the Hotel - Wifi available too August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, very comfortable and very helpfull staff. .ideal for what we required. good location, lovely and clean, very pleasant staff. August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great spot, wonderful room and staff I stayed here for one night with my 9 year old on our way down south on the TGV. We came from the airport to the GAre-de-Lyon station and found this property a short walk, The staff were great. The room was extremely comfortable, but as with most European rooms very small. Still, it had a nice balcony and view and we enjoyed it completely and would recommend to anyone. There is, however, a sex shop right next door that prompted a few questions, but the area was totally safe and I would book this hotel again. August 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Paris Bastille A good hotel in Paris, very conveniently located and close to public transportation (train, metro, buses). I had a very comfortale and quiet room, although it was tiny. Staff is very helpful. Only "con" I found: breakfast is expensive for what is available. In general, I would recommend this hotel. August 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior by night
Hotel Exterior by night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior by night Hotel Exterior Reception Front Desk Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Exterior Feature Entrance View from Hotel View from Hotel Eiffel Tower view
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading