Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Great location in downtown, comfortable and excellent service March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend! We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of our vacation and I have to say I was very impressed with the hotel accomodations and very friendly staff. Holiday Inn in the USA is not particularly extravagant, however, the Holiday Inn Aurola in San Jose, Costa Rica was a 5 star experience. Now if they can correct my rewards account and credit me for the 10k+ points I earned from bonus reservations, I would be even happier. As a tip, book online and you'll save money as opposed to just showing up. March 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exactly as sayed, comfortable rooms and very good and attentive service. I stayed longer than I planned at the Hotel, because in San José city center, it mayed me feel save. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is also very good. What could be improved is the TV sets and the cable service. The rooms could have a little renoval, but maintainig the essence of the big rooms, the confort. February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business travelers…DONT STAY HERE If you need the internet to do your work, this is not the place for you. It works sometimes and when it does it's to slow to download anything. I complained to the woman at the from desk, and her response was that they know about the problem, but have no pans to fix it… February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Stayed for one night before a day of golf and a trip to Quepos. The bed was super comfortable, the staff very helpful, and the bar tender was great. Highly recommended. The morning breakfast buffet is just so so, for the $. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Viajero de negocios Los servicios que el hotel ofrece son adecuados para el viajero de negocios que busca funcionalidad más que lujos. La calidad de instalaciones y servicios son un excelente referente para una clasificación de 4 estrellas. Una buena opción en el centro de la ciudad si acostumbras salir muy temprano al trabajo y estar la mayor parte del día fuera. Por las noches es mejor tener un poco de cautela al aventurarse a caminar por las inmediaciones. El Holiday Inn Aurola te permite ocuparte de tu trabajo sin preocuparte del alojamiento. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Updating The hotel is dated, needs to make some improvements. The TV, light switches and furniture are probably from the 1990's. 21" TV's. January 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Hotel is good location, close to center, easy to walk to restaurant, shopping area, and supermarket. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was very comfortable and had great linens. The only complaint I had was the service in the dining room. It was extremely slow and not very attentive to the customers. The hotel was very nice, clean and very comfortable. I really appreciated the wi-fi. January 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wasted view At the end of an excellent 2 week stay in Costa Rica our group of 6 used the HI as our final hotel prior to departure. The hotel was excellent, rooms very comfortable and clean. unfortunately the staff were a let down and the view from one of the tallest buildings in the centre of San Jose was wasted. We were checked in and out by the same person and it looked like she'd done a plus 12 hour shift - I didn't see anyone else behind the desk even when 2 other groups behind us were trying to check in. As the Gold IHG rewards club member, card presented on arrival, she managed to give the better room and restaurant discount voucher to another couple our group, just sloppy. The room itself was exactly what you expect, clean and with everything you'd want. Next we ventured upstairs to see the view other reviewers had mentioned. One bar was shut for a "business function" that wasn't happening and the waiter at the restaurant refused to speak any English, arrogant to expect everyone to speak English maybe, but having travelled is some pretty rural areas and found English spoken everywhere I would have thought there would have been someone who could have spoken to us. As we weren't eating we were not allowed in to see the view - or so we gathered in basic Spanish and hand signals. So we went to the bar in the lobby area and at last found the level of service expected. The barman was excellent, polite, gave really good advice about where to go, which restaurants to go to, how to get to them and basic tourist safety in the city. Suggest rest of staff watch him to see how it was done. Price wise it was expensive considering what we'd paid in the rest of CR and no breakfast included was a bit of a surprise. Especially as we'd paid less for a 5 star over Christmas. All in all, hotel served its purpose effectively however not the experience it could and should have been. As for having earned IHG rewards points, I didn't see any benefits this time. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel staff is wonderful The hotel was clean, convenient and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is central to everything and walking distance to plenty of places to eat. The neighborhood seemed safe to us, we went out almost every night to shop or eat and we walked everywhere without any problems. I will stay at this hotel again. The only problem was that the doors to the rooms closed very loudly as if they were being slammed when anyone came in or out. Unfortunately not everyone is considerate and they would come and go slamming the doors which would keep waking us up. Also they play loud music at the hotel so if you're trying to sleep ask for a quiet room. The last night we were there was Christmas Eve and they put a family taking up 4-5 rooms next to us. The family was having a big party and kept us awake until 2am. I called downstairs but it didn't seem to help they just kept partying and opening and slamming the doors. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very old room. TV from museum.. The room was in a very bad shape. Furniture, TV, hairdryer need to be updated. I stay a lot in holiday Inn hotels but this hotel is far the worst hotel of the group. December 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Stay on executive floor This stay was excellent. Best of all was the food excellent restaurant on the 17th floor. It is the best I've had in all the hotels I have visited. I recommend it stays that way. The waitress who took on the night November 29 was excellent and was always aware of our service. The detail of the bottle of wine was excellent too. The breakfast was also great. The bad: Aurola offered me to go to the room, I was informed by email. I answered the email saying that if I wanted to go. Lasted days and did not answer my email. For that reason I had to call customer service in Mexico (call: 0800052 November 00) they solved my problem. Overall I liked everything. Thank you. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value You get alot for what you pay here! Also excellent location in Downtown San Jose across from a beautiful park. Special thanks to Tony the doorman from Brooklyn! November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff All staff are very courteous and make the stay very pleasant. The hotel seems to need a renovation. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay in downtown San Jose This hotel is probably the oldest IHG property in town but it offers a nice luxurious feel. This property offers a very comfortable stay although some of the room amenities like the tvs are very out of date. Otherwise it's an all around good match of price and amenities. The staff is friendly and very eager to help. Going to the airport from this hotel on a weekday can be a traffic nightmare make sure to leave early. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in the heart of the city. I was not expecting this hotel to be so nice for the price I paid for. It was great! The location was great, the people were great and the room was very nice. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Excelent for business and one night stays. Its closed to EVERYTING. I will be back! November 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An Oasis We had spent a week in Arenal and the Coast and this was our last night before heading to the airport. We had enjoyed incredible views, friendly people, and the fascination of wildlife. Our reading before the trip had all suggested to not consider spending a lot of time in San Jose and that advice could not be more true. The hotel is well situated for walking to shopping/tourist areas, but the stark contrast of the beauty of the rural areas and the depressing reality of San Jose could not be more vivid. Because I'm IHG Platinum I did receive a room upgrade and it was very nice to have a large room and access to drinks and snacks. The room even had an impressive view-but once you experience the hopeless feeling outside one almost feels guilty about such relative luxury. I think Holiday Inn overall does a very good job- but I do hope the best for the city in finding a way to deal with its issues. October 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Strategic Hotel in downtown San Jose The hotel is well located, however, shows signs of old and not very comfortable to develop work. The TV and cable system show a diffuse signal on some channels. However, the room cleaning is spotless and the bed is very comfortable. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great People . I have stayed at Aurola Holiday Inn many times and the hotel employees always make me feel comfortable and at home . This is so important to visitors . October 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly attention It was nice, the way I was attended was kindly and friendly the food at the restaurant and the service room I loved it. But it was not what I was expected, the internet connection never worked, and the T.V was so old, the channels did not show a clear imagine. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service!! The room was very beautiful, 10th floor overlooking San Jose, but the staff was the best, very friendly, professional and genuinely interested in assisting customers. Loved it! Muchas gracias!!! October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Final Bill When I checked out last Wed. they were not able go give me a final bill because their computor system was down. They told me they will send me a final statement withing a day. Have not received the final bill yet as of today. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel It was a good place to stay, near the markets and the shops, reasonably priced. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet for breakfast was great as well as the view from the upper floor restaurant. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Like it or Hate it This was my second stay here. I booked a lesure king both times and the first time the hotel gave me astandard room. I did not know the difference. The second time I was ready. The hotel tried the same thing. I told the lady at the desk that I did not book a standard room. She said yes I did. I showed her my reservation and she tried to give me a standard room until I told her I will write a bad review and I want to speak to the manager. I was told it will be two hours before I can get my room because it needs to be cleaned. I said I want to talk to the manager and five minutes later I had my king room. I asked for a 0330 wake up call and I never got it. I was flying out the next day at 0700. June 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good facilities but internet service is not good at all The night I got to the hotel the internet service was down. I asked several times what the problem was and was told that internet was up and running. Staff was not helpful at all. Finally, and I guess that after several guests complained about the internet being down, they did something about it. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best services. I stay for a few days in the Holiday INN Aurola San Jose, all i can say is that the hotel was great and the service, the personel were fabulous, magnificent, better impossible. I truly recomend this hotel for your next trip to San Jose. June 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Food is terrible! "Mega awful"as per a previous review on tripadvisor I was initially refused recognition as a Platinum member by Caroline at the front desk. I gave her my Priority Club credit card to pay for any charges and she said that I could use any credit card for any subsequent charges at hotel's facilites. I told her that I wanted to receive Priority Club points for incidentals during my stay, so I preferred to have the charges put on my hotel bill. She agreed and said that would be fine. When I was taken to my room, I noted that the minibar was locked. The bellboy said he would go downsairs and get a key. He returned and told me that the front desk told him I was not allowed to have a key without paying a deposit. Mind you that the minibar was completely empty, the deposit apparetly was for the key alone. The front desk already had two credit cards on file, it was not clear what additional deposit they wanted and I was too embarrassed and angry to ask. I had arrived after a long journey with a ravenous appetite. The hotel highlights an upscale restauran called El MIarador on the 17th floor. It was late evening, one couple was leaving so we were left alone.I wanted to order the sea bass which was a whole fish, but the waiter insisted another fish portion was larger. I was shocked at the minuscule portion that was served. It tasted of freezer burn and tasted absolutely awful. I mentioned this to the waiter and suggested he mention it to the chef. He simply shrugged and walked away, never offering any apology. We spent 20 minutes after the meal while the waiter stood a few feet away chatting with his coworkers with his back to us. It;s not as if he was busy and it was pretty obvious we had finished our meal. The next day when I went to eat at the bar, where the food was bad, also, but at least not as expensive, I was embarrased when I was told I could not charge the meal to my room. When I went to the front desk, suddenly they found my credit card on file Gerardo, the bellman, was abslutely fantastic always smiling always helpful.OTOH, Carolina looked she ws afraid if she smiled she would lose her job. May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service hotel location is very central, many restaurants around. Carlos at the front desk was extremely helpful and polite, recognized my elite status which does not happen in general with Priority Club hotel staff. May 26, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>