Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by loud noise and terrible cell phone recepition For some reason my Verizon cell phone had NO bars in your hotel. This phone has good recepition in the middle of no where but not at the Holiday Inn. I didn't know when I booked the 3 nights at this Holiday Inn that it was located so close to Drake University and so far away from Restaurants. I also was concered about the neighborhoods safety, Also the breakfast area was so small that I had to take my breakfast back to my room as there wasn't a table to set at. The first day I was there the cereal wasn't even in the breakfast area, I found it in the lobby area after breakfast. No sign or notice where to find the cereal. I would not recommed this hotel to anyone nor will I ever stay here again. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is great place to stay! I come to Des Moines from LA to visit family in the Drake Neighborhood. The Holiday Inn by the Drake is great! The staff is friendly. The room is clean and large. The HD TV is a definitely plus, And.... it's s stone's throw from the Drake Diner!!! How could ask for more. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Drake U Location Friendly and Convenient Our group of five bicycle riders were welcomed after a long day's ride and provided a safe secure storage area for our bikes. Our rooms were adjoining; property was quiet, clean, and centrally located in Des Moines. The on-site breakfast was well stocked and varied. Overall this property provided an outstanding value. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by the Drake hotel is in need of a face lift, otherwise a nice hotel July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HVAC was very noisy Compared to the Altoona Holiday Inn Express, the Drake Holiday Inn Express HVAC units were too noisy. Bothered me a lot.... July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Middle of the Road, Literally Set in the heart of the university and close off I-235 this is an easy location to get in and out of and to access the downtown area. The rooms are average with dated air conditioning systems and furnishings. The breakfast area was small and offered the basic stuff. Staff was helpful and very kind. A good place to stay if you get in late and need a room close to the road then stay here. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not an area I would Expect any Hotel Looks like an old school rehabed into a hotel. Dated, noisey and awful A/C noise. Even lobby looks like it's from the 50-60's. Very questionable neighborhood not too mention litlle to choose from for restaurants, not that I'd want to eat out in this area. I won't be back to this IHG again. July 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Halls were not temperature controlled!!! Overall my experience was fine at this Holiday Inn Express. It wasn't super duper cleaned in our shower like it should have been. Where the shower meets the wall there was mildew. The rest of the room was fine. The major issue we had was the temperature of the hallways! We looked at the thermostate down one hallway and it was 85 degrees (our hallway was hotter than that)!!! They really aren't saving as much money as they thought they might be by having the temps get so high because I know the 3 rooms our larger group had, had the air turned down to about 65 degrees. We felt sorry for the cleaning staff that had to be in the hallways working. We wish they had a pool however, since the temps outside were close to 100 degrees! We also didn't like that the ice machine was only on the 1st floor and we were not told that information when we checked in so we looked down each hallway on the 2nd floor and then came and asked the front desk. They do have a great selection for breakfast with it being free so overall we were fine with our stay. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Team stay at many HIe and this is one of the best- Staff cares about the guest and makes sure all needs are met - Hotel is clean and neat and nicely laid out.. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beds very comfortable... Beds were so clean & comfortable....also the room. I was very pleased. I would stay there again if the need comes up. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value We have a son at Drake U and started using the hotel for visits. We now go to this property whenever we are in the Des Moines area. It's an older property, but have seen it maintained well over the years. It's closer to the interstate than one might think, so it's convenient when passing through town. Decent breakfast, but if you get bored, the Drake Diner is right next door. No workout room, so if you want to exercise, hope for good weather and walk or jog through the Drake campus, but not in surrounding neighborhood. IHG members get a little goodie bag upon arrival...nice touch! July 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Staff We were warmly greeted, attended to immediately and provided our room key with good speed. This is an older hotel under going renovations, but our room was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff recommended the Drake Diner for dinner. It is placed right next to the hotel and food was good. I would recommend this hotel to friends. July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Just Wish... The experience was nice, but I do wish the internet had been working as I really needed it even for five minutes. Also, there was a very strong bleach and pool scent that we could have done without. But breakfast was great and we slept well. Thanks! June 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel stay in years! The air conditioner was not working properly and making excessive noise. When the hotel staff was contacted they stated: "yes, we've had several complaints about the ac units but not much we can do". They never offered to have it checked and were at best unconcerned at our complaint. The whole marketing campaign for Holiday Inn Express is somewhat true in this case, I am much smarter now on where I stay and that does not include this particular Holiday Inn Express! June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Quaint Location This Holiday Inn Express is clean, easy to find, and in a beautiful, quaint location in downtown Des Moines. Close to everything and is on beautiful grounds with a cozy courtyard. The beds were clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the shower was amazing. June 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Quiet Off the beaten path yet Clean and Quiet. Thanks for a good nights rest. June 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good experience We try to stay at your hotel during the annual High School State Track Meet at Drake Stadium. In the past we have had a good experience at your hotel. It is close to the stadium and has been very accommodating for our needs. This year however was different story. We checked in and brought our bags to our room. There was a malfunction with the door and we were locked out of our room for over 3 hours. There were no more available rooms and we had no luggage because it was locked into the room. It was after 11pm before we could get into our room. Keep in mind we could get out of the room but we could not let the door shut when we would leave the room because it would not open back up again. May 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location But... My daughter attends Drake so this is perfect location however there are a couple of drawbacks. The hotels caters to families so they only have 2 rooms with king beds. Secondley, I have stayed at other Express locations prior. The breakfast selection good be better starting with fruit. Also a workout room would be a plus. May 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by More than expected Clean, quiet and comfortable. Good, diverse breakfast with health options. Decent location. I like this property much better than its sister hotel at the Mercy Campus. The Drake HI Express is fresher and their CC cookies are tasty. Thanks for being reliably good. April 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor room My hotel room was in horrible condition. The bathtub had a rust stain and when I turned on the shower water squirted all over my face and clothes from pull knob. The ceiling wall was peeling all over the bathroom. The room was dusty. The curtains in my room and all over the hallway were wrinkled and clearly were not ironed for a very long time. The carpets were in poor condition. I had the Do Not Disturb in my door and housekeeping still came in and touched my belongings and cleaned the room. I did not want this and they replaced the tag back into the key lock system so clearly they knew I did not want it cleaned. The second day they still attempted to enter my room in the morning even though it was in the key card slot. I reported this to front desk and nobody bothered to call me even though she stated it would be reported. College party was going on in hotel so resting was not an option. Very unpleasant business trip. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIDrakeUniv. Looking for a Holiday Inn experience like no other?? This quaint, charming, inn is reminescent of hotels on the east coast or parts or Europe. Tucked away from the usual interstate/highway venues; this Holiday Inn is near Drake University's campus neighborhood. You will definitely need a GPS to find this hotel. A little older than most Holiday Inns, this property blends in with the university campus environment with its red brick and ivy exterior. Upon entering the front doors, the registration desk gives the impression of once being a college dormitory. Rooms are a little larger than the standard hotel room and most of the fixtures have been modernized. The doors of the bathroom and some of the bathroom fixtures give tell tale signs that this is an older property, but the rooms are quiet and clean. The breakfast bar is complete with the usual eggs/bacon/toast/coffee/juice/bagel onsemble. Fresh hot coffee and orange juice; very good. The price is about $10.00 too much , but I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good was close to hospital and convenient with the breakfast,,, March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice simple place Nothing fancy. Convenient to Drake. Excellent staff March 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Are you a business hotel or not ? This happens to more often than not, I go to the business center to print something and it doesn't work. I only need to print a few documents from a thumb drive and it causes me a lot of grief when I have to make alternate arrangements to do this. At times when I have run into this problem, the desk staff will accommodate me by printing from their desk computers. Not at this hotel; first the “business center” is a single old computer and a cheap printer located in front of the desk. I noticed it is pretty busy during the evening. When I tried to print, it wouldn’t recognize my thumb drive. I resolved this, but when I went to print it was out of ink. The two desk clerks were there looking bored and said “ I guess we will have to get some ink” and then proceeded to do nothing. The next day I tried again and there was no paper and nobody to be found at the desk. This is not the only Holiday Inn with this problem, just one of the most egregious cases of the desk clerks not giving a darn or being helpful at all. If you are going to have a business center it needs to have current software (adobe reader# supplies kept up to date , it should be monitored for abuse #IE kids hogging it and printing a hundred documents without noticing the printer is offline) And the clerks should have some basic training on how to support it. Just to be clear, I’m Silver at Marriott and they are only slightly better than HI despite charging more and being a more business orientated hotel. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and excellent experience This is a great place to stay, minutes from downtown Des Moines. The Drake Diner and various other cafe's and shops are within walking distance, and I mean "no jacket in freezing temperatures" distance. The staff is friendly and welcoming, I was able to check in early without a problem. February 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service/Bad Room Location Best part of my stay was staff and service. All three desk attendants were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, my Mother and I were placed in a room off the lobby on the first floor - literally ten steps from the desk. Noise level was high late into the night due to the hotel being full of Drake wrestling tourney and relay guests. People were filling trash cans with ice directly across from our room and yelling to each other up the lobby stairwell. Finally had to ask the desk attendant to please attempt to keep the hubbub to a dull roar and he did. Room was very clean and comfortable, location was good but breakfast was pitiful. Drake Diner next door has great food! Received nice little snack bag as a Priority member. February 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Big rooms, clean Good experience. Will return. Have used this as a destination several times for downtown events. February 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by disappointing Was there on a snowy night. Didn't leave until the next morning at 10 and the parking lot and driveway were still not plowed. I think that the walk had been shoveled once but it had covered over again with blowing snow. Had been there the previous night and notified the desk that the tub wasn't draining. Still not draining the next morning. If you want attention to detail this is not your place. Price was good but too high for what you got. February 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I have stayed at the Drake Holiday Inn Express more than twenty times orer the last few years and I'd like to complement the staff on a job well done. Recent constuction in the lobby I'm sure can be trying but the staff has handeled it very well, Last fall I was in a room with a heating problem and the hotel was booked full. I spoke with MJ the desk clerk about the problem and by the time I returned from dinner she had several options for me to chose from to bring my stay up to the leval I expect. Great location also January 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn, Drake This hotel is a quiet and off the beaten path type hotel for the laid back traveler. The hotel is not the most modern, but what it lacks in decor it more than makes up by the friendly staff and quiet atmosphere. They are currently undergoing a fairly major remodel in the lobby. The rooms as mentioned are not the most modern and could use some basic updates (ie bathroom doors), but they're consistently quiet, the beds are comfortable and there's a local diner (Drake Diner) next door for a great meal with local flare. That being said, this is consistently one of my favorite hotels to stay at simply because it's QUIET! If you're looking for a modern hotel with many amenities, this probably isn't the hotel for you. January 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>