Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 122 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Upgraded Room Original room not completely cleaned and staff upgraded us with no hassels. Thank you staff September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Airport transportation The primary reason we selected your hotel over several other options was that the website indicated airport transportation was included. Upon arrival on Sept 4 and independent shuttle took us to the hotel. On Sept 17, after our second stay, we again requested the shuffle from the front desk. We were shocked when the shuttle driver required payment of $30 upon our arrival at the airport. We were not happy campers as the website was totally misleading. . September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stop This was a reward night for me, so I really should not have any complaints. However, the recliner in our room was broken. Oh well, we were not in the room that long anyway! This Express is not as new as some, so it will soon need some refurbishing. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK Hotel We got in late on check-in, had to call the desk clerk and waited several minutes. He was nice, but a bit strange. He asked why we were in town, when I answered we were here for a wedding he asked if it was a good wedding or a bad wedding. Not sure what that meant. I asked about where to park and he said not in the driveway. OK - maybe I was tired, but don't most people pull up to the door to check in? He then told us they had the very best free breakfast anywhere. It was not even close - the food was typical microwave and pre-packaged food. The eggs were not real - either powdered or egg beaters that were also microwaved. For us, the location worked great and the room was clean and comfortable. However, we removed the mattress cover because it was plastic (haven't seen those since my kids were little). Check out was easy. The wireless connection was OK - not the fastest, but it was adequate. The parking lot is not very large and the spaces are quite narrow. I would stay again for the room and location, but will skip the breakfast. September 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3 Frustrations! We enjoyed our recent stay in the Rapid City Holiday Inn Express. The room was comfy and we I particularly thought the bed was very comfortable--and I'm very picky about a mattress! The breakfast was also very good. However, there were three very frustrating things about our stay: 1# We arrived at dusk and even with Navigation to guide us through Rapid City to the motel's southern location, it took me nearly a half hour to find it! There is no visible outside signage other than the name on the motel's exterior, which I could not easily see while concentrating on driving and because the gas station and pharmacy located on the front side of the motel blocked my view. 2) The entrance to the motel is very difficult to find as there is no direct entrance from the street side. The entrance appears to be an alley entrance to either the pharmacy or the gas station. There is no sign at the turn-in indicating that it is the entrance to the motel. 3) The pet exercise area is on a very, very steep hillside. As a young "over 60's" retiree, I would not even try to negotiate that hillside! #And a very poorly lit one too.) Even though I always pick up after our pet and do not leave doggie deposits where others walk, I found it very difficult to even find a potty spot on the level let alone a 90 degree hillside! Thumbs up for the comfy room and bed--thumbs down for the signage, entrance and pet area. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by staff training needed We were well cared for at the Tampa Airport location 2 weeks ago but found the service at the Rapid City -Cathedral location to be disappointing. One of the front desk staff was unhelpful and suggested that we wait and address a concern with someone on the next shift. We stayed 2 nights and initially our 2nd night reservation could not be located although it was confirmed earlier that day. I received a checkout receipt for the 1st night and again was billed for the 1st and second upon checking out on the 2nd day. The staff member was unable to give me a corrected receipt that indicated that I had already paid for the 1st night but was told to just call back if there was a problem with the bill. Food service for breakfast was poor on Fri am. Almost nothing was out and when we asked for several items the staff member grumbled. The area was unclean, no fruit, hot water, pastries, eggs, yogurt.( they did appear when requested). On Sat. morning there was a different staff member and the area was well stocked. On our stay in Tampa were welcomed, well treated, and given snacks on our check in. This did not happen in Rapid City. September 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff This is the second time I have stayed at this property. The staff is extremely nice and very helpful. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always enjoy my stay here Clean and comfortable rooms. I always look for a Holiday Inn Express when I travel. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by checking in to checking out Your staff made me feel like I was at home. The way they presented the hotel was both professional and warming. My hats off to the entire staff for making us feel like family. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Rapid City average stay, high cost. Noise from traffic until after midnight, bright lights shining in area comes into the room even with the room darkening shade pulled, morning breakfast had same old type food as a cheap hotel with mushy rolls and a long time broken pancake machine. Next door room noise is heard in our room. bathroom vent fan seems to be restricted with dust in the intake. sign in was easy and checking out was easy, parking was fine, room was clean. August 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to par with other Holiday Inn Express hotels Three days before our scheduled stay I called and asked if we could book an extra day for the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 teenagers) before our stay began. Only room available was a king with pullout sofa so I took it reminding them that we will still need the roll away for my other son. The response on the phone was that we would have to see if a roll away was available when we arrived. (But I am telling you now we need it) We arrived at 11:30pm and there was no rollaway and no bedding for the couch. The night manager eventually found a roll away, but still no bedding for either of the extra beds. On a second trip to the front desk the manager, who was very nice, did come up with some bedding, not everything needed, for me to put together myself at midnight, but no pillows. At 12:30am there was a knock on the door and yes, he had tracked down pillows for us, but my boys were already fast asleep. Twenty minutes before breakfast ended we entered. There was no bacon left, very little eggs, and my inquiry to the woman servicing the breakfast bar was that she guessed she could make more, but she never did. On our way out for the day our son ran back into the room to change his shorts which he apparently threw on the king bed. The king was not made up because it is their policy not to touch a bed if there are personal belongings on the bed. No problem, but maybe they could let us know of that policy at check in? I noticed a sign that said the property was owned by a named group. I definitely felt a whole different vibe at this location and would recommend staying at the other holiday inn express in town, or another hotel completely. The customer does not seem to mean much here. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, well maintained. Although the desk staff ranged in quality from very helpful to slow and odd, we very much enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it for value, comfort and convenience. August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Communication \ No IHG reward member acknowledgment I choose this hotel because of the Sturgis rally. I made my reservation in June, but in July I attempted to contact this hotel to confirm my stay. I attempted two separate times, but received no response. Finally I contacted Holiday Inn Customer Service for some assistance. I then received a call from the hotel. The person that contacted me was rather rude and immediately began to suggest that I had not made the reservation directly through Holiday Inn. I would have thought she would be concerned about my issue rather than come up with excuses. Her final excuse was that my email was in her "Junk" folder. Also, when I checked into the hotel I was not recognized as a rewards member and had to return to the desk to confirm that my IHG rewards number was on my reservation. The breakfast area was also very small and hard to find an empty table for breakfast, but I understood the hotel was busy. I did apreciate the hotel offering towels to clean and wipe off my motorcycle. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was not helpful solving problems In laundry area we were charged $450.00 for laundry soap and staff member in laundry refused to issue a credit. At time of checkout person at front desk did not ask how we wanted to pay for room and just charged room to credit card on file, which is not how we wanted to pay. Then refused to issue a credit so we could pay for the room a different way. I was also refused a AAA discount at time of checkout. August 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best Holiday Inn We were very disappointed in this Holiday Inn in Rapid City, SD. We had a wonderful experience at the Holiday in in Custer, SD and moved to Rapid City for one night before continuing our trip East. The room was noisy, we could hear the people walking around in the room above all night (evidently not much insulation was used between the floors). There was no hot water for our showers the next morning (when we mentioned it to the front desk they said their boilers must be having problems - it sounded like other people had already complained). The breakfast was lousy. We threw ours away and ate breakfast somewhere else. It was not a very pleasant experience at this hotel. August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Planning They remembered the high rates for bike week, but forgot to order the pancake mix. Not so biker friendly. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniently located to major attractions Good hotel, very typical of the Holiday Inn Express brand. Not upscale but nice for what it is. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast You need more room for people to sit and eat breakfast. August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The hotel is not too bad however we had an unfortunate experience with the checking in clerk who we never saw after that. We were traveling with another couple but made separate reservations; we for a room with two queen beds and our friends for a king. The receptionist gave our friend a key saying "Here is your key Mr. Soso your room is on the third floor" and proceeded handing out to me a key for a room on the ground floor. I asked him if he can put my wife and me on a higher floor and he said that was the only room he had. When in the room we saw that it had a king bed; later we found out our friend's had two queens. Now, we had been on the road for 15 days and we did not remembered if we had requested king or queens even though most of them were queens. When we found out that our friends had the queens we checked the confirmation sheets that we had in the car and realized we were both given the wrong rooms. The next morning we mentioned to the current receptionist and she did offer to give us another room which we declined for the inconvenience but we asked to talk to the manager and were told wouldn't be in until Monday morning. Never saw him or her. It might not had been a big deal except that the person that stay on the room on top of us was up every morning at 5 taking showers and walking back and forth (it must have been a big guy). July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mr. convinient to highway 16,close to the restaurants.Hotel over all was nice and clean,staffs are very helpful.I wish it should have exercise romm. July 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not One I Would Recommend I would have rated this higher, but the front desk knowledge and service is important to an enjoyable stay and this front desk just couldn't get it right. I understand the close proximity to many vacation stops drives up the rate, but the price paid is just too much for the quality,service and amenities of this HI Express. Would not recommend it. July 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Management Room was acceptable but not up to HIE standards. Shower curtain was dirty. Shower was only luke warm on one morning. Desk staff was totally incompetent and untrained. Could not get reservations correct. Had reserved three rooms for three separate parties and staff could not get them separated for individual accounts. Had to call corporate HQ to get Rewards points straightened out after I returned home. Each time someone at the hotel tried to fix the problem, it only got worse. Was told the desk staff was not authorized to make changes, that only the supervisor could. Supervisor said she would come in on Sunday to fix it. Didn't show. Donald, desk clerk on our last day, made a valiant effort to make things right and managed to get all the rooms on the correct credit cards but couldn't help the Rewards situation. Staff could not compute the cost of two boxes of wash detergent at $.80 per box. Then could not make change for the $2.00 payment. Sad. Guest laundry room unbearably hot. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet at Night The suite room was spacious. The sofa bed mattress seemed short for a tall person (I'm 5'9"). ALL of the service people were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. It seems to be a smaller hotel which makes it easier to find specific areas of the hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's just okay This is an older HI Express, and probably one in need of more updating and upkeep than most I have stayed in. They were very busy during our holiday week stay. The rooms carry noise from floor to floor and luckily those above us stopped whatever they were doing after 10 p.m. Big surprise to use was no refrigerator or microwave, which is something almost every Holiday Inn Express offers. Breakfast was normal, but the eating area is very small. If I had to pick again, I would stay at the newer Express near the Interstate. July 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Under Par for a Holiday Inn Express We stopped for 3 nights on a 10 night driving trip. Moving in the room was clean, but no fridge or microwave in the room. The microwave in the dining area was dirty. Day two we left and upon return the room was not cleaned, and beds not made. When I went to the front desk, the attendant and manager seemed surprised I expected that. Day three was a bit better, but we were glad to move on. We are priority club members and are used to Holiday Inn Express properties to be better. July 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Forgotten property? Forget about getting it back... I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Rapid City on Cathedral Ave for one night on a business trip. I had been staying in Hot Springs but had an early morning flight on Friday, so I spent my last night in Rapid on Thursday night (to avoid the 1+ hr drive before having to be at the airport around 7). I am a Platinum Elite member and am used to pretty great service as a general statement when staying at HI Express or HI hotels. However, to say I was let down at this stay would be a gross understatement. If the only issue would have been the noisy children and dog I would have EASILY let it go. I was a kid once and HI Express hotels are family-friendly; I'm not complaining about that by any means. No service was real notably poor or outstanding up until after I had checked out. One would assume with as much as I travel I'd be a whiz at checking and rechecking my room before leaving to make sure I have all of my belongings. Well, I missed my phone charger this time. Sure, it's a phone charger. It's replaceable. It's not jewelry, a wallet, or keys. Thank goodness for that because I am pretty sure at this point I'm not getting it back. Let me explain how I've come to this conclusion. I stayed there on June 20, 2013. I called on the 21st and left a message for housekeeping to call me back. I never got a call back. I called again later that night and still received no call back. Now, I will take blame for part of this... it turns out I was calling the wrong Holiday Inn Express in Rapid. Pardon me for assuming, but I would think in the situation where a person is calling the hotel, giving her name, confirmation numbers, stay information and detailed room and forgotten item information, the person answering the call and taking the message just might check the stay information for that night to verify that this was in fact the correct hotel. Instead, on both occasions, I was just told the message would be given to the housekeeping supervisor. Getting a bit annoyed and frustrated at this point, I went to the website for the correct hotel and clicked on the "email hotel" link. I sent an email off explaining the situation and did actually get an email back... only to be told that this email address belongs to a different HI Express in Rapid City. I was annoyed. I finally tracked down the phone number off of my bill and called again. I talked to someone at the front desk who took my name and address and said they'd ship me my charger... which I have not seen yet. It has been well over two weeks since then. I'm swiftly losing the faith I once had in this group of hotels... sadly. July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room OK but Carpet Dirty Room was on the low end of satisfactory for HI Express. Two Issues. 1- The Carpet was filthy. Just walking barefoot caused my feet to become so dirty they left the tub bottom black. The for my wife. 2- Breakfast was the usual fare and up to standard but there was about a 20 minute wait when food ran out waiting for the buffet to be restocked. Would recommend that the hotel reassess the ability for the staff to service the buffet. The layout was awkward as best. July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Friendly staff and great location. Only 25 minutes from mt. Rushmore. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quietness very comfortable bed - and bathroom facilities - and security July 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms fine A bit of a way from city centre, but restaurants easy walk. NO FRIDGE July 6, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>