Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Sydney

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Sydney
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 2764 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2764reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1802
  • 4 Stars
    553
  • 3 Stars
    219
  • 2 Stars
    105
  • 1 Stars
    85

Vivid visit

By

22 June 2022

Very convenient for access to vivid. Valet parking. Good Gluten Free in room dining options. Enjoyable stay.

Read More
Read Less

Vivid - overnight stay

By

21 June 2022

We stayed on a high floor (23) with a magnificent view towards the Sydney Harbour Heads. The hotel is going through a major makeover and we stayed in a newly refurbished room, the new design and standard of the decor is extremely good. The room is very comfortable, the set out is great and all the staff that we had contact with showed a very high standard of service.
It was everything you would expect from the Intercontinental brand, we highly recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great location and service

By

14 June 2022

Excellent location right in circular quay. Rooms are modern, clean and have a great view. Easy walk to restaurants, Opera House, The Rocks and Harbour Bridge.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing service

By

10 June 2022

platinumelite

Had an enjoyable stay during my two nights at InterContinental Sydney. Staff were attentive from check in to check out and ensured all my needs were met the whole time. The only area of improvement would be to double check the towels placed in the rooms are clean; one of the hand towels in my room had makeup stains all over it when I picked it up to dry my hands. Staff were very quick to grab me some new towels though.

Read More
Read Less

Underwhelming

By

07 June 2022

club

Whilst understanding our stay coincided with refurbishment, the conduct of staff could have made up for the overall lack lustre of the hotel. Service level at check in was borderline rude and what I would expect at a budget hotel. Husband and I had travelled for a night away and our experience was such a disappointment.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent hotel, view disappointing

By

01 June 2022

platinumelite

Staying during Vivid 2022, the hotel was undergoing major renovations. While some amenities were unavailable, the hotel's communication was excellent and did not impact my stay. I booked the King Opera House Harbour Bridge View room, given the impressive view as seen from the images online. However, upon arriving to the room and seeing half the Opera House obscured by another building, I advised the front desk of my disappointment and asked if any other rooms were available of the same category where I would actually have an Opera House view. Unfortunately due to Vivid, the hotel was likely busy and the only option offered was the room next door on floor 23, which would have had the exact same issue.

I would not have had such an issue with this had the room been sold as a partial view. Given that the room had been booked specifically for the view, being provided with only a single option after advising of my disappointment has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Breakfast in the hotel was excellent.

Read More
Read Less

Staff

By

31 May 2022

The staff are excellent.
Sophie Kim in the breakfast area is, incredible, she remembers names goes out of her way to assist. She is a real asset to the hotel and we welcome seeing her again on our next stay

Read More
Read Less

GREAT TEAM

By

25 May 2022

platinumelite

Thank you IC Sydney for a short but wonderful stay.

We stay with IC frequently and enjoy our visits all over the world, but this occasion was excellent. We stayed to complete the Sydney Half Marathon, so a functional visit. Our children were with us and although they are very much the centre of our attention, this visit was about Mummy and Daddy getting through the run!

Our 5 year old daughter is very 'grown up' and wished to book in (as Daddy had already done so by arriving early) personally. Greg (senior Concierge) was absolutely fabulous in facilitating her needs. It wasn't just about the children's gift that Sydney provide - she was given the appropriate attention, allowed to ask questions and the icing on the cake - presented her own key and instructed when check out was.

Thank you Greg and team for making a short visit, a memorable visit for a young lady who will insist that we stay again. Good business model and well done all.

Chris

Read More
Read Less

A great return visit

By

01 May 2022

club

We have stayed several times at the InterContinental Sydney. We love the location near the Botanic Gardens and Circular Quay, and it felt like coming home. The rooms are so well-designed, comfortable and spacious. The staff were always helpful and professional. And even though the hotel is currently undergoing a renovation, the breakfast service and lounge offerings were ample.

Read More
Read Less

Greatly Disappointed with a Property Under Refurbishment

By

19 April 2022

platinumelite

We booked a special weekend for Saturday and Sunday nights to attend the opera for my husband's and my friend's husbands birthdays. We even joined the Ambassador club to ensure a special visit. We booked in October 2021 and were so upset to find out that the hotel was under major refurbishment at the end of March by chance.

Our options were limited given most hotels in proximity to the opera were booked or prices exorbitant so close to the event. We changed our booking to Friday and Saturday night.

* We should have been told of the substandard services at least in November last year including that the hotel would not honour ambassador club services
* We should have had the opportunity to rebook elsewhere or have a generously discounted rate in November last year.
* This was not a 5 star hotel stay at all. No pool. No proper reception. * No proper valet parking despite charging for valet parking would have been easier to see park). No lobby. Bar and breakfast room may as well as been a conference room at the a generic hotel - there was no natural light due to scaffolding. Bar staff missing and had to go to the make shift reception to get service
* No room upgrade despite ambassador membership
* Terrible experience entering the construction zone of the hotel.
* No Foxtel TV !
* Room refurbished but nothing special at all with regard to interiors - not at all a 5 star refurbishment. No storage in bathroom (or even a bath) Even pump packs for bathroom amenities instead of individual shampoo/conditioners etc

We were very disappointed that our special occasion and five star hotel experience was not realised despite charging full price.

Read More
Read Less

My room was not upgraded

By

14 April 2022

Being an Elite IHG member, i expected my room to be upgraded to the next level up but it was not. I was told the hotel is under renovations and they cannot upgrade my room. I wish this was mentioned during the booking as i would have chosen another hotel to stay in.

Read More
Read Less

A Great Place to Stay

By

04 April 2022

platinumelite

The Sydney Intercontinental is being refurbished, but that is a small issue. The entrance is a bit twisted - however, the staff are so friendly and professional, and everything else runs better than expected. Our room was newly refurbished and was very nice. The blackout curtains and no weird night lights was very good, and bed comfort top class. Still a great place to stay in Sydney - so convenient and relaxing!

Read More
Read Less