Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 1348 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1348reviews

  • 5 Stars
    961
  • 4 Stars
    214
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    47
  • 1 Stars
    43

Amazing Customer Service!

By

23 May 2022

club

I was surprised with champagne in my room- I absolutely love champagne and it was such an amazing surprise. I truly appreciate and love the fact that the staff surprised my team and i (we were there for work) with such wonderful gifts.

Thank you!

Read More
Read Less

Half full or half empty

By

21 May 2022

club

Some of the nicely appointed rooms have a direct or indirect view of the river, while mine (and probably 1/3rd) look directly across at an office building. I could not open the curtains in my room if I wanted any privacy. I understand "no view", but not being able to open the curtains is disappointing for a 4* hotel (and priced that way). I'm sure the water view rooms are worth it, but not mine.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location - awesome hotel and staff

By

17 May 2022

You get what you pay for. The cost of the hotel is pricy but with the location and amenities you get - well worth it.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location and Amazing Staff

By

12 May 2022

Hotel is beautiful, modern and yet comfortable. The staff is amazing, from the moment you arrive and are greeted at the door until you depart. The rooms are clean with large windows that provide plenty of light. Bathrooms are beautiful, ours had a large shower and separate bathtub. Love that there is an actual rug (not a towel) to step onto when getting out of shower.
An added benefit was being able to turn all lights on/off and adjusting the room climate (heat/ac) with the built-in bedside controls.
Lobby is light, airy and clean with plenty of staff to assist with anything you need!
Oh and the location is amazing - right on the Wharf! Shops, bakeries and restaurants with plenty of outside seating.
This is a beautiful area to take a walk anytime of day or night!
We can't wait to go back and I will recommend to friends.

Read More
Read Less

Awesome Rooftop Pool!

By

11 May 2022

I always have a great experience at this hotel! The rooms are lovely with floor to ceiling windows, the staff are super friendly and knowledgeable, and you just can't beat the rooftop pool with awesome views of the river.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

04 May 2022

Hotel is located on the waterfront with many restaurants, bars and retail establishments in easy walking distance. Also easy access to city and Reagan airport which makes it very convenient. Highly recommend!

Read More
Read Less

Great view, fun staycation

By

03 May 2022

My family went for a weekend staycation. We live in DC but never really get to enjoy the Wharf. The hotel was perfectly located, the rooftop pool was perfect for the hot April day, the staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the view couldn't be beat.

Read More
Read Less

OK, but don't have a problem because no one will address it

By

26 April 2022

The Pros -- location, restaurant, gym, views
The Cons -- customer support & security. My wallet was taken from my room and no one even followed up. I reported the issue to the front desk and was told that someone will follow up - didn't happen. Reached out two more times -- no response. Concern the hotel doesn't have great security procedures and customer support. I have never had anything ever taken from a hotel room before. Didn't leave me with a good feeling for this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Outstanding and impeccable!

By

14 April 2022

platinumelite

When visiting DC this is the most desirable place to stay. The facility is new and modern. The staff are all completely incomparable. The room was impeccable and the facilities were overall outstanding.
From the parking facility to the room amenities there is no comparison. I found the area comfortable secure and relaxed.
The Wharf itself is the best place in town to visit with many eateries and a convenient water taxi station.
When staying in DC I will only stay at the Wharf Intercontinental.

Read More
Read Less

Poor for a hotel of this standard

By

14 April 2022

The below may be limited incidents, but demonstrate the hotel is not at the same level as either other Interconttinental hotels or other hotels of similar standing.

On the second day, after deciding to retire the prior night despite the pillows, and recognizing my error when waking with bad neck pain due to the lack of feather/down pillows, I called and asked for the pillows to be replaced.

Arriving back at the hotel later, I saw we only had four to replace the 8 in the room. I asked for them to send more, but was shocked to be be informed that the hotel did not have any more feather/down pillows. I understand guests may prefer different pillows, but for a hotel of this purported standard to not have any feather/down pillows available when a guest requests them still amazes me.

One of our party then also had stomach pain, so in the middle of the day, I requested some peppermint or ginger tea. I was informed there was none. There was no offer to get some. Compare that to a stay I had at another hotel (W New York) where I had a similar request, except that it was after 11pm at night. In that situation, without any prompting from me, the staff immediately offered to go and buy the tea, despite the hour of night, and then refused to take no for an answer when I indicated how late it was.

While the rest of the stay was good, and the door staff in particular being outstanding, the overall stay was just ok.

Read More
Read Less

Great location, excellent staff

By

19 March 2022

club

This is a wonderful location--close to many restaurants and walking distance to Washington Monument.

Read More
Read Less

Terrific Guest Service and Clean Luxury Stay!

By

13 March 2022

We chose this LEED Gold Certification building for an unexpected extended day to support an acute medical need and it was incredibly clean. The staff and management went above and beyond to accommodate every need and were genuinely warm, interested and felt more like than a hotel community. Terrific for dogs. Plus, you must try the food at Moon Rabbit.

Read More
Read Less