Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 1999 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1999reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1055
  • 4 Stars
    545
  • 3 Stars
    226
  • 2 Stars
    103
  • 1 Stars
    70

Boat show hotel

By

September 22, 2021

club

The overall value was good but the food could have been better.

Read More
Read Less

Perfect location

By

September 21, 2021

club

The hotel has the best location as it is within walking distance to the shopping centre and is great for a night out

Read More
Read Less

Great friendly staff

By

September 20, 2021

club

Stayed at Southampton for our first time with holiday inn staff very friendly and welcoming which in our experience means a lot food excellent Laura on front desk easy to talk to and welcoming bar was well stocked and all the catering bar and cleaners was very friendly if you got a good team that cares it helps and Southampton definitely has well done
We used to stay in the grand harbour across the road we will now be staying at the holiday inn for future
You will not be disappointed

Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed and great service, room needs update for price paid

By

September 20, 2021

club

comfortable bed and great service, room needs update for price paid

Read More
Read Less

Good hotel but shame about the cigarette smell

By

September 19, 2021

club

We stayed here for 1 night before a cruise. The staff were very friendly and efficient, check in was easy but there was a cigarette smell in the lobby. Our room was an executive king and was very large and comfortable. It was just across the hall from the lift which had squeaky doors, this was not too disrupting though, had our bed been closer to the door I think it could have been an issue.

We booked dinner in the hotel restaurant and were happy with the choice on the menu and the price, but it was marred by another very strong cigarette smell, almost as if someone at the next table was smoking. We mentioned this to the waiter and it was smoke coming in from outside, they closed the front door and it improved immediately. Our feeling is there should be no smoking in the vicinity of opening doors and windows.

Breakfast was buffet style, a good choice of cooked items, but limited continental choice. There was not much choice of fruit and yoghurts, pastries were limited in choice too. Excellent hot drink choice at the machines.

Overall an excellent stay, staff were so helpful and friendly

Read More
Read Less

Clean, comfy and great service.

By

September 17, 2021

club

Parking was easy.
Reception staff most helpful.
All staff courteous and helpful. I was impressed by the restaurant and the attention to detail.
A perfect place for us to take a cruise the following day.
It was a bit expensive but there was the boat show in Southampton.
All in all very satisfied.

Read More
Read Less

Needs updating

By

September 16, 2021

Both the property and staff training need updating at this property great location but not worth the money and not fully representative of the IHG brand

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel chain

By

September 16, 2021

club

As a hotel convenient to cruise port really useful, but tired dining area, no atmosphere and poor selection of food ( most of choices not available) thank goodness the cruise was superb. Perhaps the management should take a cruise to show them what a good restaurant looks like

Read More
Read Less

Too pricey for the quality of food provided

By

September 16, 2021

Inordinate charge for one night parking and little to justify a mediocre meal and uninterested service seems that the hotel think they have a monopoly in the location

Read More
Read Less

Ok

By

September 16, 2021

club

The pillows were too hard. Otherwise a good stay. No other comments

Read More
Read Less

Off on a cruise

By

September 12, 2021

platinumelite

The hotel was as good as any Holiday inn we have used; in fact a little better! The room was nice and clean and felt as if it had been refurbished from previous stays. A great hotel to launch joining your ship from; arriving by car or train!!

Read More
Read Less

Stay at HI Southampton

By

September 11, 2021

A single night stay. Am an ambassador and stay at least twice a week at an IHG hotel. This was of good standard, small change to TV service would be the only real change. Good nights sleep , clean and a good breakfast

Read More
Read Less