Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1835 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1835reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1074
  • 4 Stars
    476
  • 3 Stars
    149
  • 2 Stars
    82
  • 1 Stars
    54

nice stay but not how i was expecting

By

July 15, 2021

club

Boemi the girl in reception and in trainee was very nice and kind.
however my stay was destroyed for the room services. Tv not working,toilet not flashing properly,asking for baby cot but not given inside the room. ask for king size bed and given double with sofa.

spoken with receptionist and did not went extra mile at all. just keep reply you should tell us at check in time or tell me as was only one night they will check the issue at checkout time. so what about us? disappointed.

Read More
Read Less

A little tired since our last visit but acceptable and great location

By

July 14, 2021

Covid secure, breakfast experience therefore a little lacking. Great room and location. Food in evening disappointing when compared to our last visit. Excellent staff.

Read More
Read Less

Trying hard

By

July 14, 2021

club

It was okay but I don't think it is unreasonable to expect more than okay, even in the current climate. The carpark and grounds look unkept and minor issues with the room were not rectified despite repeated notification.
Breakfast was good with plenty of options but the dinner menu was disappointing and the wine massively overpriced.
Reception and housekeeping staff were all very pleasant, as were the catering and bar staff but it had the feeling of being the first day back at work.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

July 12, 2021

Staff training definitely required, but those who had been employed before lockdown we could not fault them, kind and courteous,
Unfortunately room and hotel needed a deep clean, especially our balcony, we ended up cleaning it ourselves.
So we could enjoy the fantastic view.
Cleaner was rude which we did not appreciate.
Would definitely like to visit at a later date.

Read More
Read Less

Nice Hotel- Beautiful Location

By

July 11, 2021

Hotel is clearly starting up, many staff appear new and are inexperienced, probably short in numbers also. Receptionist (s) were extremely helpful and welcoming, very pleasant not trying to " process you as a guest", we felt welcomed. Excellent location on the River Thames.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel excellent stay

By

July 10, 2021

Very clean tidy hotel.
Exceptional staff, friendly and helpful.
Stayed twice and will stay again.
Really enjoyed our stay.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay.

By

July 10, 2021

club

Really enjoyed our stay. Stayed for 2 nights while visiting our son. Nice and relaxed. Great staff who were all very attentive. Will definitely be returning.

Read More
Read Less

ESCAPE TO READING

By

July 10, 2021

club

My wife and i have taken a couple of short breaks in the last few weeks, desperate to escape the lockdown blues.
On arrival car park security is very poor. arriving at reception all staff are trying very hard but they are all trainees and nobody seems to be supervising them, despite this we get to our room quickly.
We have a booking at the leisure club for a swim, no locks for lockers, pool great and most people doing their best for social distancing except in jacuzzi, sauna and steam room a complete free for all with no staff supervision.
Later we went to the bar, slow service to start as one guy on his own and spent more time chatting to customers than pouring drinks. several customers awaiting refills.
More staff did arrive and things improved.
Had several drinks and decided to stay in bar for evening meal.
Starter excellent and ribs succulent and meaty.
Dessert disappointing with ultra small portion.
Again staff were poorly trained with lack of product knowledge.
Only one guy, the guy who was originally on his own had any particular skills.
A good nights sleep in very comfortable bed.
Breakfast good but given the star rating of the hotel we expected omelettes and more to be available at breakfast service. We stayed at a competitor three weeks ago, by comparison your room was a lot smaller, with tiny bathroom but you won hands down on bar service and food quality.
Checkout again unsupervised trainees, told me my card was declined, however as the original check in staff had only authorised the payment for incidentals and not the full cost of the stay I do not blame my credit card company for declining it. Trainees need more training.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed, staff in restaurant great

By

July 09, 2021

club

Check in was a challenge, couldnt find our reservation then allocated us a room with guests already in most embarrassing alternative room was dated not worth the extra we pai for executive, some reception staff were helpful, food quality and atmosphere were excellent and the restaurant staff were brilliant very helpful, polite could not do enough for you very attentitive,

Read More
Read Less

Old and tired

By

July 09, 2021

club

On arrival at the hotel you walk into a beautiful modern and clean reception area. We checked in and went up to our room. On opening the door I felt like I’d gone back in time. The doors were dark brown varnished wood. The bathroom was mouldy and the shower curtain itself was full of mould. The wallpaper was very worn and marked quite badly. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows were awful. They felt like they were made of torn pieces of foam. Certainly not what I would expect from Crowne Plaza. The rooms certainly don’t reflect the reception area. Although I had a good rate I wish that I had booked the hotel right next door which was a 1/4 of the price and offers ‘good night guarantee’! I thought I was going to get luxury at the Crowne Plaza but it was far from it!

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location but poor resuarant experiance

By

July 08, 2021

The hotel has a great location and in general the staff are excellent.
the rooms are large enough and are kept very clean and tidy. however, the bathrooms are very dated and need modernising.

The main problem is the size of the restuarant and poor selection of menu for dinner.On the sunday at breakfast, there was a queue of about 20 guests waiting and the small restuarant area was full. only after 20 odd minutes of waiting and not moving did management decide to open an adjacent area for this overflow. We were told when we booked in the hotel was full, so surely management could have seen this problem coming and acted far quicker !

Also, the limited dinner menu is exactly that " limited ". not very much choice at all. I know its in part due to covid, but other local restuarants were offering a far superior and varied menu than this hotel was managing to produce for its guests.

Read More
Read Less

Relaxing no pressure

By

July 07, 2021

The staff were great fully informative, very helpful lovely looking hotel nice ambience and design scheme next to the river

Read More
Read Less