Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In

It's easy to start earning points. Just travel, shop or dine out, and watch your points add up.

Explore the Benefits

Welcome to a simply rewarding experience.

Explore the Benefits

Here's to our rewarding relationship. We have so much more to show you.

Explore the Benefits

Ready for some great rewards? Use your points for Reward Nights, brand name Items, travel and more.

Explore the Benefits

Welcome to Spire Elite! A whole new level of benefits is yours to enjoy.

Explore the Benefits
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2015)
(e.g. Aug-29-2015)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 68 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Misleading Reviews We stayed in this hotel from 14th -21st August using some IHG reward points. Reading many of the reviews posted here I seriously thought about changing Hotels, I am glad I stayed with this choice. The reception area, poolside, toilets, bar etc. are all spotless and the rooms are as clean as the majority off Holiday Inn hotels, the only slight criticism was some of the hall carpets were marked. Considering where this hotel is placed and the traffic coming from the pool & beach this is perfectly understandable. Located in a very good area and all the local restaurants including the Holiday Inn were excellent value for money. I certainly intend to return. Reception staff were first class, but Abigail went the extra mile. August 25, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Marginal improvements This is our fourth stay at Holiday Inn Playa de San Juan. After years of complaints the management has made slim improvements such as replacing the filthy carpets in the main hall and replacing some of the poolside sun shades. The service staff is friendly and helpful and the menu has changed a bit but meals are plentiful and nutritious. Rooms are old and musty and beds need upgrades but still best value in San Juan. The kids program leaves A LOT to be desired and since Fernando has left there is virtually NO KIDS PROGRAMMING. In the entire week neither Ara nor Maria moved a finger with any kids even though the lobby advertised kids animation. Bring Fernando back! Not sure wha their job description is other than sitting under the sun shade and every time I asked about activities, they were already packed away. Conversation for the hotel management I suppose! August 23, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing vacation experience The overall experience during our week long stay was excellent. We were 2 adults and 2 children staying in a family room (x2 double beds). Breakfast was excellent and great value (children under 12 eat free with paying parents), we had breakfast in the hotel every day. We also had evening dinner in the hotel restaurant on several occasions, again children under 12 eat free when adults pay from the a la carte menu. Food was well priced (lower price point than most local restaurants) and of good quality. That said, there are many good local restaurants (Regina for Pizzas was excellent). We used the hotel pool every day - it was well sized for the number of swimmers during our stay and the lifeguards were excellent - organising fun activities to keep the kids entertained! The hotel provides towels for the pool which we took advantage of, with fresh replacements every evening. It's a short walk to the beach (10 minutes# - the beach is great, not too crowded and very clean. Local supermarket #Mercadona# is a 10 minute walk away. The rooms do need refurbishment, our room was a bit shabby in places #this in mentioned in many other guest's reviews) - but it was clean and we spent most of our time in the lovely sunshine. August 17, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Decepcionante El hotel está bien situado y el personal es muy amable, nos dejaron usar las duchas del gimnasio a la vuelta de la playa a pesar de que ya habíamos dejado la habitación, un detalle que agradecemos especialmente. Sin embargo, la habitación daba al parking, no podíamos dormir sin tapones por el ruido de gente yendo y viniendo, y a pesar del calor tan alto que hacía teníamos que dormir con las cortinas echadas por privacidad, ya que si no cualquiera podía ver el interior de la habitación desde el aparcamiento. La nevera del minibar no funcionaba, por lo que no pudimos guardar el agua que comprábamos a pesar del calor que hacía. No había wifi en la habitación. La piscina es bastante pequeña, ni siquiera cubre en ninguna parte. July 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Hotel is great in value for the services received . The big Problem : TV model is very old , an immediate change is required . The great value : San Juan Beach is wonderful . ECrespo July 27, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by IHG Rewards Recognition MH Barker's excellent review below really resonated with me as I was also allocated room 306 on last my stay and it was not good. I stayed at HI Playa San Juan twice this year. On my first stay, for 7 days, I had booked a room in the category known as double bed and sofa through IHG.com. I was allocated a room with 2 double beds and no sofa. I went to the front desk to say that I wanted the exact room type that I booked only to be told that they do not operate this way in Spain. I knew from vast experience of many other IHG hotels in Spain that this statement was not true. When I pressed the point hard, they reallocated me a room with a double bed and sofa and it was by far the nicest room I've had in 6 stays at this hotel over the past 3 years. On the last stay, I was checked in by the same staff as the previous one and it was clear that they remembered me. I double checked that I was allocated a double bed and sofa as booked and which was confirmed. When I got to the room, I have to say it was very disappointing to find that it was not one of the better rooms in the category booked but I didn't want to complain on this occasion. On my previous stays, the room allocated was no better in decor and facilities. Like MH Barker, I am one of IHG's most loyal guests - in my case I am one of the very first Spire Elite member the new status for members with over 75 nights/75000 elite points which I achieved in 6 months. While I have long given up on any form of recognition conferred on me by my IHG membership, they seemingly allocate their very worse rooms to members which infers that they keep the better rooms to non members. I am writing this review to highlight these shortcomings in the hope that someone from Head Office will advise the hotel of the appropriate treatment of IHG Rewards members. If they don't, I'm sorry to say that the entire concept of IHG Rewards will be undermined. July 18, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Far below IHG standards Mostly copy pasted from my review on 31.05.15 on a well known travel advice website. This was a 4 night stay - following 3 nights in a decent HI Express in Barcelona and 3 nights in the really good HI in Valencia, the final leg of a 10 day trip to Spain. This hotel has possibilities but looks like a combined lack of investment and lack of attention from management have caused things to degraded far below the standard and quality I expect of IHG. On the plus side, breakfast is decent and the staff reasonably helpful. Abigail gave us a late checkout and organised the taxi for the airport. I feel a bit sorry for them it must be a demoralising job dealing with so many complaints. But I won't discuss the location, local restaurants, the tram stop 10 minutes away or the supermarket as this place does not have the fundamental of decent accommodation, which means I cannot recommend staying here. The external view, grounds and reception area are quite tidy and pleasant, and give you no idea of how bad the rooms will really be. At check-in I was *not* greeted as a Platinum IHG member, there was no room upgrade as the hotel was full, but I was told we were getting a larger room than we had booked. OK. Not only did they miss my loyalty status, they never credited my IHG points, it took a month battle with IHG customer services, to get my reward nights and points credited. We were given a subterranean room 005 - one floor below the front desk level. 005 faces onto the back of the hotel and the delivery area / entrance. These are presumably staff rooms or intended for overspill / late bookings ... we booked well in advance so should not have been given one, especially not as a Platinum Ambassador in IHG's loyalty scheme. It's underground so no WiFi (according to the front desk only half the rooms have WiFi) :-0 When we saw the state of the room 005.... Wow! It's supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, but the room stank of stale cigarette smoke and there was ash and dust all around the window frame. Why had the cleaner not vacuumed it away? 005 had a lot of broken equipment (aircon, mirror) or missing equipment (minibar, remote control batteries, drawer handle, electrical socket cover). The towels ranged from old to threadbare ... really bad (see photo) We went straight back to reception to request another room. We were told that due to the hotel being full, they could not change our room until the next day. As the temperature was stifling with the aircon seemingly broken it was necessary to keep the window open and listen to the vans parking up outside our window with engines idling (there is a limit of 6 photos, but you can see the selection of photos on my tr1padvisor review 31 May 2015) bringing stuff to the deliver bay. That was the stuffiest, most airless night I have ever spent in a hotel. No aircon meant sleeping with the window open, and no insect meshes on the windows meant several mosquitoes. We woke several times because it was so HOT! We were finally properly awoken by the dawn chorus of delivery vans just before 8 a.m. After month of complaining to IHG customer services, there is still no sign of compensation for that AWFUL night. After breakfast we were assigned room 306, I went to inspect it before moving... incredibly the room was actually dirtier and in worse condition than toom 005, but was 4 floors higher so further away from the noisy delivery trucks and vitally had a working aircon and a minibar... though the room had a funky smell because the minibar was full of mould ... see the photo. YUK! I returned to the reception and told them room 306 was not good, but I would take it as the lack of aircon in 005 was such an ordeal; at least we would be able to sleep, and could they please clean the mouldy minibar? On returning that evening, the minibar had been cleaned, but was not cold - seemed to be broken (which is why it had been mouldy), and in-spite of a request to fix it, we had no fridge for the whole stay, and a fridge is pretty much vital in Spain when it's 28-30 outside. By the way, the ice machine mentioned on their IHG webpage doesn't exist, according to reception you need to buy ice at the bar - though the lady in the bar didn't charge me. We also received a fruit bowl - as they missed my IHG Platinum card status, I assume it was an apology for the mouldy fridge? Well I was supposed to get a fruit bowl on arrival for the Platinum card status ... so it evened out :-/. After the second night (now in 306) I noticed I'd slept awkwardly because the bed sagged at the side; I had a look and saw the bed was split open along one edge (see photo). According to the IHG page "You can stay in touch via complimentary wireless Internet and cable channels on the flat-screen TV". According to the front desk only half the rooms have WiFi, and both 005 and 306 had ancient CRT TVs *NOT* flat-screens. The hotel needs a *LOT* of attention and investment. My guess is that they can sell out purely because of proximity to the beach and don't need repeat business. truly AWFUL. We shall not be returning. And WHERE IS MY COMPENSATION FOR 26.05 IN ROOM 005?? July 8, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality room On a very hot day: carrying suitcase over stairs to the room, a very warm room with a fixed, very simple airco also no minibar in the room. On top "pay the bill at arrival pls" and no recognition of IHG membership. Sorry, a bad experience. July 6, 2015
  • 2015-08-27T12:38:17.467-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_68, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_ALISP, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>