• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DETROIT
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets under 80lbs are allowed. Nonrefundable fee: 15USD for the first night, 10USD for each additional night with a cap of 150USD. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Record of current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:122
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI0516

Extended Stay Hotel in Ann Arbor, MI Impresses Guests.

The Candlewood Suites® Detroit - Ann Arbor is located near I-94, less than 3 miles from downtown Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. Our hotel guests appreciate the easy 30-minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW), and the city of Detroit is less than an hour away. Enjoy our spacious suites featured with a full kitchen, cover lit bedding, and a flexible workspace. Come experience the better way to stay.
View More

Extended Stay Hotel in Ann Arbor, MI Impresses Guests.

The Candlewood Suites® Detroit - Ann Arbor is located near I-94, less than 3 miles from downtown Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. Our hotel guests appreciate the easy 30-minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW), and the city of Detroit is less than an hour away. Enjoy our spacious suites featured with a full kitchen, cover lit bedding, and a flexible workspace. Come experience the better way to stay.

Business travelers appreciate our close proximity to local businesses: The University of Michigan, Domino's World Headquarters, General Motors and the VA Hospital. Leisure travelers love our proximity to Lake Forest Golf Course and Briarwood Mall. This metro Detroit hotel’s location is just minutes from downtown Ann Arbor shopping, dining and entertainment. Don't miss the UM Museum of Art, Cobblestone Farm Museum and Nichols Arboretum.

Our hotel in Ann Arbor is a beautiful place to visit, and we want you to feel at home here. Our hotel features a 24-hour Candlewood Gym, an onsite convenience store (Candlewood Cupboard), Lending Library and Lending Locker. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
Whether you're making a quick trip or are here on an extended stay, consider our hotel's suites your home while in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Enjoy a full kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and stove top.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 284 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff that has to del with corprates overcrowding of water park. The waterpark while clean was far to crowded. No where to sit for adults. Lazy river was so filled people couldn't move. Ordered 2 queen suite on web site. Was given 2queen standard room. Called front desk and was told it was room we ordered. Was givin $40 discount as if it was the standard around here. Working with HomeWindow may be your problem. Giving them discounted day passes to hand out for window estimates to potential customers is overfilling your park & making this overnight guest not return again. Looked like you wouldn't miss us anyways. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Experience My only problem would be the ability to control the tempeture in the room. The front was hot and the bedroom where the air is was cold. Also the wi-fi keep going out and you have to log in every few minutes. April 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by FIRM QUEEN BEDS The value was great for 2 day water passes for three kids. The "queen suite" is just 2 queen beds that are very FIRM. Enjoyed the water park. Breakfast buffet was GREAT!!! April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Water Park - Great Hotel My daughter had a great time at Splash Universe Water Park. Very friendly and extremely professional staff. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, very easy to relax. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast I was a little unhappy that there is a charge for breakfast. We were at your facility two years ago, as well as, the year before that, and there was never had been a fee for breakfast April 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Where Platinum status means nothing! Stayed here for a night. Priority Club Platinum status (top level elite) means absolutely nothing. No newspapers, no breakfast, no bottled water, no late checkout, not a thing to recognize their top level elites that spend numerous nights through out the Intercontinental Hotel group. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel & service!!! Probably the best hotel I've stayed at. Clean, comfortable & friendly staff. The waterpark was crowded but is to be expected during spring break. Splash Universe was perfect for my 5 year old Grandson. I think kids older than 8 would get bored after a couple of hours. The food was so so & the pizza was the worst. Breakfast buffet was good & well stocked; plus kids eat free, a great deal & very convenient. We never left the hotel area the whole time we were there other than to walk across the parking lot to Cabelas. Great time & would recommend to anyone with young kids. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel stay Everything was great except for the pillows, I did not like the pillows, those were more like cushions than pillows. It would have been better if they had regular pillows in the closet in case someone did not like them, like me. April 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Professional and Courteous Staff Visited the water park on April 2nd of 2013. Even though we ran into a slight problem the management and staff were quick to address the situation and resolve the matter. They seemed uniquely concerned about our comfort. The staff went beyond their normal job duties to ensure that our family was comfortable and happy. The kids did have a very good time and we would visit this water park again. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel and Water park Hotel services were great. Room were always clean and staff was polite and always willing to assist. The pool and water park chlorine level's were so high that I experience skin burns for the first time in my life. The pool was better than the water park. Both were very crowded which I guess is what happens during Spring Break. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Waterpark & lifeguards & staff were great I bought my 4 grandchildren to the waterpark & we stayed overnight. The staff was great!!! It was really crowded, but there was plenty of lifeguards to watch over everyone. The only suggestion I have is that I saw a number of children fall on the deck area. If you sit and watch between the lazy river & the bucket, you will see at least 2 or 3 children fall within 10 to 15 minutes. That was scary. The staff and service people were great along with the lifeguards. I was really impressed on how many lifeguards there was & that they were really watching everyone so closely. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Inconsistent pricing but nice waterpark We went to this waterpark with one other family and booked the exact same room. However, their pricing was $80 cheaper than our room. When checking in I asked why the difference and they would not adjust the price of the exact same room. I was very disappointed to know that I even asked about special discounts when we booked and was told there weren't any but when our friends booked they were given a cheaper price for the same room. We didn't dare disappoint the kids by leaving, which is what I really wanted to do! However, the waterpark was nice and I was really impressed with how well the lifeguards did their job. It was easy to relax with little ones. Also, the kids eat free at the restaurant which was great. But, if you have a big party you will likely have a hard time being seated together. April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room However the waterpark is geared for kids 4-8, so the little ones LOVE it, but older kids get boared easily.... EXCELLENT choice on the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion in the rooms - that is first class! You will expect to hear kids running and such, after all this is a hotel waterpark, it is not an adult only facility. April 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do not stay The water park is WAY overpriced and crowded. The kids that they have working do not pay attention to anything. They were more concerned about my wife and I holding hands in separate tubes going down the lazy river then a bunch of kids pushing swearing and causing the adults to not enjoy the experience. The bed in our room was like sleeping on cement and the people at the front desk seemed nice but clueless when asked a question April 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't waste your time..... It was my worst experience ever there. After this last visit we will not go back! Water park was cold. The food we received was beyond subpar. They don't say there is certain hours for kid eating free so thus my surprise when the bill came. My steak was burnt and I couldn;t even get the sides I wanted. The waitress was embarassed also about this. Overall just a horrible and last experience. April 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect "Beach-y" Get Away! At the water park, the ever vigilant life guard staff gives parents peace of mind. They were personable and kind to all of their little swimmers. The deck area was too small, leaving no place to sit or keep belongings. The temperature was perfect, lockers were available for a reasonable price, and everything was very clean. Our room was very nice with crisp linens and comfortable beds. We were VERY disappointed in the food. Without exception, it was uniformly awful, both poolside and at the Pub. Service in the Pub was nonexistent. We wished there was also a regular pool for the older kids and parents. This is a 10 and under venue. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room The room was very comfortable and clean. It was very convenient to be close to Cabela's. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience for kids We brought our 3 grandkids for the weekend and had a blast! We felt the water park accommodations were very safe for little kids. Our 4-year-old granddaughter loved tubing on the river all by herself. The water slides were alot of fun. The Family Suite was awesome. Lots of room and storage. The only downfall was a continental breakfast wasn't included. For the price, it should have been. I've never been to a Holiday Inn that didn't offer a continental breakfast. All in all, it was a great family weekend. March 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay We really appreciated the family room we stayed in. The bunk beds for the kids were very nice! The staff at the front desk were professional and very friendly. We also called and asked for an extra blanket and pillow, which were brought to us promptly. Our only complaint was the quality of our breakfast. I paid a little extra for the room to get two adult breakfasts included and our little kids got the promotion of "eating free". We figured we would have to buy our older children's breakfast, but found out that the hotel allowed them to be free as well! Since they were free, the quality of the breakfast didn't seem that bad, but I would not want to pay the high prices that were on the menu for the poor quality of food! Overall, I would gladly return to enjoy the family room again. I will just plan on eating breakfast somewhere else. March 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place for a Stay-cation! We stayed in the family fun suite for 2 nights during winter break in February. The room was very clean and spacious enough to accomodate 2 adults and 5 kids. The kitchenette area was perfect for snacks and to keep our drinks cold. Everyone we encountered was very pleasant and helpful. Treehouse Pub & Grub had good food at reasonable prices, and the customer service was EXCELLENT! The arcade had fun games for our kids, and the hotel is very generous with the game cards. Between the scavenger hunt and Adventure Quest Kids Club, our kids received $10 to play in the arcade. Last, but not least, the waterpark....We LOVED the size and attractions in the waterpark! It is big enough to keep the kids engaged, but small enough that we could easily keep track of our kids (who ranged from 2-12 yrs old). All of us were able to enjoy the waterslides, and the hot tub area was a nice break for the adults. One other added feature with this hotel, is that they still have the traditional rectangle-shaped pool in the main hotel section. When we wanted a break from the waterpark, we visited that pool and played traditional pool games. Great place! We plan to visit again! March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean facility Good price, Very neatly kept and clean with friendly service. March 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing I loved staying here as it was so clean and fun. However, there was a pageant being held that weekend so it was hard to sleep when there were children running up and down the halls screaming and the room next door was noisy children. This was at eleven at night. I had to call the front desk in order to get to sleep. March 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Lifeguard to Swimmer Ratio The lifeguard to swimmer ration was excellent. We felt very comfortable with the children at the waterpark. The children had a ball in the waterpark. The kiddie pool was warm. The room was fine. It was a little tight for all 8 of us; but it was the family suite. The food was disappointing. We ate dinner and had the breakfast buffet in the restaurant. Although the children's meals were free, the selection for adults was limited and not very good. That was a definite drawback for us. The breakfast buffet was self serve with paper plates and plastic utensils. That was not appealing. Overall, we would go back to the waterpark. We would dine outside of the hotel. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family vacation! This was our first visit to the Dundee Splash Universe. We were pleasantly surprised at the waterpark's size and various activities for our 4 yr old up to our 12 year old. We stayed in the waterpark until 6:30 pm without any complaints from any of the kids about lack of activity. The room was spacious and the double bunks were perfect for the four kids. Room was clean and better than expected. Food on site was pricey. Mini kitchen was great for saving money with in-room snacks. Also, restaurants within walking distance. We will surely return! March 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun The staff there went above and beyound of there duties. I loved everything, The room beautiful, Food loved it! Ask a question get a huge smile and answered . The property very clean. This place was fun for all ages and I hope I can return in the furture...To the Holiday Inn staff 5 stars and more....... March 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad service Well I got there Friday afternoon with recommendations from Cabela's That this was a good place to stay . Went to get something to eat for supper the pasta bake was so bad I could not eat it so went back to my room ate a apple I brought with me with hopes that breakfast would be better. It was .Also ask about wifi Friday night Saturday morning because I had problems with a weak singal in my room nothing was done.spent all day at Cabela's came back to my room still no wifi later talking to one of your people that work there. They told me the wifi never did work very well so I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN.the noise from the room above me woke me up 2:30am Saturday morning and went to 4:30am Saturday morning March 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Everything was perfect except trying to sleep at night, all you hear is kids on the upper level running around but you have to expect that because it's for kids but my family we enjoyed our stay and we will be back soon. March 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by water park So much was expected from our family because we have stayed at several other water park hotels. This one did not compare to any of the others. There were no towels available to the guests in the pool area. You will have to leave the warm area and stand in a cold hall way area and wait to be noticed by a staff member to go behind the counter and get you towels. YOU CAN NOT HELP YOUR SELF TO A TOWEL. There is also VERY limited seating in the pool area. The lazy river is a speed river. Quit scary for a parent with several young children to keep an eye on. The hotel and hotel room were very nice. However our family was at the hotel and stayed in a hotel room to be able to access the water park for more than an afternoon. Our mistake. The water park has very little to offer compared to the others that we have stayed at. March 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, lousy restaurant The rooms here were clean, comfortable and of the high quality we have come to expect of the Holiday Inn, and the kids had a ball in the water park. It was nice being close to Cabella's. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Cabella's or to take their children to a waterpark, but based on our experience, we would definitely suggest they avoid the hotel restaurant and patronize one of the conveniently located nearby ones. The waiter was helpful and friendly, but the menu was pretty limited (lots of fried food#. Although the place wasn't busy at all, by the time the adults' food arrived it was almost cold. Our orders didn't arrive at nearly the same time, either. We didn't want to eat before the kids, so we sat for another 20 minutes watching our food get cold while the kids patiently waited for their food to arrive. I checked my watch. Although all they'd ordered were personal-sized pizzas #not very good#, it took over 45 minutes of patient waiting from the time we placed our orders to the time the kids' food was served. We look forward to staying at this hotel again, but next time we'll be sure to take advantage of one of the nearby restaurants, right across the parking lot. March 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Place to stay We were amazed when we walked into our room. The kids loved the bunk bed and we loved the separate room with the king bed which was very comfortable and relaxing. The waterpark was just perfect for the kids. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay great. We would recommend staying and would return. February 25, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Exterior View
Exterior View
Select to close.
Exterior View Scenery/Landscape Hotel Lobby Other Exterior View Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Mott Children's Hospital - Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan Bahna Wrestling Center - Ann Arbor, MI Michigan Brewers Guild Summer Festival - Ypsilanti, MI University of Michigan Shepherd Gymnastics Center - Ann Arbor, MI Dowtown Ann Arbor University of Michigan Tisch Indoor Tennis Center - Ann Arbor, MI Frankel Cardiovascular Center - Ann Arbor, MI Arbor Brewing Company - Ann Arbor, MI Ann Arbor's famous downtown theater: The Ark Left: U of M Hospital.  Right: U of M Cancer Center - Ann Arbor, M Michigan Theater - downtown Ann Arbor, MI Kellogg Eye Center - Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan William Clay Ford Outdoor Tennis Facility
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading