Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
79%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 890 reviews
79%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

890reviews

  • 5 Stars
    430
  • 4 Stars
    201
  • 3 Stars
    113
  • 2 Stars
    86
  • 1 Stars
    60

Overpriced outdated rooms

By

January 21, 2017

A lot of work is needed to make this a nice hotel. Rooms are outdated and need fixing

Read More
Read Less

Concern regarding cost of breakfast

By

January 21, 2017

club

The only negative issue we experienced at the Crowne Plaza was the extreme price of breakfast. We were overwhelmed when we got the bill for our buffet. My husband ate a fair amount but I only had two strips of bacon, a small amount of scrambled egg, coffee and orange juice and the bill was over $40.00. Needless to say, we didn't eat breakfast there again, instead walked uptown. Normally, in most hotels the breakfast is complimentary.

Read More
Read Less

Loud and Outdated, but convenient to Cobo center

By

January 20, 2017

I had read some mixed reviews but we opted for the Executive rooms so I thought they would be nicer. Wrong! The hotel is old and you can see the age on it. The bigger problem was the noise level. You could hear anything and everything that happened in the hallway or the rooms next to you. The people next to us were talking at normal levels and we could hear everything. Also, every time someone opened or shut a door, you could hear it. It was annoying to be kept awake. I also didn't like that the air vents blew directly on the bed and I don't think our thermostat heater worked. All this being said, it was in a convenient location to the Cobo Center and the staff was nice....I just don't know if I would stay in a hotel where I knew I wasn't going to be able to sleep through the night.

Read More
Read Less

Great locatiton

By

January 19, 2017

club

Location is perfect for Joe Louis arena and Cobo Center. Decent restaurants nearby. But a bit shabby for the brand, could use some updating. Breakfast was very poor especially for the price.

Read More
Read Less

Prime Location

By

January 19, 2017

platinumelite

Was in Detroit for the Auto Show and the hotel is right across the street from Cobo Center.
Comfortable and convenient.

Read More
Read Less

Atleast it was close to Cobo

By

January 19, 2017

club

Nice hotel, I think I came on a bad day because alot of things seemed to be in "funk"

Read More
Read Less

MOST UNPROFESSIONAL ENCOUNTER EVER.

By

January 18, 2017

Over charged me for a hotel employee's mistake and didn't want to correct it.

Posted byHotelStaff
January 18, 2017
I am so sorry for the issue you experienced with us. Please contact me so I can make sure we make everything right. I can be reached at gm@cpdetroit.com Dan General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice clean hotel

By

January 17, 2017

We enjoyed our stay! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly.

Read More
Read Less

Service Was The Worst. EVER!!!!

By

January 17, 2017

I am a Spire Elite member and stay across the globe in IHG properties as often as possible, and I'm always happy with the value and service.

This was the worst experience ever! I stayed there for the NAIAS Charity Preview. The valets were unprepared for the cars to arrive. I was the 20th car inline and had to wait over 30 minutes for them to take my car. I couldn't leave the car until i received a ticket.

Next the check in line took 20 minutes to get through, again they seemed very unprepared for this event.

Lastly, at the restaurant the next morning, the service was beyond aweful. The hostess was wearing boots and a CAMO jacket. Not the type of attire I expect from a Crowne Plaza restaurant. It took almost 10 minutes to be seated. When I asked the servers for cream for my coffee, she brought over 2 spoons, by the handle and said "Here you go". I had to ask 3 times for cream, and not the spoons were not made of cream.

Next, while I'm getting a piece of toast, the server comes by, sets the bill down and starts clearing the table while my girlfriend was still eating.

Overall the hotel was not prepared and the service was beyond presentable.

Read More
Read Less

Good Location Horrendous Service

By

January 17, 2017

club

Good location right across street from Cobo Center. However the service and cleanliness are horrendous. Will never stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Always great!

By

January 13, 2017

We have stayed here a handful of times when coming to town for Detroit sporting events. Everyone is always so kind to us, from valet to checkout. Have always had a top floor room, which has a beautiful view! Rooms are tiny, so beds are small, but it's to be expected in an old building!

Read More
Read Less

Make Crowne Plaza in the D Great Again

By

January 10, 2017

platinumelite

Service was really poor on this last visit. Started in the bar on Friday afternoon. Got a beer and then the server disappeared so when my partner showed up we couldn't even order her a drink for several minutes. We were seated at the bar. Service at breakfast on Saturday morning was even worse - after being seated we waited but there were no servers visible anywhere. We decided on the buffet and so we helped ourselves ... still no servers to be found. Finally a server showed up and we asked for coffee because no beverages were made available at the buffet. Coffee didn't arrive until after we had finished eating.

The hotel used the day lounge for serving breakfast. It has a dark atmosphere which woks well for late afternoon and evening cocktails but is terrible for breakfast. It just didn't feel like there was any effort put into making the breakfast experience as great as it could be.

This hotel has some great views of the skyline and the river frontage. We did enjoy our complimentary drinks at the Top of the Ponch with an amazing view of the city at night so the trip was not a complete waste.

We have stayed here a few times before so we really hope that they will fix their service issues and put an effort into the breakfast offering.

Read More
Read Less